We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come here for Great Indian Food!”
Review of Himalayan Grill

Himalayan Grill
Cuisines: Indian, Tibetan, Nepali
Restaurant details
Huntington Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Come here for Great Indian Food!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I tried Himalayan Grill with a Groupon. Normally, I have to drive to Little India in Artesia for good Indian food, and so this restaurant is a double winner in that it's close (from Huntington Beach) and serves great Indian food.

I ordered the Saag Paneer, Bengan Bharta,and Dal Makhani, which was a plentiful delicious dinner for two, all for just over $30.

They offer a take-out menu for those too tired to cook, but want to enjoy food in their own home or on a picnic.

I'll be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WFCoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    20
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
orange county, ca
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Our fav Indian restuarant!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We live nearby, and this is our regular go-to for Indian (especially since another HB Indian place closed a few months ago). Last week we got the last table at dinner (there's only about a dozen tables). I regularly get the Mango Chicken ($16) -- it's Tikka Masala with mango flavor and mango chunks. YUM! Even my husband, who generally doesn't like sweet, laps up the sauce. (note-- they call it a "chefs special" but it's always available). My hubby can't have gluten, so he sorely misses the naan ($3-4) and pakoras ($5), but Indian cuisine still gives him plenty to eat. His favorite on the menu here is the mulligatawny soup ($4.50). Last week I tried the onion bhaji ($5) for the first time-- it was good, but a little heavy on the added salt. Entrees are $13 & up and come with plain rice (unless it's a rice dish).

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank curlieque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange county, california
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“high hopes”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Small place with minimalist decor, friendly service. We only tried the Indian fare and were favorably impressed with the quality and flavor. Lamb vindaloo a knockout. Kudos for accommodating preferred degree of spiciness. Nice place to lunch after the farmers market on Saturday in the parking lot.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bernardoOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
“Love this place!”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I think we eat here once a week. Excellent food quality & friendly service! We love their vegetarian options. One of the only places in OC where you can find Tibetan food! We've catered from them too for party of 30 and it was fantastic!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnaDA12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Try this one...”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

If you are in Huntington Beach try this restaurant. We dined here on a Saturday night and it was full, but we were able to get a table quickly. Service was prompt and everything we ordered was hot and very tasty.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank gulffloater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Himalayan Grill also viewed

Huntington Beach, Orange County
Irvine, Orange County
 
Costa Mesa, Orange County
Cypress, Orange County
 
Santa Ana, Orange County
 

Been to Himalayan Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing