We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Resort paradise”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

My family of five traveled to Huntington Beach in 2011, and stayed at the Hyatt. It was fabulous! Beautifully decorated grounds, clean & large rooms, and amazing location. We loved the bridge over the PCH to the beach, and enjoyed walking to the cafe at the resort for a morning coffee. The pool was nice but a little small compared to other large resort hotels (and also a little crowded during the day, but to be expected). Loved the fact that there was a hottub. We had a pool-view room, and we could still see the beach, it was great. The landscaping (palm trees galore), fountains, and fresh California style & architecture was very appealing. Due to the self-containment of the resort, we felt like we were a million miles away from anywhere! We rented bikes from the resort shop, and explored the streets of HB--which was a lot of fun, especially for a family activity. We ate breakfast each morning, and had a fancy dinner at the Californian--I had the most amazing desert here (both breakfast & dinner were delicious!) All in all, the price that you pay is worth the experience at this resort. We hope to return VERY soon to the Hyatt HB!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,250
    760
    211
    80
    53
See reviews for
1,419
678
65
756
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We booked here after a few days at disney in May.
We have a 4 yr old, so were intrigued by the waterslides and seemingly family friendly environment. Upon arrival, we were swept away by the incredible service and the property. The room was in good shape; modern and clean. They offer so many ammenities, you are only limited by your budget. The kids pool and slides were perfect.
They even offered smores kits for use after dinner at one of several fire pits located throughout the property. You are right at the beach, a safe overpass gets you there. I would go to this property in a heartbeat again, not something I would say of most hotels.

Room Tip: get a suite if you have kids, if budget allows. Also, the further you are from the front desk, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucasthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, MO
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

In January, I made reservations at this hotel for my four night stay for my nephew's graduation in May. Because of a change in business plans at home, I called reservations several days before the 72 hour cancellation date to inform them that I needed to shorten my stay by one day. My previous quoted rate was for a daily rate, not a package. I was shocked to be informed by the Hyatt agent, that my daily rate would be increased by $45/day. even though those three dates were the same minus the fourth date. I objected to this increase and stated that I frequently stayed at Marriott hotels, and had never been charged an increase for a change of length stay.After that statement, the reservationist asked me to list any organizations that I belonged. Upon stating AAA, my rate was changed to just a $2+/day increase. Although the previous month, I experienced a great stay at the Hyat t Regency in Bonita Springs Florida,If this is their business model, I would seriously question staying again at another Hyatt.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DianeBridle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We chose the hyatt Huntington beach because it is right across from the beach. The rooms were clean and comfortable, service was good and the food in the restaurants was very good. I would recommend this if cost is not a big concern and you want a nice place walking distance to the beach

Room Tip: We were not ocean view but had a nice room overlooking the koi pond next to the spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Altaresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

This is our 3rd time staying at the Hyatt. Such a great family hotel. The family pool/water slides are a hit with the kids. There is a lifeguard on duty but only for the water slides. It would be great if there was also a lifeguard at the pool. My kids switched from pool to slide to jacuzzi and back many times, that I found myself moving chairs quite a bit to keep an eye on them (I was by myself). The room was very clean and spacious. Plenty of towels, pillows and blankets. My only complaint was the food. Neither the food at the pool or room service was particularly good or healthy. The nachos were just chips with salty cheese sauce poured over (probably Velveeta) and the soup was Campbell's from the can. At $10/per, I would expect better quality. Also the French toast we ordered from room service was way oercooked/charred but after waiting 45 minutes to get it, we ate what we could. The spa was beautiful, very clean and serene. I had one of the best facials ever! Smoother than the food, this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank erzsikeCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe Springs, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Loved this hotel! Staff was extremely friendly. We were able to upgrade our room for $75 more but it was worth every penny. Beautiful view of the beach two room suite with Jacuzzi tub two separate balconies with lounge chairs and tables. The only thing I was disappointed with was we were offered free s'mores kit but no one at the
front desk knew how or where to get it by the time we figured it out they were closed. And there was only one super packed pit to make the s'mores. Other than that top notch.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We spent Mothers Day weekend here and what a perfect two days. The hotel is in a great location and has everything you need right onsite. My husband surfed across the street while I played on the waterslides with my three year old son. Then i hit the spa to relax while they played in the game room. Later we all roasted smores by the firepit. We ate in three of their restaurants over the weekend and ordered room service. The service was great the whole time and we just loved it. Not a single thing was wrong and no improvement needed. We loved it! By the way, we only live ten minutes away yet we felt like we were in Hawaii or something. Very nice.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 701LongBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff. It's always nice to hear that people in our backyard can come stay with us and feel like they are much farther away. Again, thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay, I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed the dining, spa and activities that we offer our guests.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington Beach
0.4 mi away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#5 of 21 in Huntington Beach
288 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,514 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Surf City
Best Western Surf City
#6 of 21 in Huntington Beach
540 reviews
7.0 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
982 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 21500 Pacific Coast Highway, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-5300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 Green Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a community also known as "Surf City, USA", the resort offers easy access via a pedestrian walkway to eight miles of wide beaches where waves crash and surfers reign. The magnificent Andalusian architecture, reminiscent of Spain's southern coast, and lush landscaping combine to create a sense of casual elegance and your own private seaside retreat. All rooms have private terraces, and most feature stunning views of the Pacific. Five different dining restaurants,a grocery store, a full service spa and salon and two pools and several hot tubs on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Hotel Huntington Beach
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing