We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Hard to fault this place really. Sure the valet parking is probably too expensive and maybe the bar prices could be more closely aligned to what you pay outside of the hotel area, but the property itself is beautifully set out, the pool area is excellent (with a separate sliding pool that tends to keep the noisier guests away from the main pool) and the staff were always helpful.

Our room was overlooking a courtyard area and was very peaceful.

This hotel may not have been cheap to stay in but we never felt short changed by the experience that it offered (and how often can you say that these days?).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdr2835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,250
    760
    211
    80
    53
See reviews for
1,419
678
65
756
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We found ourselves at this property after spending a few days in Disneyland. The peace and tranquility was a nice change.

Service from valet, check-in, bell, to check out was fantastic. Everyone was so thoughtful, helpful, cheerful, and appeared to genuinely be enjoying their day.

Our room was ocean facing, 2nd floor, and was very close to the jacuzzis, pools, spa and fitness centre. The room was well appointed, very clean and spacious. Starbucks coffee was provided for in room brewing (there is also a Starbucks ON the property itself). There is a mini fridge and bottled water is complimentary. The bathroom was large, clean, and there were plenty of towels. Although we faced the highway, traffic noise was fairly minimal later at night. Free WiFi up to 6 devices; speed was good enough for just browsing the web but not great for streaming video.

The fitness centre was huge, well equipped and very quiet. The only spa services I used were the free access to the steam, sauna, and jacuzzi. Attendants were helpful.

The property is in a good location and has a private bridge to access the beach and promenade so you never have to fight with traffic or cross walks. From what we saw, the hotel also lends chairs, and other beach gear.

We ate many times at the property's restaurant, Pete Mallory's. The food and service was excellent. Prices were reasonable and there was a good variety of micro-brews on tap to choose from.

Hugely popular for families with small children. There is plenty for the kids to do including a small water slide at one of the pools.

My wife and I love staying at Hyatt properties. This property will definitely be a destination for us in the future.

Room Tip: Ocean front is beautiful but you may experience traffic from the highway in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lagin_Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

went back to this with family this time and had an absolute blast there. The slyder pool was as fun for kids as it was for us. The access to the beach , location and the property itself come second :). The hotel has a lot of wonderful things- great breakfast (though maybe a little pricey) with options of keeping it simple through their stores, wonderful kids lunch or breakfast buffets, kids toys through concierge unless they are all gone, chairs for beaches, umbrellas- all really great touches to make our stay very comfortable.
the pizza place in the property itself was also very good quality food. We had to make an effort to get out of there just to try out something outside :).

the only downside- you have to do valet parking and though there was enough street parking, it seems they automatically charge for the rest of the stay if you park there once (or at least that is what was told by the front desk).

One con- there was a bell man Alex that helped eagerly but maybe didn't find the tip enough and literally snubbed at us whenever he saw us later. The fact that we are already paying 34 for valet plus 25 for hotel taxes, I would expect that tips shouldn't be the only factor for good service or a service with a smile. The rest of the staff was good but that did get me a little bummed. the other negative- rooms don't get clean till almost 6 PM :( but when asked, someone did come promptly after that.

Concierge helped us get a sitter (instead of club since we wanted to get out during kids sleep time for our anniversary dinner) and was happy and felt comfortable with the arrangement.

Room Tip: Try to ask for rooms closer to elevator as you can be a walk away from the elevator to go anywhere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDebWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Besides the fact that the hotel was beautiful and all the staff was amazing, I want to send a special thanks to Lexi at lost and found for helping me to locate and return something very sentimental to me that I left behind my mistake. Great staff wonderful hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff, especially Lexi!
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Glen, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We reserved a bay view King for an anniversary trip, and the front desk was very perky and cheerfull, assuring us the view out across the pool to the ocean would be nice. It was on the 2nd floor and we had some sort of overgrown rubber plant blocking the theoretical view of the ocean. We asked for another room and were graciously given a view room on the 4th floor -- much nicer.

For me, it's the little things. An actual ceramic mug for the cofffee. Not there. Wine glasses. Not there. Room service on Saturday morning put me on hold for four minutes. The Regency Club didn't have coffee. The eggs were gone. No cream cheese for the bagels.

The bed was very comfortable and the 4th floor room was very clean and spacious. (The 2nd floor room looked a little dingy.) From what I can tell, the Hyatt doesn't like email, since you have to tweet them a message, before they will send you an email you can use, and then, after one response from the spa, they failed to return a subsequent email.

Even though the room service had me on hold -- they were very fast on the delivery.

Kinda mixed for me. It's a beautiful location, but, overall, the attention to detail isn't there.

Room Tip: 4th Floor seems to have the best views and nicest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear James R,

Thank you for the feedback and we appreciate the personal touches you felt would make for a better stay, those are great suggestions! It was good to learn we were able to get you in the guest room you were hoping for, albeit on the second attempt. Our team prides itself on the "details" and we regret falling short of your expectations. We do hope you will consider giving us another opportunity at some point in the future and thank you again.

With my best regards,

Eron Hodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Stevens, Washington, United States
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

My wife and two 12 year old girls spent 3 days 2 nights here as part of our spring break trip. Our stay was great from check in to check out! We were able to check in an hour and half early and were able to get a 2 hour late checkout for no cost. The rooms are very clean. Nice pillow top beds. Robes... you get the whole treatment here! We had a view of the pool and a side view of the ocean from our balcony. The girls loved it! 2 great pools both heated to over 80 degrees which was great because although sunny the weather was not hot yet. One of the pools has 2 water slides for the kids. Great service throughout! Amazing property with little shops and restaurants and pubs on site. Easy overpass access to a gorgeous beach! There were daily charges for the resort fee and valet but we knew of them ahead of time so we were not surprised. We very much enjoyed our stay and will be back! We commuted one day to Disneyland. We left at 8 am and were at Disneyland with no traffic parked by 8:30.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

The location of hotel is good, and the service was just great! It's a resort, so there are shops and restaurants in the property. Many swimming pools and hot tubs. Petite slides for the little kids. The beach is connected with the bridge. The hotel provides beach chairs and towels at the end of the bridge. very convenient.

Food in the club lounge is good enough. For breakfast, they provide breads, cereals, fruits, egg dish, smoked salmon, and etc. Also plenty of drinks and espresso machine.

Self parking is just across the hotel at beach side. It's $15 per day. Resort fee covers 2 bottles of water everyday and free wifi service. Nice hotel for family vacation trip!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greatjoy128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington Beach
0.4 mi away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#5 of 21 in Huntington Beach
288 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,519 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Surf City
Best Western Surf City
#6 of 21 in Huntington Beach
540 reviews
7.0 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
985 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 21500 Pacific Coast Highway, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-5300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 Green Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a community also known as "Surf City, USA", the resort offers easy access via a pedestrian walkway to eight miles of wide beaches where waves crash and surfers reign. The magnificent Andalusian architecture, reminiscent of Spain's southern coast, and lush landscaping combine to create a sense of casual elegance and your own private seaside retreat. All rooms have private terraces, and most feature stunning views of the Pacific. Five different dining restaurants,a grocery store, a full service spa and salon and two pools and several hot tubs on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Hotel Huntington Beach
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing