We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Could be Better”

Harvey's Steakhouse
Ranked #341 of 602 Restaurants in Huntington Beach
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Southern California
Level 6 Contributor
682 reviews
410 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Good Could be Better”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is kind of an overpriced steak house which seems to attract an older crowd. I would first like to say that the food although overpriced was decent. They need to work on temperatures a little better, we went with a coupon and although they did not do this to us they warn you that they will charge 18% on the total bill-added to your bill. I don't like restaurants that add tips because there is no incentive for the wait staff to provide excellent service. This place is a bit dated, if you have a coupon I would go, but would skip otherwise.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heumanntouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    8
    6
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Back to the past”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Walking into this restaurant you think that you are in an old time dinner house from years ago. Tonight they had some musicians playing some jazz and a woman singing along. This place seems to be a hit with the older generation. Decor is pretty dated. Ordered the rib eye steak and though not the equivalent of Morton's or Ruth Chris, it was actually cooked fairly well. Baked potato good. Vegetables - yuck. A couple carrots and leafs of spinach sautéed. Didn't like. The soup of the day was need stew that was pretty good. Table service was good. May come back again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luvhb4evr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Don't Forget Your Coupon”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Hadn't been here since the '80's when restaurant was Reuben's and from the looks of things it appears nothing's changed but the name... which isn't a good thing 30 years later. It's not a cool, old school on purpose '80's atmosphere but is instead a nothing's been done to it since 1981 uncomfortable feel. When seated at our table my 1980's era naugahyde seat had three large cracks running the length of it. Pretty disgusting that it was still in service (I changed it for another). Not a good start. As for the food itself, very average steaks, with the prepared sauce in a little container on the side instead of on the steak itself. Although I wasn't expecting prime beef like at Ruth's Chris, Capital Grille or Fleming's (Harvey's uses choice beef, not prime), it was tough and chewy... should have been better. Perhaps they keep their beef frozen? The baked potato was good, but the side of vegetables was a joke... three small slices of carrots and just enough spinach to finish off in one scoop of the fork. All-in-all, not a memorable experience. Would not go there again without a coupon, and even WITH the Entertainment coupon it saves you only $15, around 23% of the food bill for the two entrees. The wine was $6.50 each, a good price, so in essense the coupon basically covers a glass of wine apiece. My suggestion if in the mood for a good steak dinner? Go out half as much so you can afford to pay twice the price at one of the other above mentioned restaurants and have a wonderful meal along in a classy environment.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My daughter's favorite place”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have lived in HB for many years and never went to this restaurant. One night we tried it and it has become one of our regular places to go for dinner. Their soup or salad that comes with dinner is always so good. They have everything from meat, to seafood, to pasta. They also have a kids menu. The kids chicken tenders or grilled cheese sandwich is really yummy. I believe before 6pm they have early bird specials. My 9 year old daughter always want's to go here for dinner. There is also a bar area and entertainment.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullhead City, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good, unexpected treat!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Decided to try this only because "Harvey" was a family name and bought a voucher from restaurants. com. We were surprised by how good the food and service were. Its off the beaten path and kind of old fashioned which was kind of cool. Now one of our favorites when visiting the Anaheim area, which we do often...

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sixbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvey's Steakhouse also viewed

Huntington Beach, Orange County
Huntington Beach, Orange County
 
Fountain Valley, Orange County
Huntington Beach, Orange County
 
Fountain Valley, Orange County
Huntington Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Harvey's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing