We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had to get very drunk to be able to sleep here”
Review of 777 Motor Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huntington Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
777 Motor Inn
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We had to get very drunk to be able to sleep here”
Reviewed December 17, 2010

Problem 1: location-very noisy and expected once you realize how close you are to PCH
Problem 2: although the bed looked clean, the room was dingy and smelled like cigarettes
Problem 3: HORRIBLE lighting EVERYWHERE. I felt like I did my makeup by flashlight
Problem 4: Remote doesn't match TV and hence can't turn on TV
Problem 5: Instead of ON switch on TV, there was a giant hole
Problem 6: you need a PHD to figure out how to use the shower controls or at a the very least a wrench
Problem 7: romance cannot happen in a room like this unless you're Charles Bukowski

In a pinch, you can stay here and be fine. However, the room was so depressing we literally had to drink to the point of passing out before returning to our room
Why did we stay here? We didn't want to drink and drive after our friends wedding at Don the Beachcomber. So..there's your plus: you're stones throw from the beautiful beach and many strong drinks

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank juliciousone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    6
    3
    6
See reviews for
2
5
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
prospect ny
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

again, i stayed here, this year three nights. very quiet, (and i was in between two long term tennants) clean room, no problems, great price, right near lovely beach access at andersen street, great food choices, perfect blue skies, a nice person at fro nt desk (teresa). i will stay here again. and i should say that i've been at places three times more expensive with many problems that i've never had here... i love the 777...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank victorProspectNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

I am a younger guy. A younger guy who has lived in college houses with 5 guys at once. I can honestly say this was the most disgusting room I've ever seen, smelled, or slept in. I wouldn't even walk around without my shoes on. It smelled so bad (rotten smoke, carpet from the 60's, hooker sweat) that I never got used to it. I woke up and could still smell it. I mean....damn dude. This place was unbelievable nasty. I just shuddered thinking about the carpet. You might save a couple dollars, but you'll re-spend that on new clothes after you burn the ones you wore in this craphole.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ndizzle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Huntington Beach hotels

Coronado, Calif. USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

Been staying here for years. Nothing fancy, a bit older, but good basic accommodation for weekend digs right across PCH (Pacific Coast Highway) from Sunset Beach. (Think Motel 6 with salt spray.) TacoSurf restaurant is right across the street. Katin's surf shop, one of the last authentic surf shops in SoCal, is right next door. Daimon japanese restaurant right next door on the other side has great sushi. The best breakfast on the West Coast, Harbor House Cafe', is a short walk south on PCH and cross at the light, ( which is the normal route to the beach). Huge portions. And further south the bars and restaurants in Sunset are what I think of when I remember SoCal beach bars. Walk through the access ways behind Harbor House and your on a great beach. Think there's a kayak rental place on the harbor side of PCH to check out Huntington Harbor by paddle. Short drive or cab ride to Seal Beach. Careful exiting the parking lot, PCH can get pretty hairy during rush hour.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank echosierra2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prospect ny
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

i have stayed threr three times, over a 4 year period. i never had a problem. a business nearby,whom i contacted to get their opinion,said ridiculous things about 777. i stayed there anyways, i slept well, the place was clean, no noise,great views of the ocean and wetlands from top floor, it had a elevator, and it had a cool look to the place. it's getting on in years, but you can tell that it was beautiful when new. it has elaborate art-deco style designs about. and,i know it sounds strange, but the bathrooms are elegantly cool... even the stairs and landings had a neat elegant design,which you don't see in these new style motels. anyways, it's location is perfect, an easy walk to beautiful and uncrowded sunset beach,where you can enjoy a perfect california day. also, thre's lot's of great places to eat-taco surf, harbor house,etc,etc... to sum up, i have nothing but pleasant memories of the 777

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank victorProspectNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington Beach
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Ocean Front
Travelodge Ocean Front
#9 of 21 in Huntington Beach
528 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Harbour Inn & Suites
Best Western Harbour Inn & Suite...
#7 of 21 in Huntington Beach
225 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Pacific Inn
The Pacific Inn
#1 of 3 in Seal Beach
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,266 reviews
7.0 mi away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#4 of 21 in Huntington Beach
271 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 55 in Long Beach
5,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 777 Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 777 Motor Inn

Property: 777 Motor Inn
Address: 16240 Pacific Coast Hwy, Huntington Beach, CA 92649-1809
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Huntington Beach
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
777 Motor Hotel Huntington Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing