We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT FACILITY AND PEOPLE, BUT . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“GREAT FACILITY AND PEOPLE, BUT . . .”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Although quite sprawling, the property certainly provides the ambiance of a first-class resort. Beautiful, spacious public areas, well-kept grounds. While located immediately adjacent to an excellent public beach, it actually is separated from it by the multi-lane Pacific Coast Highway. A pedestrian over-crossing provides access to the sand and surf, so it's easy to use. We stayed here, however, for the annual three-day meeting of a professional society, and did not make use of these amenities. We can, however, vouch for the unending friendliness of all of the staff we encountered, from the guys who always hold the front door open for you to the concierge, desk staff, bellmen, and housekeepers, all of whom always greeted you as you passed. Our 3rd floor (out of 4) room provided an ocean view, which was nice, but it also meant that we couldn't keep the sliding door open at night for fresh air because of the traffic noise from PCH. With the door closed, the sounds were almost entirely muted. So, if you depend upon the HVAC for your air needs, you'll not have noise problems. However, we found the HVAC to be quite slow to respond, and the room never felt like it had fresh air unless we opened the sliding door. The room was tastefully furnished, very clean, nicely laid out. Bathroom was spotless and well appointed. No complaints there. Ah,now for the "but."

1. A 42 inch flat screen TV was provided, but there was no digital high-def picture, only an analogue feed, with the attendant "everyone looks wide" appearance of the picture. I've stayed in MUCH more modest accommodations that provided HiDef TV, why not an alleged 4-star resort?

2. The room safe is pathetically small. It's effective storage was approximately 3" deep, 5" high, and 10" wide. Forget about securing that laptop, or even your iPad. Again, lesser facilities provide laptop-sized safes. Oh, and it seems that some rooms, ours included, lack the button marked "lock," which the instructions for use refer to. Save yourself the call to maintenance; it's the "star" button, although nowhere do they tell you this.

3. At the prices they charge per night, they still want to charge extra for simple WiFi. To the tune of $13 a day! Why is it the fancy hotels nickel and dime you to death?

4. OK, here's the biggie. There is NO self-parking option.* You want your car to stay here? Then, in addition to your room charge, you will pony up THIRTY-FOUR BUCKS per night (as of April, 2013) for mandatory valet parking. The * above was for this "option." You can go to the desk and get an overnight permit that will allow you to park in the beach lot across PCH. Not for free, mind you. You still pay the City their $15 (I think that's the rate; we didn't use it.). Isn't that a deal. You can leave your car overnight to be pelted by salt/sand spray in a remote, unsecured lot. We asked one of the staff (whom we will not identify) about this and this person said they had just raised the valet fee to $34 and that it was a "fantastic" money-maker for the hotel. Duh. It's also the source of the greatest ill-will amongst those who review the resort. Oh, yes, despite this outrageous charge, the valets definitely lurk for tips.

5. Although it was waived for our conference attendees, I believe there also is a "resort fee" of $25 per day.

So, when you book your room, just be aware that the "room rate" isn't all you're going to pay.

On the plus side, the restaurants (the "Californian" and "Pete's Surf City Grill") were excellent and, surprisingly, reasonably priced! Go figure. There's also a shuttle to take you the mile into town for other dining options, or you can, as we did, walk it quite easily.

Overall, a nice facility with excellent staff and some stupid decisions by the executive suite that degrade the experience.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep with the sliding door open for fresh air, you'll have to forgo the beach vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Houn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,256
    762
    213
    80
    53
See reviews for
1,426
680
65
757
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I've stayed here half a dozen times in the past ten years and each time I'm here, I fall in love with this place all over again.

PROS

Great beds
Big rooms
Good lighting
Enough outlets
Great on site restaurants
Fun, wonderful staff
Good food
Pretty scenery
Great location
Awesome amenities

CONS

It's large and you may have to walk a bit
You can sometimes hear people walking outside your door at night

Love it, love it, love it.
Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMommy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My sister, niece and I recently decided to head up to Huntington Beach for a girls weekend and booked the Hyatt. There was some confusion with our booking (not their fault - their was a problem with our 3rd party booking), and although they were sold out the front desk did everything they could to get us into a room. We ended up in a ground floor king room with a pull-out and it turned out perfect.

I've stayed at plenty of Hyatt's before, however this was by far my favorite property of their's I have ever stayed in. Although the hotel is on the pricier side, it was completely worth it. The room included bottled water, wifi, and access to three separate pool areas, each fantastic. The hotel has at least 6 hot tubs, and one of the pools has 3 slides for the pools that my niece absolutely loved. It's a very short walk along the beach to the main part of Huntington Beach, and the property also has a bike rental which we did one afternoon and rode along the beach. There are 3 or 4 restaurants on the property, and all of the food was surprisingly delicious. The grounds were absolutely beautiful and the service was impeccable. Parking is expensive (it cost us $70 for two nights), so I would recommend getting a guest pass and parking in the parking lot across the street at the beach. I will absolutely stay again and we are already planning on it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrfrahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I am a local and have been to the Hyatt several times in the last year or so. It really is the best hotel in the area and is the only hotel I will pay the full price for (even though I usually don't). It has a great location (right across the beach and walkable to downtown), really comfortable, and family friendly. It is also super casual and not pretentious like a lot of hotels in Orange County. Spa, pools (with water-slides), restaurants, and rooms are all super nice.

Our last visit was no different. I want to give props to Jason at check in for trying to get us the best room possible, despite us booking on a prepaid site. This hotel really takes care of the locals and that is why we keep coming back.

My only complaint is the industry wide nickel and diming. $28 resort fee, $34 overnight parking, charges for internet... Really? It really is getting out of control.

Tips
- Parking onsite expensive even if it is for a couple of hours. The lot across the street on PCH is about $15 a day; I don't think they allow overnight parking. There is some metered parking on PCH as well.
-Eat at the restaurant- yes, it is pricey... but so freaking good. The Sunday brunch is awesome and even has bottomless bloody's for $12. The restaurant is also on Restaurant.com.
-Travel Zoo and Hotwire has deals in the off season.
-The spa is pretty nice. Guests can use it, which is a total added bonus.
-There is a cheap place to eat breakfast/lunch called Kokomos along the beach path in the main lifeguard tower. It is a locals favorite and you can't beat the view.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BoogAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alderley Edge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I am an English 19 year old girl who stayed at the Hyatt in October with my parents for a few nights on our journey from San Francisco to San Diego. We found that the location of the hotel is perfect - right across from the beach and close to shops and bars. The Hyatt is beautiful; we loved the little outdoor lounges! Great pool and great staff - we had such a nice maid, I've forgotten her name now (woops), such a sweetheart and so polite.

Out of the 6 hotels that we stayed in on our trip to California (3 being Hyatts), myself and my parents decided that Huntington beach was our favourite. The only thing we could fault was the valet parking. Being British, we find valet parking to be quite a foreign thing to us, it's pretty much unheard of in the UK - we're perfectly capable, and quite like to, park our car ourselves rather than having to pay for it and wait at least 30mins for it to arrive. Good job we were only staying a few nights or we would have seriously been breaking the bank! There's nothing wrong with valet parking, but it's bad to not even have the option.

Altogether it was really nice though! I didn't even get kicked out of the bar - which was nice :)
We would definitely recommend the Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach!

P.S I'm really sorry, but I accidently stole a towel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is truly a resort. The grounds are stunningly gorgeous, and it is DIRECTLY across Pacific Coast Highway from the ocean. A VERY easy and safe walk, because the resort has an elevated foot bridge that goes over the highway so you don't need to worry about traffic. The rooms are nice - if not a little boring and pedestrian. You don't stay here for a sumptuous bathroom, you stay here for the pools, grounds, and park-like setting...and did I mention that it is DIRECTLY ACROSS THE STREET FROM THE OCEAN? Valet parking only, and it is pricey.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BernardRene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is a great hotel and we would highly recommend it. The staff are very friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble and always a smile greets you. Reception could be busy but we always timed it so we didn't need to see them during their busy times, they were always so helpful, thanks especially to Victoria and Tyler for going the extra mile :-) We stayed for 14 nights; we found the room a little small for four of us so upgraded to a suite which was much better (the beds are seriously comfortable!)

The food is delicious, highly recommend the buffet which is quality food and keeps you full most of the day, thank you Amanda for always giving attentive and great service! The hotel surroundings are always immaculate. There are a few small shops, a coffee shop also sells fruit, bagels and croissants; a couple of gift shops, an art gallery (all the proceeds of which support an animal rescue shelter) and a surf shop. We only used the pool and spas once as we were out and about most of the time and there was a definite cold nip in the air! The spa water was lovely - really hot! The hotel is located well, a leisurely 20 minute walk to the vibrant pier and shopping strip....make sure you're there on a Tuesday 5-9pm when there's a market.

Downside? Expensive valet parking, even though the guys were fantastic....swift service and always friendly. Wifi could be a bit hit and miss sometimes and it was irritating having to log on every day. Our suite overlooked the spa grotto (which was lovely) but we had a few nights with noisy inconsiderate guests oblivious that maybe some of us either a) had children who needed to sleep and/or b) wanted an early night due to an early start in the morning; the hotel should make more of an effort to ensure guests are not overly noisy to the extent that they effect the quality of sleep/rest for others. Also, a superficial feel to one of the servers in the surf shop....we walked out a couple of times as she didn't really seem interested in helping us. The surfing instructor Jake, however, was a true star, a lovely helpful young man who taught our 10 year old to (more or less) surf in one 2hr lesson...well worth the money. To be honest though, these are very small gripes in relation to the hotel and holiday overall.

All in all, we would definitely recommend this super hotel and hope to revisit one day.

Room Tip: Suites if you can, the hotel were willing to negotiate on the rate for those staying a considerable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington Beach
0.4 mi away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#4 of 21 in Huntington Beach
289 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,523 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Surf City
Best Western Surf City
#6 of 21 in Huntington Beach
543 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,513 reviews
7.0 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 21500 Pacific Coast Highway, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-5300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 Green Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a community also known as "Surf City, USA", the resort offers easy access via a pedestrian walkway to eight miles of wide beaches where waves crash and surfers reign. The magnificent Andalusian architecture, reminiscent of Spain's southern coast, and lush landscaping combine to create a sense of casual elegance and your own private seaside retreat. All rooms have private terraces, and most feature stunning views of the Pacific. Five different dining restaurants,a grocery store, a full service spa and salon and two pools and several hot tubs on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Hotel Huntington Beach
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing