We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, bad for the resort fee”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mexico City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great hotel, bad for the resort fee”
Reviewed June 10, 2011

I stayed for 2 nights with my daughter and wife and I must say is a great hotel.

The staff is very very friendly and helpful.

The room is excellently appointed with what it seems to be new furniture, as well all of the hotel facilities, which are excellent.

The bad part is that when you check out you are charged a Resort Fee ($25) of which you are not informed in the hotel's web site or during check in. This is something very delicate that the company has to resolve, since it's clearly hidden cost.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RODMexicoCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff. We recently completed a guestroom renovation so I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room. I apologize that you were unaware of our $23 resort services fee; however, it is listed on the booking page of our website under rooms and rates.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,183
    748
    205
    77
    52
See reviews for
1,359
664
65
747
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Stayed here in early June with our kids (5 and 7) for a work/pleasure few days. Eron took great care of us and we were upgraded upon check in to 2 wonderful adjoining rooms. Bridge to beach was great and so was the Friday night movie poolside. I travel extensively and write very few reviews, but we were shown special care here. Kids loved the place and can't wait to go back. Thanks Eron!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotteskimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights in May 2011. I cannot in good conscience give the Hyatt a good rating given the poor, rude customer service. Upon checkout I paid my bill with my debit card because I wanted to pay cash for the trip. I was assured this was the final bill and paid in full. I made it clear I wanted no charges to go on my credit card (they had that number from the original reservation) and I wanted to pay for everything in full on my debit card. When I got home I discovered charges were put on my credit card that I already paid for (double billing!!). I called the hotel and spoke with BRANDY who told me that the charges were for room service the last day and "maybe just didn't make it on the final bill upon checkout". I felt it unlikely that a charge made at 7 am for breakfast did not make it to the bill a day later. I told her I was told the entire bill was paid upon check out and I, in fact, remember seeing these charges on my bill at check out. She insisted they were not. I told her I wanted to see an itemized bill and she said she would email it to me to "prove it". I was shocked at her attitude and rude demeanor. Given that I spent over $1500 in a 5 day period at the hotel and paid what was represented to me to be the "final bill" I asked if she would waive this $25.76 added on later. She said absolutely not and "IF YOU SPENT IT THEN YOU WILL PAY FOR IT!". I find it hard to believe the Hyatt can't eat $25 after the massive amount of money I spent at their hotel. I asked to speak to her boss and she said she was the boss and the manager of the front desk. I told her certainly she must have a boss and that I wanted a call from him/her. She said she would have "Branden" call me the next day.

After hanging up, I opened the email from her of my itemized bill. THIS IS THE SHOCKER, it showed plain as day the room service charge was FULLY paid for upon check out just like I said it was. She said the amount was for room service for breakfast, which was clearly in the bill as paid in full. The $25.76 was actually a "resort fee" charged for the day after my departure.

I called back BRANDY and asked her to READ THE ITEMIZED BILL SHE SENT ME. She than was forced to admit that SHE MADE A MISTAKE. She was given every opportunity to make things right and she did not. I find it hard to believe this person is a manager. Her attitude and customer service skills were horrendous.

During the stay I also inquired of the conciege regarding the kid's programs. She did not know what was on the schedule for the day and inquired of the other conciege and he didn't know either. She told me she didn't know and would have to ask the BELL HOP. She walked over and spoke with the group of men by valet parking to ask about children's programs for that day. I find that to be extremely odd. I thought the point of the conciege is to know what's going on at the hotel.

There are a million hotels to pick from and I would encourage you to RUN from this one. Whatever you do, double check every charge and any card they have a number for.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank Sunrise20119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
On behalf of the staff at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort and Spa, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our property.
I am sorry to hear that you encountered some issues during your stay with incorrect billing and poor customer service.
While we would always rather hear positive feedback, we appreciate the fact that you shared your experience with us and we will use these specific issues in our training and coaching of our staff.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. Should you return to Huntington Beach in the future I sincerely hope you will consider giving us the opportunity to show you our dedication to our guests and service.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Stayed here on a Rose Bowl package. Located across the coastal highway from the very wide beach. Easy access via the pedestrian bridge. Ten minute walk to downtown Huntington Beach with a long fishing pier, interesting shops, and good restaurants. Try to get a room with ocean, pool or mountain views. Interior courtyard view that we had didn't offer much. On site pub was fun and offered very tasty appetizers. Location is rather far from LA tourist sites but great if you're looking for a laid back beach vacation.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willieb3077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this resort for 4 nights. Everything about the hotel, staff and facilities were exceptional. But, when we got our credit card bill in the mail the next month, we discovered we had an extra charge to our Visa that was not ours. Actually, the charge for over $400 was billed to our Visa and apparently intended for someone else. After a brief phone call to the resort to resolve the problem, we were assured we would be refunded back to the Visa, and it was, but, since we are Canadian, our credit card company charged us a hefty fee for the return of the funds. We then sent a letter to the hotel explaining the problem and requesting that they reimburse us the fees for the Visa charges. After a long wait, we did receive from the hotel, the exact amount of money we were out from the Visa charges (in American dollars, therefore we were still out a few dollars for the currancy exchange).
We understand that mistakes are made, apparently their accounting department needs some attention.
Not sure if we will ever stay at the Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort again simply because we don't need to worry about credit card charge mistakes. It's a great resort but watch your charge cards!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunseeker4445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. We are pleased to hear your overall impression was a positive one, we will be sure to share your feedback with our team.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we apologize for having fallen short of your expectations as well as our own with respect to the billing error. We thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA and despite our error, hope that you are able to visit us again soon. Thank you again for your feedback and for choosing Hyatt.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2011

The hotel is literally within walking distance of the beach. The amenties, although we didn't use them, were really beautiful and the pools were monitored for use by guests only. The outlet areas (restaurants, shops) had good variety for food and snacks, including s'mores kits for the beach.

The one drawback is having to pay a $25 resort fee per night. With all of the pool areas and spa on-site I can understand the fee, but it would be nice if you could pay for it only if you use those amenities. It's still likely your best option, even compared to the Hilton next door.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StacyTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Hotel beautiful and meticulously maintained. Front Desk and Concierge service very good. Excellent location across street from beach (can see from balcony). Restaurants, shopping, pier, boardwalk, running and biking along beach, safe area to walk, can swim in ocean, watch surfers. can rent/buy anything you need or forget from hotel. Good for families or Romance. Stayed 2 nights, next time staying longer.
We are International travelers in our 50's

Room Tip: If you can afford it get Regency Club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank earthbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehodges, Manager at Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our resort. We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff. I am particularly pleased that our Front Desk and Concierge were engaging and provided the excellent service they are known for.
At Hyatt we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach for your trip to Surf City USA. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again soon as you have suggested.

Surf City Regards,
Eron Hodges
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington Beach
0.4 mi away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#4 of 21 in Huntington Beach
271 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,453 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Surf City
Best Western Surf City
#6 of 21 in Huntington Beach
516 reviews
7.0 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
967 reviews
9.7 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 21500 Pacific Coast Highway, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-5300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 Green Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a community also known as "Surf City, USA", the resort offers easy access via a pedestrian walkway to eight miles of wide beaches where waves crash and surfers reign. The magnificent Andalusian architecture, reminiscent of Spain's southern coast, and lush landscaping combine to create a sense of casual elegance and your own private seaside retreat. All rooms have private terraces, and most feature stunning views of the Pacific. Five different dining restaurants,a grocery store, a full service spa and salon and two pools and several hot tubs on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Hotel Huntington Beach
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing