We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superior Service from the Start” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Superior Service from the Start”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

Thanks so much for making us feel welcome from the very beginning. Despite the fact that our shuttle driver dropped us off at the Convention Center instead of the hotel lobby, the bellhop didn't miss a beat in greeting us. He helped us wind our way through the lobby, waited for us to check in and escorted us directly to our rooms. What a way to feel like welcome and honored guests! The resort is beautiful, the staff are friendly and professional and the view is spectacular.

Room Tip: It's hard to believe that any room is not fabulous! I do recommend an upper floor. The view is s...
See more room tips
Green Features: Nicely done. Recycle bins are readily available and clearly marked. The grounds are well cared food and they've focused on using beautiful indigenous foliage.
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishHolliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,057
    717
    188
    71
    50
See reviews for
1,260
638
63
707
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
EVANSVILLE
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Very friendly staff here from front-desk receptionists to shuttle drivers. I loved the community feel where the grocery , gift shop, art gallery and restaurants merged. That same area is where the foot-bridge leads you to the beach. There's an elevator as well, to get down the street/beach level. If you rent a bicycle here you could use the elevator to get to the walking/biking path on beach side of the PCH. Regarding the resort there are plenty of things to do and admire. Just to walk the grounds is peaceful and filled with beautiful landscaping, fountains and sculptures. There are 4 hot tubs and the pool has an ocean view. The spa is nice and for $35/day a hotel guest can use the non-service area of the spa. The fitness area has new equipment. The Californian restaurant was closed for renovations, but Pete's and the pizza place were good lunch options and the grocery had a good selection of breakfast options. The grocery also sells firewood and S'Mores packages for the fire pits at Huntington Beach (some of the remaining few nation-wide). The beach curfew is at 10:00. The rooms are very nice, especially our ocean-view suite. Robes are available and could be worn to the pool. We enjoyed our balcony with table and chairs. The sofa and bed were very comfortable. I hope to return!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybuglouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Just stayed here during the Surf City marathon weekend and this place is absolutely fantastic. The resort was well managed, the rooms were clean and spacious, the grounds were beautiful, and it has a very nice beach resort feel. The beach view was great with very easy access thru the Hyatt bridge. The pool/jacuzzi area was very clean and enjoyable. The hotel staff were friendly and very helpful. A nice little touch upon leaving was providing water bottles in your car upon leaving. Absolutely a first class hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D0ubleK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

The hyatt at Huntington Beach is one of the most beautiful hotels My husband and I have had the opportunity to visit. The grounds are exquisite, the rooms top rate and the staff some of the nicest people I have ever meet. First class hotel and a must stay if you are visiting Huntington beach

Room Tip: Our room was on the third floor atrial ocean over looking the pool. We also had access to the club l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Great location, they have a bridge that takes you over the road right to the beach, very convenient. The room was beautiful, the grounds immaculate, staff was great. The fitness center has been upgraded and is the best I have ever seen at a hotel. The ground are sprawling so expect to get lost a few times until you know your way around. On-site restaurants were really good. Only complaint is that the WiFi was not good. It was actually so bad that we ended up with the hotel manager in our room trying to get it fixed b/c my husband had to give a webinar for work and couldn't do it... not cool. Parking was also an issue. The hotel lot was full so we had to find street parking which was not an easy task. We ended up parking just about 1 mile away.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

My room was great. The food in the restaurants was great. The location was beyond great. The service was so friendly that it was hard to believe sometimes. The WiFi was spotty and since I was there for business, that was a pain. Also - I had horrible cell reception (AT&T) so people should be ready for that.

Room Tip: The higher floors will have much better views and be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penuski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Penuski,

Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort and Spa! We were pleased to hear you were provided wonderful service by our associates. In regards to the cell service at the resort, you should know we are in the process of a significant upgrade to our coverage with the support of AT&T. In the coming months we anticipate having nothing short of exceptional cell service and we hope to have you back. Thank you again for your feedback!

With my best regards,

Eron Hodges
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
161 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

I spent one night at the Hyatt when in town for a big half marathon race that started directly next to the hotel. For that, the location couldn't be beat. I had a 'partial ocean view' room on the edge of the hotel, and that was a fair description of the view - no worries there. The room, the bathroom, the balcony etc. are all rather nice. The hotel grounds are very pleasantly laid out, and the staff were insanely helpful. The main thing that I did not appreciate were the extras that bump up the price of the stay. Valet parking is mandatory, no self-parking allowed, at $34/day. Why! And then there's the 'resort fee', which mostly seems to cover a bunch of services that nobody needs these days (like, who makes calls on their room phone!), and so mostly amounts to an extortionate internet charge.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CPtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear CPTraveler,

Thank you for sharing your overall experience with us. We were happy to hear you felt the property itself was nice and the access to the beach was easy. Equally, your comments regarding resort fees and other charges is appreciated and appropriately noted. We do strive to provide the best possible guest experience and your comments help us evaluate and improve upon our success. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to have you back as a guest in the future.

Sincerely,

Eron Hodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington Beach
0.4 mi away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#4 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
7.0 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Surf City
BEST WESTERN Surf City
#6 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel
The Waterfront Beach Resort, A H...
#3 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 21500 Pacific Coast Highway, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-5300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 Green Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a community also known as "Surf City, USA", the resort offers easy access via a pedestrian walkway to eight miles of wide beaches where waves crash and surfers reign. The magnificent Andalusian architecture, reminiscent of Spain's southern coast, and lush landscaping combine to create a sense of casual elegance and your own private seaside retreat. All rooms have private terraces, and most feature stunning views of the Pacific. Five different dining restaurants,a grocery store, a full service spa and salon and two pools and several hot tubs on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Hotel Huntington Beach
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing