We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Location -- across the street from ocean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
205 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Lovely Location -- across the street from ocean”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was here recently at a professional seminar, but I was able to enjoy the amenities of the hotel nonetheless. There is a beautiful pedestrian bridge connecting directly to the beach. The hotel staff were courteous and helpful. I especially liked the fact that everything was done electronically, from check in to check out -- completely "green" and no paper wasted in the meantime.

The hotel did a wonderful job of serving lunch for 600 guests -- not an easy feat. The food was elegantly presented and tasty. Even the dessert was light -- not the usual slab of cheesecake, but rather, a lovely slice of a mousse - cake combo.

The hotel grounds are lovely, too, with a beautiful pool and gardens. I think it would be a lovely spot for a romantic getaway. And it's only about a 20 minute drive from Orange Country Airport. I admit I was dismayed when I saw some industrial smoke stacks on the approach to the hotel, but once at the hotel I could not see or smell or otherwise detect their presence. Don't let other readers' comments about that deter you from trying this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ortlinde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff. Thank you so much for your comments about our green initiatives here at the resort as that is something we take great pride in.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,184
    748
    205
    77
    52
See reviews for
1,360
664
65
747
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I love this hotel.the rooms are decoreted nicely and are very large.The staff is super friendly.Jessica the girl that checked me in was super friendly and upgraded my room to an ocean view tottally cool.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolo420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed early March for four nights. Arrived after the long drive from Vegas were met right away by valet on pulling up to entrance of hotel, door opened for us greeted warmly, luggage unloaded and car taken away (Overnight parking $30 daily resort fee $25 daily). Check in was very pleasant and were upgraded to ocean view delux room right on front on top floor, room very comfortable balcony looking onto ocean. Californian restaurant excellent ate breakfast there each morning ordered off menu but they offered buffet at weekend but cheaper off menu. Pools lovely one especially for kids with water slides and a quieter one if you need to relax and the grounds were immaculate with wonderful flower beds and koi pools.Found this hotel was excellent one of the best in over 20yrs of travel to the U.S. Staff were very attentive and polite couldnt do enough to help. We had a small problem with our shower reported to concierge and engineer sent immediately to fix it. Will definitely return to this hotel and can highly recommend to anyone wanting a little luxury. Guest bridge over P.C.H. to beach was very useful not having to cross busy road especially good for parents with children. Lovely 10-15 min walk up to Pier, beaches lovely and clean as no dogs allowed on beach. We had an evening overnight flight back into London on our last day and reception were happy to extend our check-out time till 2pm giving us an extra 3 hrs in room. Wonderful wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoff d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Not a bad hotel but area is mot the best in town it's near some industrial power plant or something. Try to go down further to Malibu. Same price better places. Plus 30 dollars a night to park your car and a twenty dollar resort fee. Pass

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemini7119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your experience at the Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach. I was pleased to hear you liked the Resort in general and do acknowledge your concerns with parking and resort fees. You certainly have a choice when traveling and we hope you'll reconsider staying with us again at some point in the future.

With my best regards,

Eron Hodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I was there for a conference and my husband was there to enjoy! The grounds are landscaped with gardens, pools and fountains. The hotel is just across PCH from the beach. There is a pedestrian bridge so you don't have to worry about cars. Our room was a partial beach view. I can't imagine the difference of a full beach view! We looked out directly at a garden with fountains and waterfalls, out past that was the beach! One garden has large koi fish. We rented bicycles and rode one afternoon. All of e staff was very friendly and helpful. The only complaint would be the fact that you can hear a lot in the room. We heard women in high heels walking in the hallway and people in the next room. Neither was very bad and didn't detract from our stay at all!

Room Tip: I can't imagine a bad room. All of the views were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAMspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thüringen
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

After a 12 hour flight from Europe a oasis of silence. Just 50 minutes from LAX. Very friendly and helpful staffs, large and spacious rooms with shower and tube. You can rent bicyles and drive a long paved path on the beach or walk to main street Huntington Beach in just 10 Minutes. Restaurantes in the Hotel are great, breakfast buffet and dinner was very well. Location is also perfect for tours to San Diego (1.5 h). WLAN included in resort fee also water and coffee/tee. We recommend the resort and we are sure to come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upgrade to get a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USA1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this resort for three nights. I was loathe to leave when those days were over! We arrived a little behind schedule, as we had requested a late check in. Everything was ready and all we had to do was check in! Everyone was extremely helpful and friendly. We got a king bed guest room that had partial ocean view on the 4th floor (top floor). We could see one of the two pools on the property and indeed had a partial ocean view to our right. The only downside to this was the fact that our frontal view was that of a seemingly abandoned production warehouse. We didn't spend the whole time musing at the view out of the balcony though, there was far too much to see in the resort itself. We were right next to the garden which is beside the spa. It was a lovely view both day and night. Every day we would walk around the garden as well as the fountains. I really loved the fact that we had a "private" bridge for resort guests to go over the freeway and onto the beach. The pool was also very nice and we were able to order a couple drinks as we basked in the sun. Whenever we went for a swim or a little relaxation in the hot tub, we didn't have to worry about high traffic. Sadly we didn't get to try the spa, much to my disappointment. Hopefully we can check it out next time soon!

The meals were impeccable! We ate at The Californian every morning and had a margarita every evening from either the Red Lounge (I think it was called) or Peet's just down the walkway. Servers and hosts/hostesses were wonderful. They were friendly and always made sure that we either had enough coffee/tea in our cups or we were enjoying our meal. They weren't breathing down our neck either. It was just right. They dropped in often enough to keep us feeling attended to and enough to give us private time. On the last day that we stayed there, there was a buffet breakfast. That was the only day that I didn't feel the service was provided well. We asked for the option of a menu order instead of the buffet order. However, nobody came to take our order. We weren't even given water or tea, and no one even came to check up on us for the better first half of our mealtime. We sat for quite a while before we finally decided to go and ask someone to take our order. After getting their attention, however, they took good care of us and made sure we had most of what we needed. Dinner at The Californian was hardly something to miss. I would highly recommend this restaurant whether you eat breakfast, lunch, or dinner!

Everything was so convenient location-wise. We did stay at the farthest end away from the restaurants, but it wasn't much trouble for us, we enjoyed our daily morning and evening walk. There was live music one evening at the resort, and the evenings that we enjoyed a drink in the lounge, we were given plenty of privacy space and felt that we could take our time enjoying a relaxing evening on the couches.

We also inquired about a potential wedding venue here. The individual who helped us out was very patient and quick to give us results, which I very much appreciated. He quickly knew what we wanted, in general, and answered pretty much all of our questions. That very evening he even emailed us a whole plan that we could go off of for a price breakdown for the entire wedding. The next evening when my boyfriend and I got back from our trip for the day, we saw that they had dropped off a complimentary dish of wine, dried grapes, cheeses, and bread.

Overall I'd say this was a great experience for me, and I would love to come back again!

Room Tip: You may not want the partial ocean view on the farthest corner by the gardens. You'll likely get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeNzHuRe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington Beach
0.4 mi away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#4 of 21 in Huntington Beach
271 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,453 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Surf City
Best Western Surf City
#6 of 21 in Huntington Beach
516 reviews
7.0 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
967 reviews
9.7 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 21500 Pacific Coast Highway, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-5300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 Green Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a community also known as "Surf City, USA", the resort offers easy access via a pedestrian walkway to eight miles of wide beaches where waves crash and surfers reign. The magnificent Andalusian architecture, reminiscent of Spain's southern coast, and lush landscaping combine to create a sense of casual elegance and your own private seaside retreat. All rooms have private terraces, and most feature stunning views of the Pacific. Five different dining restaurants,a grocery store, a full service spa and salon and two pools and several hot tubs on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Hotel Huntington Beach
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing