We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A grand resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Omaha Ne
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A grand resort”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed there for 4 days after Thanksgiving. We had never been there before and were pleased overall. It is a large resort with beautiful grounds. We had a nice ocean view room.It was quite a long walk to get to our room. The walkway to the beach was quite convenient. We were able to get a top floor room(4th) so our view of the ocean and the sunsets was terrific. The room we had was very nice with a nice sitting area and balcony. It was very quiet since it was right after Thanksgiving. It has 2 pool areas and I sure a little noisy during their busy season. The room was very clean and the staff was very friendly with 2 exceptions. The young lady at check in was pretty impersonal and mechanical. We were told valet parking would be $29 per day and it was posted that it would be $34. When questioned about it she said she would check and get back to us the next day since that is what we had written when we made the reservation. She never did and the person at checkout did not want to discuss it either! It is quite a complicated walk getting to our room and she spoke rapidly like those people on television describing the side effects of medication. The long walk to our room was well worth it. One night a lady from housekeeping came in for turn-down service. We asked if she could come back and she said she wanted to do it now. S o we let her in. She pulled up the sheets, patted them a couple of times, left two mints on the bed and some towels on a small table in the entry way. We had used both shower and tub and all the used towels were left in the tub and shower floor! Pete's restaurant was OK for breakfast but below average for dinner. The male concierge was outstanding and really made us feel comfortable. Over all I would say that we enjoyed this magnificent property and would return again if we are in the area.

Room Tip: 4th Floor Ocean front probably the quietest and most scenic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amlcoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,155
    740
    196
    77
    52
See reviews for
1,333
658
65
739
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Andreas, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This was the nicest place we have ever stayed at. The people were exceptional, the food was outstanding, and the spa was incredible. On our last day it sprinkled a little and they put out umbrellas so you didn't get wet walking across the courtyard. And they had gluten free muffins at the breakfast buffet, gluten free bread at the restaurant, and gluten free cookies in the little store. The beach was nice, and town is a little far but for $3 you can get a shuttle there. The parking was my only complaint, I think it was $34 a day, but they did warn me about it when I made my reservation which was greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megon d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melville, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

A resort that has everything. Beautiful grounds. Good restaurants and shops. I was lucky enough to get a room with a great view of the beach and sunset. The spa is top notch. A short walk to the pier at Huntington Beach, shopping and restaurants. Valet parking is a little over priced at $35 a day.

Room Tip: Ocean view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

The resort is very nice, impeccably clean and grounds are well manicured. The pool is nice as well. The restaurants serve good food but very expensive. Also there is a resort fee of about 25 USD per day on top of a 39 USD to park your car over night, per night.
Location is fantastic - bridge to beach is handy and you can easily walk to downtown. Shopping and dining downtown is plentiful and reasonable. About $35 cab ride to John Wayne Airport.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bobbi_damrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Spent 3 nights there.
Location is great. Right next to the beach and not far from the pier (a nice walk of 20min or so).
Services were very good. Poolside service was especially excellent.
Room is clean, modern and spacious.
The only complaint I have is parking. There's only valet parking available and it costs $34 per night. Quite expensive for a hotel especially there's pretty much nothing around it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DT94024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Villa, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel on general but not what I expect from a hyatt Regency as I am a frequent traveler. The good. . Decent size room we did pay for the ocean front room. 280 ++ pretty night. Room # 4574 which is a very long walk from the front of the resort and there is no parking near our room Breakfast buffet was good. Good location across from the beach. The not so good.. They failed to mention that their signature restaurant the Californian was closed. .That they would have construction/Jack hammers going from 8 to 5 on week days. . The service in The red lounge for dinner was slow and terrible with only 1 other family in the restaurant... housekeeping did not vacuum. .Had to ask them to do so. . Valet at $34 per day is steep and you would think they would help more with bags when you return. I did complain to the front desk and got a measly $30 off a $3100 bill. We won't be back. Use caution when staying

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We hope you will come back and stay with us after the opening of our new restaurant. The concept is roots to restaurant -- featuring comfort food with attitude. Highlighting world class wines, hand-crafted cocktails, and localized brews, we intend to blend old and new, rustic and refined, food and drink as essential pairs. Please let me know when you will be back so we can make arrangements for you to sample our seasonal West Coast cuisine, paired with international and California vintages – perfect for sharing.

Eron Hodges, Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Huntington Beach is well worth a return trip and I would stay at the Hyatt. The Spa is fantastic and the hotel grounds are lovely. Access to the beach is easy and affords miles of walking and lots of easy great choices for dining. The cafe/sundries shop is a nice and affordable amenity. This location affords easy walking to shopping too.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Seattlekat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington Beach
0.4 mi away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#4 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Surf City
Best Western Surf City
#6 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 21500 Pacific Coast Highway, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-5300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 Green Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a community also known as "Surf City, USA", the resort offers easy access via a pedestrian walkway to eight miles of wide beaches where waves crash and surfers reign. The magnificent Andalusian architecture, reminiscent of Spain's southern coast, and lush landscaping combine to create a sense of casual elegance and your own private seaside retreat. All rooms have private terraces, and most feature stunning views of the Pacific. Five different dining restaurants,a grocery store, a full service spa and salon and two pools and several hot tubs on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Hotel Huntington Beach
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing