We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - let down slightly by staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 11, 2014

The hotel was lovely - offering excellent views across to the sea. The room was spacious, the pool and hot tubs were amazing. The food service was lovely, with a variety of options. It is situated just a short walk away from the town as well. The beach is absolutely gorgeous!!
We were on our honeymoon, and we were given champagne and chocolate strawberries as a gift as well, which was lovely.
I would say this hotel was very good, except for the valet services. We were offered two options, to use the onsite valet, or use the carpark across the road. We chose the second option, as it was slightly cheaper. However we weren't given all the information required, and ended up receiving a parking fine, because we were missing one piece of paper which we should have been provided with. When discussing it with the valet manager, he was very dismissive, saying it is all our fault, and he was not interested. I was extremely disappointed with his customer service, however the customer service team were able to make up for this, with their excellent correspondence upon our return home, and have since resolved the issue.
Overall, a lovely stay, just a shame about the one member of staff!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophkc91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Dear Sophkc91,

Thank you for commenting on your overall experience at the Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach and we were glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We were obviously disappointed to learn of the challenges you experienced at the city parking lot and thank you bringing the matter to our attention. Rest-assured we take customer service very seriously and appreciate being given the opportunity to resolve the circumstance for you. Congratulation on your recent marriage and we'll look forward to having you back again hopefully at some point in the near future.

With my best regards,

Eron Hodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,753)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,381 - 2,387 of 3,753 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2014

We arrived here bang in the middle of the US surfing open championships which meant that the hotel was very busy and our first impressions not great.
Once the open had finished the hotel was much quieter and was a much nicer place to be. The service and staff were excellent but the hotel could do with a little updating.
The rooms were quite dated, but we got the connecting rooms that we had requested with our partial ocean view and before normal check in times.
The pool for the first 3 days was hectic with lots of towels left on empty sun beds and not much room to move around. After the open had finished the pool was much quieter and cleaner and the service we received from Austin at the pool was second to none. He looked after our needs and also gave

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the lobby otherwise some rooms are miles away
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sykesc66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Wonderful staff, great for families or conferences and soooooo convenient to the beach, I'd say the Hyatt is darn near perfect. I was there for a conference and the facilities for the meetings were very good. The catering for the event was excellent and things ran smoothly.
The rooms are standard fare, but clean with nice views. Get a room on the upper floors...there are only four floors, but the ground floor patios get a lot of traffic going by during the day and night.
Access to the beach is across the walkway above the Pacific Coast Hwy. Very safe for families with kids and extremely convenient. You get your towels and chairs as you cross the bridge so no lugging the stuff from your room.
The pool was very nice with tons of chairs and helpful staff.
Fly in and out of John Wayne for a convenient 15 minute trip to the hotel.
Loved this place and will come back with the family.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramblingagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

We booked a last minute weekend get away with our 5 year old and couldn't have found a better spot. The pool with water slides is terrific with friendly life guards who actually pay attention. Plus they had a dive in movie on Friday night and COSMIC Slides on Saturday night. Such a fun family friendly party atmosphere. We brought stuff for s'mores and cooked them by the fire pip poolside.
While at the hotel my husband forgot his razor and they gave him one with shaving cream - no problem or charge. The staff we met seemed happy to help and very friendly. I highly recommend this resort!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank sarahabrams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We just returned from a four night stay at the Hyatt and were simply looking for a beach vacation with kids. We were told by a friend who lives in Newport that this place wouldn't disappoint, and boy was she right. The grounds are immaculate, the rooms all seem to have a great view, and the pools all had room at them every time of day. I didn't really see any towels laid out early "saving seats" at this resort, possibly because there are plenty of options for all guests. We usually started out the day having breakfast at the Watertable restaurant and can honestly it had some of the best menu options for breakfast I have seen. Then we would head over the Hyatt bridge toward the beach, where we could pick up our chairs/towels/umbrellas and boogie boards right at beaches end. It was so convenient and simple, seemed too good to be true. They will even deliver a picnic to you on the beach if that is your choice for lunch. The beach in this area was never overcrowded, and the waves were HUGE by most standards. After spending a few hours here we would head back to the pool where we always easily found great seats, and then would proceed to order food/drink from the various waiters that seemed to always be close by. Each pool had a bartender -created drink special of the day, which was a nice touch. The Slurpee machines at every pool were a hit with our son, and the $14 all you can drink option for kids is a bargain!! Happy hour had some great deals on drinks, and the food we ordered at the pool was superb.
There are multiple options for food at this resort, and all are in a quaint little area with outdoor seating and even live music on some days. There are also a few fab little shops to buy a new suit or cover up, or souvenir if you wish. There are fire pits throughout the resort that burn late afternoon through the evening so you can make your own s'mores, purchased at the grocery store on property. The kit was only $9 and was enough for 4 s'mores which I thought was reasonable. We had a fire pit to ourselves every night.
The people who work at this hotel are truly five star, I cannot even begin to express how outstanding every single person we encountered was. Their friendly demeanor, attention to detail, and genuine interest in our happiness during our stay was apparent every single day. It really seems like those working at this property actually enjoy it. I don't think I would ever stay anywhere else if we wanted another beach vacation. We didn't rent a car as it was only a $30 cab ride from Orange County Airport, and we walked into town every night from the resort and it was an easy and enjoyable walk. I had read about the high parking fee, so we chose to forgo the car and am so glad we did as we didn't need it at all.
I can't give one recommendation that would have made this stay better; the property, the staff and the location cannot be beat!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank brenda111Denver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

This is a gorgeous hotel. It is a bit expensive but the room was very spacious. The front desk very friendly and helpful. The pools were very nice as was the fitness center. You have to pay to valet park which is 35 dollars per day with no self park option
The beach is beautiful

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank beachdoc87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

They say first impressions are best impressions ,well not always cause here it started off great but just got better and better .There was one bit of a concern during our stay but the way it was resolved was wonderful .total utter excellence .

Room Tip: I could not believe that any room could disappoint
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jerome R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington Beach
0.4 mi away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#4 of 21 in Huntington Beach
408 reviews
5.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Huntington Beach Orange County
SpringHill Suites Huntington Bea...
#9 of 21 in Huntington Beach
26 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#4 of 23 in Laguna Beach
526 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel
The Waterfront Beach Resort, A H...
#3 of 21 in Huntington Beach
2,017 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel
Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 21500 Pacific Coast Highway, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-5300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 Green Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range: $261 - $588 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a community also known as "Surf City, USA", the resort offers easy access via a pedestrian walkway to eight miles of wide beaches where waves crash and surfers reign. The magnificent Andalusian architecture, reminiscent of Spain's southern coast, and lush landscaping combine to create a sense of casual elegance and your own private seaside retreat. All rooms have private terraces, and most feature stunning views of the Pacific. Five different dining restaurants,a grocery store, a full service spa and salon and two pools and several hot tubs on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsClick, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Hotel Huntington Beach
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing