We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Place To Stay!”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights and loved it! Our room was small, but very nice. Had an ocean view with a small but nice balcony. The bed was very comfortable. Service was great! AJ at the front desk was so helpful giving us restaurant and things to do tips! He was awesome! The restaurant on site was a wonderful outdoors atmosphere and the food was great, but the service was terrible. Took us 2 hours to get soup, salad and a flatbread pizza. They did take 20% off our bill so that was nice of them! The pool is great and the beach across the street is amazing!! Located very close to the pier and downtown!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamlbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,183
    748
    205
    77
    52
See reviews for
1,359
664
65
747
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We went during the off-season, so enjoyed the fact that the property was not overly crowded. Fabulous facilities and the beach across the street is magnificent. Chairs and umbrellas are available, which is great. We imagine that during the busy season there would be lots of children running around--and we would not hesitate to bring youngsters here. During the shoulder season, it was a lovely place for couples.
As usual for Hyatt properties, great rooms with comfortable beds and adequate (though not luxurious) baths that are very clean. Bummer that the rooms have carpet considering that it's a beach property. Impeccable service and we liked every restaurant that we tried. We enjoyed the Regency Club. We received turned down service--a nice touch--one night but not the other. Robes were missing but were quickly delivered when we requested them.

Wish that this property offered evening S'mores as part of the resort fee (as other Hyatt Resorts do). To have S'mores on the beach would have been wonderful, but we were not up to getting a kit (available at their food emporium). We were surprised the resort shuttle charged to take guests to town, which is a fairly good distance away, though it is totally doable.

Room Tip: Obviously a room with a view would be preferable!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGrassini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
209 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

My family and I just returned from California. We stayed at the Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for two nights and loved our stay. The rooms were well appointed, clean and large enough for 4 people (two adults and two teens). The hotel was in a perfect location across the street from the beach. It was within walking distance of the peer. We did not use the spa, but the pools were excellent and heated well enough that even though it was chilly, we were able to comfortably swim.
We were given a resort voucher upon arrival as there was a mix up with our rooms and the view was very nice. Restaurants were well run and food was good. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a partial view to pay less and you will still see the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Park-Cav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjd15
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from a 3 night stay at this property. We have stayed at the neighboring hilton property in the past and it is not even comparable. The Hyatt just has more to offer from a resort perspective. Their fitness center is one of the best I've been to in a hotel. The spa access that is included in the resort fee was by far the best 'amenity' of the entire resort. There are separate large areas for men and women that include locker rooms, showers, relaxation room, spa, sauna, and steam room. Fresh juices, water, tea and coffee is offered, as well as snacks. Cool towels outside the sauna and steam rooms and cozy robes are a part of the experience. I spent two mornings at the fitness center and then used the spa facilities immediately after. It was heaven. I would come back to this hotel simply because of this.

Service, with one exception was exceptional. Housekeeping always greeted us with a smile and 'hello', servers were so kind and genuinely seemed to like their job... Valet, spa attendants, and bellman made us feel welcome and comfortable. The front desk staff when we checked in was great. Candace gave us two room options on a map based on our reservation 2 queens versus one king bedroom which we preferred and had reserved. We made our choice and suddenly the rooms became "unavailable". She said all the rooms "disappeared". Made me a little nervous that somehow they gave our room away. She disappeared to the back for a few minutes, talked to her boss, and returned with an upgrade to the club level. Same type room, just with the addition of access to the food and drinks offered on the club level. She explained the amenities and gave us the letter that explained the complimentary food service times. We checked in at almost 9pm so we were grateful for the room and access.

The next morning our keys did not access the club. All we were there for was coffee at that time as we had breakfast included in our rate and planned on eating in the restaurant. We went down to inquire for future access and the lady at the desk was quite rude about it and acted like we were trying to pull something. She stated, "Well you weren't supposed to get club access so she probably just put you on that floor with out the club access." We again explained what happened the night before and who checked us in and she very abruptly told us, "well she didn't write any notes here. I will ask her about it later. But that's fine, I will fix your keys". We may be over analyzing the situation but when hearing our story a simple, "I apologize, let me get you new keys." Would have been appropriate. We were kind of taken aback by her response as Candace made it very clear the night before. Not a huge deal but still stood out as she seemed to be 'accusing' us of trying to pull something on her.

Aside from that interaction, service was perfection. Good food at the restaurant although the area is badly in need of the new restaurant that should be opening in the spring. There just didn't seem to be a plethora of nice dinner options in the area. Construction was very obviously going on just below our room on what appears to be a mostly outdoor restaurant. The pounding, banging, and loud noise before 8am on a Saturday vacation morning was only slightly annoying. ;). When everything else is so great, how could we complain? It stopped eventually so I'm sure someone made a phone call. :) Sitting on the balcony was interesting with 6 guys working a few floors below. Now that I think about it, maybe that is why we suddenly got 'upgraded' to regency club level!! Haha.

The pool food was mediocre. Stale chips didn't really phase us two drinks in, however. We spent our time at the main pool which is beautiful but also took a peek at the kids pool as we would likely bring our kids back another time. It looked like a blast with water slides, wading pools, it's own food service, etc. Nicely done, Hyatt. You even make us want to come back as "parents"! Our 3 young kids would love it.

Rooms were nicely done with comfortable beds. Great little nooks through out the property to sit and enjoy the surrounding areas.

Overall, an amazing trip to Huntington Beach and we cannot wait to come back and stay at the Hyatt.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jjd15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I along with some good friends were able to obtain VIP a experience & seating to see smooth Jazz favorites, Peter White, Mindi Abair & Rick Braun. Not only was the Christmas concert excellent, so were the accommodations at the Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach. It's a beautiful resort with excellent staff, particularly Rebecca at the front desk. The grounds are well manicured with beautiful plantings and lots of color. Our room and bed were very comfortable and nicely decorated. The brunch the next morning was so good I had to be careful not to over indulgence. Well worth the price. An incredible experience. My friends and I have talked about that weekend and plan to do it again in 2014. Thanks Hyatt.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank captE48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed here once when we were visiting family, there was a miscommunication about our room reservation and my Dad complained about the inconvenience (he is a pain when it comes to customer service, so I was surprised by the patience the staff had). We ended up getting upgraded to the Presidential suite and it made our weekend! Beautiful view, wonderful landscape and fun pool.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MadisonP123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We came to Huntington Beach after our Disney stay for the kids and since they love the beach, my fiance knew this was a great beach to go to.
I saw they had waterslides at the pool and knew our boys would love it, also the pools are heated.
Now normally when you stay at a hotel with "heated" pools you wonder who the hell is heating the pool? someone breathing on it and they call it heated? Not in this case...these pools were about 82-85 degrees.
AMAZING!!
When we got there the room wasn't available, but the lady found one that would accomodate, she said it would not have much of an ocean view, but in actuality it did, it had a view of the ocean and one of the pools.
The staff from the moment we pulled up were extremely accommodating and warm. Made us feel right at home.
As the sunset we went toward the eateries on the resort, and they have fire pits, then the store by the fire pits sell SMORES KITS!! The kids had an absolute blast!!
it was so much fun.
when it was time to leave and valet pulled the car around when we got in, there were two bottles of cold water in our cup holders.

I cannot put into words how amazing their customer service was. Absolutely phenomenal.
I can't imagine staying anywhere else

The room was very clean and updated with modern decor/furniture.

the grounds are absolutely beautiful

Room Tip: get an "oceanview" room or a view of the the pools. even with a pool view, you can still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeoPride77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington Beach
0.4 mi away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#4 of 21 in Huntington Beach
271 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,450 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Surf City
Best Western Surf City
#6 of 21 in Huntington Beach
516 reviews
7.0 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
967 reviews
9.7 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 21500 Pacific Coast Highway, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-5300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 Green Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a community also known as "Surf City, USA", the resort offers easy access via a pedestrian walkway to eight miles of wide beaches where waves crash and surfers reign. The magnificent Andalusian architecture, reminiscent of Spain's southern coast, and lush landscaping combine to create a sense of casual elegance and your own private seaside retreat. All rooms have private terraces, and most feature stunning views of the Pacific. Five different dining restaurants,a grocery store, a full service spa and salon and two pools and several hot tubs on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Hotel Huntington Beach
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing