We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't find a more personal, skilled surf instructor then Ed at Surfriders Academy”
Review of Surfriders Academy

Surfriders Academy
Ranked #1 of 27 Tours in Huntington Beach
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the most fun surf lesson ever! We Specialize in first time beginners, Private surf lesson rate:$120 includes Surfboard, Wetsuit, and a 1.5 hour surf lesson,or group surf lesson rate: 2 or more persons $90 each includes Surfboards, Wetsuits and a 1.5 hour surf lesson. All surf lessons take place at the beach, NOT AT THE 5TH STREET SURF SHOP... Call us for our Locations... Text or email us today to book a surf lesson by appointment only. We would need your Height ,Weight, Gender for wetsuit size. Plus a credit card number to hold to book Reservations.
Reviewed September 2, 2014

We vacation at Huntington Beach every few years. Two years ago, our boys had a surf lesson with Ed from Surfriders Academy. He was awesome and they learned so much. So since we were going to be coming to HB again, my husband was sure to look Ed up again so we could schedule another lesson. Ed is a fantastic teacher! He is kind and patient and explains things in a way you can understand. He paints the goal and the big picture but pays attention to detail and personalizes the steps you need to take to get there. He goes out of his way to get you to the right beach based on your skill level and the surf and he even helped us park. You won't find a kinder man in this town. If you are looking for a good day on the waves and someone who will individualize your lesson and take time with you, this is the place to call!
We will definitely be back!!!

Thank BreGolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfridersAcademy, General Manager at Surfriders Academy, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2014

Thank you for the kind review, its a very rewarding job we have teaching surfing and speading the Aloha...Ed...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"seal beach"
in 19 reviews
"great instructor"
in 12 reviews
"surf lessons"
in 16 reviews
"awesome experience"
in 9 reviews
"riding waves"
in 8 reviews
"surfing experience"
in 9 reviews
"wet suits"
in 5 reviews
"within an hour"
in 2 reviews
"an absolute blast"
in 2 reviews
"highlight of our trip"
in 3 reviews
"awesome surf"
in 2 reviews
"lots of fun"
in 3 reviews
"marcus"
in 106 reviews
"safety"
in 25 reviews
"board"
in 45 reviews
"encouragement"
in 5 reviews
"session"
in 9 reviews
Filter

86 - 90 of 195 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2014

Our kids had the best time surfing this year again with surfriders academy !!!!!!
They are truly the best in the area.
Our surf instructor Ed is always so nice, patient and very gifted to teach children. In no time our kids were standing up on the boards and hitting the waves .
We like this school for the wonderful spirit ( helping kids in needs and teaching them how to surf) and for the very pro attitude they show.
They surf boards are really good and the beach where they leanr & surf very quiet and beautiful!
Give it a try you will never be dissapointed!

Thank westshoreBelleair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfridersAcademy, General Manager at Surfriders Academy, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2014

This surf lesson was fun for the kids! thank you for coming out to us we really enjoyed teaching the kids to surf always a pleasure...Aloha Ed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2014

We (father and 18 year old daughter) had a surf lesson with Ed in July. We had a great lesson and learned a huge amount. The teaching was tailored to our experience levels and Ed was great fun, knowledgeable and very patient. He was really motivational and gave us both great tips and advice. My daughter has had several surf lessons both in the UK and the USA and she felt this was the best lesson she has had as Ed taught her about wave formation and how to read the waves as well as how to surf them. We both caught plenty of waves and had a fun time. We would highly recommend Ed and Surfriders Academy and will definitely be back again.

Thank Jules88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfridersAcademy, General Manager at Surfriders Academy, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Hello Jules, we love our job! so teaching surfing to everyone of all ages is fun for us, even with the youth more so, they have so much energy, your daughter did so well I was proud of her, now she is ready for Waikiki. Hope you have a great summer! Ed M. The surfing Professor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2014

My wife and I went out with Eric at Sunset Beach. He was very patient and safety conscious. With his great instructions in and out of the water, we were able to stand up on our boards fairly quickly. My wife had a great time and would highly recommend Surfriders Academy and Eric.

Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfridersAcademy, Manager at Surfriders Academy, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Hey there :) WE our so stoked you and wife had a good time surfing! Our aim is to always make it the Best for everyone, even if a person catches a few waves, but both of you did more that that! Always Aloha Eric G.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Our instructor Ed was a really nice and funny guy who was also a great teacher. I never thought surfing would be so fun.

Thank Liam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfridersAcademy, General Manager at Surfriders Academy, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Aloha Liam, Glad your were having fun surfing with us, We love our job and want to share it with everyone! Hope to see you all next summer here in Surf City :) Ed M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surfriders Academy also viewed

Huntington Beach, Orange County
Huntington Beach, Orange County
 
Huntington Beach, Orange County
Huntington Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Surfriders Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;