We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surf lessons”
Review of Surfriders Academy

Surfriders Academy
Ranked #1 of 27 Tours in Huntington Beach
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the most fun surf lesson ever! We Specialize in first time beginners, Private surf lesson rate:$120 includes Surfboard, Wetsuit, and a 1.5 hour surf lesson,or group surf lesson rate: 2 or more persons $90 each includes Surfboards, Wetsuits and a 1.5 hour surf lesson. All surf lessons take place at the beach, NOT AT THE 5TH STREET SURF SHOP... Call us for our Locations... Text or email us today to book a surf lesson by appointment only. We would need your Height ,Weight, Gender for wetsuit size. Plus a credit card number to hold to book Reservations.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had surfing lessons on Oct 20th with Surfriders Academy. Ed was our instructor and met us at Seal Beach. He called before our lesson to give directions and get our sizes for wetsuits. We had no problem finding the location and started our lesson on the grassy area and then the sand. Ed took the kids out first, so I could get some pictures. We had a great day at the beach and enjoyed learning how to surf. I will definitely be back to Huntington Beach and look forward to surfing with Ed and Surfriders again.

1  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfridersAcademy, Owner at Surfriders Academy, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Mahalo for the nice review, Ed is one of our BEST surfing instructor, he is great with kids & adults to teach them The Hawaiian Art of Surfing! Aloha Marcus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"seal beach"
in 19 reviews
"great instructor"
in 12 reviews
"surf lessons"
in 16 reviews
"awesome experience"
in 9 reviews
"riding waves"
in 8 reviews
"surfing experience"
in 9 reviews
"wet suits"
in 5 reviews
"within an hour"
in 2 reviews
"highlight of our trip"
in 3 reviews
"an absolute blast"
in 2 reviews
"awesome surf"
in 2 reviews
"marcus"
in 105 reviews
"safety"
in 25 reviews
"board"
in 45 reviews
"encouragement"
in 5 reviews
"session"
in 9 reviews
"end"
in 26 reviews
Filter

167 - 171 of 193 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

We live in Arizona so getting to the beach is not always easy. We spent the weekend in Huntington Beach. Our 15 year old daughter really wanted to take a surf lesson, and we found Surfiders Academy on Trip Advisor. Marcus really lives up to his great ratings. He is very patient, and gives great instruction. He really made our daughter feel comfortable and proud of her efforts. Marcus provides the surf board and wet suit, great location to match your surfer's abilities. Our daughter would like to come back and take more lessons from Marcus. Really a good day and lots of fun. Thanks Marcus!

1  Thank ILuvHawaiiclh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfridersAcademy, Owner at Surfriders Academy, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

So much Aloha comes our way ! Thank you very much for the review, it was fun teaching your daughter how to surf, she is fast leaner, and I can tell she loves the ocean :) Mahalo Marcus "The Surf Coach"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Had a lesson with Ed Morgan. Met at Seal Beach. I've probably had ten surf lessons over the last ten years, so this was a refresher and also wanted to ask for local advice regarding where to hire a surfboard and good places to surf locally based on my ability for the rest of my vacation.

Ed was great, adapting his teaching to my ability, I got a lot out of the lesson, especially tips on what to do when I am surfing alone and don't have an instructor giving a helpful push down the waves. This was invaluable in the following week when I had some great surfing.

Ed also shared info regarding some local stores where I could hire/buy a used surfboard. Again, very useful advice.

Thanks Ed!

1  Thank YellowDubDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfridersAcademy, Owner at Surfriders Academy, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Ed is one of my Best Surfing instructors, thank you for the positive comments on Surfriders Academy...Aloha Marcus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Excellent lesson with Ed, he is a great instructor. My son and I were both surfing by the end of the lesson!

Ed pointed out subtle changes that make a huge improvement on surfing, which paid off by us riding a lot of waves to the shore. Being from out of town, the convenience factor of having the boards and wetsuits delivered was also very important. This was money well spent, and we hope to do it again. Ed, we will try to get out again this week with you if time permits. If not, hope to see you in the future!

Carl and Nathan

Thank Caaaaaaaarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfridersAcademy, Owner at Surfriders Academy, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Always to be of service and help in the sport of surfing, Big thank you for coming on down and joining us in a time of Surfing !!!! Aloha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We took our team of six out with Surfriders for lessons yesterday. Marcus and Ed were perfect - great attitude, instructions, attention to each participant, etc. Thanks for the grea time.

Thank chrisandconnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfridersAcademy, Owner at Surfriders Academy, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Hey Chris, Mahalo for choosing us for surfing lessons, Yea it was a great time in the ocean teaching everyone surfing ! Glad it was all good !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surfriders Academy also viewed

Huntington Beach, Orange County
Huntington Beach, Orange County
 
Huntington Beach, Orange County
Huntington Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Surfriders Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing