We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful amenities, near the beach, great customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful amenities, near the beach, great customer service”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

It is rare to have great customer service from beginning to end. So it's an unexpected treat. At the front desk, Julia helped us easily upgrade to partial ocean view rm 2368. (I wouldn't pay for ocean view cause it's across the street, PCH). Miriam the housekeeper supplied extra towels water toothpaste combs shampoo etc beyond the norm. Amanda and Andy our servers at breakfast were attentive, helpful with the kids, patient. The buffet, free daily with our reservation, had plenty of hot food...abundant, well stocked and clean, even had gluten free muffins that tasted pretty decent. The lifeguards at the water slides were very watchful regarding any rowdy unsafe behavior but yet were friendly about it. My kids 5 and 9 loved the pools and slides; must have gone down the slides a hundred times. They also loved the fish feeding at the koi pond. The beach attendant provided free chairs, toys, towels, umbrella.

The grounds were well kept and the pools were clean, no debris even in the spa grotto with trees nearby. Plenty of towels and water avail at the pools. Parking was about $30/night but there's also beach parking across the road or metered parking on the side of the road.

The great experience that we had at the Hyatt came immediately after an awful experience with thrifty car rental. Literally waited forever for the shuttle then over an hour in line to sign the papers. Then finally out to the lot...no cars available, except one car with no keys. Then back inside to wait for more cars. At the return, got penalized added fees for returning with a full tank of gas (with our receipt) ...but not within 10 mi of the thrifty car lot. Then manager yelled at us for questioning the charge. Sigh.
Thank goodness for a great experience at Hyatt Huntington Beach. It really made our weekend into a real vacation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunnyP22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,300
    780
    219
    86
    56
See reviews for
1,476
692
66
764
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

There beach, there pools, Its like be on your own Island! With a market , restaurants, shopping, How can you go wrong. Always clean and the service was outstanding from the valet to the concierge every door is opened and your greeted, This is a great resort for, vacation holiday or business convention its big and full of things to do. With LA 45 minutes, stay and play in Huntington Beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I loved this hotel soo much. The staff really makes a difference when you are in a hotel. Rebecca was so helpful and friendly to us. She really was probably the sweetest, most kind and genuine person behind the front desk area in any hotel we have ever stayed at. The grounds are immaculate. The breakfast buffet was delicious. We took our daughter here as part of her graduation trip and were able to take amazing pictures on the beach for her. We loved renting the bicycles from the shop on the grounds and felt that the price was very reasonable. Thank you so much for an amazing four nights at your hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beach4twenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and I had the most amazing stay at this resort. Great location and the staff was amazing. We upgraded to a suite that had a view of the pool and ocean. The Red Chair Lounge had fantastic drinks and service and the late night ambience was perfect

Room Tip: Get an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delilah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

To celebrate the fiancés milestone Bday (if I write the age here, she’ll kill me), we decided to stay the night here at the Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach. The grounds of the valet only hotel where beautifully arranged. On the other hand the long hallways of the hotel should get a paint upgrade. Everything had gone according to plan. We got a really nice room that was worth every penny. That was until I walked into the bathroom. First off the sink’s plug was closed and it couldn’t be opened. I turned to call the repair guy and then moved on to clean the two glasses that we were going to use for drinks on the bathtub (always bring dish soap to hotels to clean all the glasses that you are going to use). I immediately stopped after seeing that the tub as well as the towel rack inside the tub was full of blonde hairs. If that wasn’t enough, I also noticed that the ice bucket had water in it already.

While all of this mess would have irritated me at any hotel, what made matters worse was that it was 1:30 in the morning. That said, the front desk apologized about the situation and told us that they would move us to a new room.

We where moved into what I believe is a governor’s suite. The suite was beautiful but it was facing a bunch of tree’s blocking the view. It was very sad because they only gave us an extended checkout till 2pm even though I was certain that specific suite would not be used afterwards. Usually I have no problem with late checkout being 2pm. But, considering that we were switching rooms at 1:30a and that we were celebrating a big milestone, the hotel failed to meet my standards for a 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the water. Don't accept any room facing north.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rmarquez99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear rmarquez99,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your visit to our resort. It was disappointing to hear the initial room accomodations were not exceptional to begin with and that we fell short of your expectations, as well as our own. You may be rest-assured the shortcomings regarding housekeeping service have already been reviewed with our team to ensure future guest room services are not overlooked. With that said, we realize you have a choice to make when traveling and do hope that you'll give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations at some point in the future. Please feel reach out to me directly if I can be of any assistance and thank you again for your feedback.

With my best regards,

Eron Hodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

My family recently stayed at the majestic and picturesque Grand Hyatt property.

From the first greeting by the valet attendant to our every movement we we taken care of.

Fist of all this property sits on the PCH directly across from The beach.

The views of this beach we exceptionally beautiful around the property. I was taken by the property we manicured grounds, lavish design and breathtaking landscaping.

We stayed in a Huntington-suite with a distant walkout balcony view of the beach. It was well maintained. Modern and clean.

As Diamond members we had access to the Club lounge. It was amazing and the new balcony view was amazing. Great food, friendly service by their staff and great coffee added to this great area. I was initially sceptic all about this area as most domestic Hyatt club area fail in comparison to the properties I've stayed in Asia. Needless to say the food was delicious. Well stocked and fresh. I was pleasantly surprised.

The only small complaint was the expensive valet fees. $34 a night is a bit pricy.

Overall our experience here was exceptional and we will be back in the future.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jeb1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Everyone was so nice to us. I mean EVERYONE! Seriously amazing! The door men, valet, shuttle service, front desk, wait staff and even the guy that delivered dinner from the pizza place were all so helpful and friendly. We were going to take a shuttle to Dukes down the street but there was a wait due to a wedding party. So we opted to walk down the beach to Dukes. They felt bad and told us that if we call them they will pick us up for free. The guy picked us up and offered cold water on the very short ride back to the hotel. Great service!
The pool was wonderful. Ordered drinks and nachos (really good nachos by the way) by the pool. Very clean and I like that the grounds were so well maintained. Very large place. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Some rooms have the balcony that faced the walkways (it looked kind of cool, but we had a room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seattleterp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington Beach
0.4 mi away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#5 of 21 in Huntington Beach
313 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#9 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,575 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,524 reviews
7.0 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,003 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Surf City
Best Western Surf City
#6 of 21 in Huntington Beach
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 21500 Pacific Coast Highway, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-5300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 Green Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a community also known as "Surf City, USA", the resort offers easy access via a pedestrian walkway to eight miles of wide beaches where waves crash and surfers reign. The magnificent Andalusian architecture, reminiscent of Spain's southern coast, and lush landscaping combine to create a sense of casual elegance and your own private seaside retreat. All rooms have private terraces, and most feature stunning views of the Pacific. Five different dining restaurants,a grocery store, a full service spa and salon and two pools and several hot tubs on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TravelUp, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Hotel Huntington Beach
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing