We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as they think they are”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Shorebreak Hotel 2 days after they opened (5/14). I was able to get a very good rate since it was opening week "special". Paid $149 for an oceanfront, king room. We arrived at check-in time (3pm) but found that our room was not ready. We were told it would be approximately 15 to 20 minutes. No problem-we decided to have them hold our bags while we walked a block to the bars. We walked around a bit and had a drink at an Irish Pub and came back to the hotel about 45 minutes later. Still our room wasn't ready. Now, I was starting to get upset. We had been riding on the motorcycle all day and were ready to get to our room and get changed, etc. We waited in the lobby and they kept assuring us it would be ready at any time now.... there was also another man in the lobby waiting on his room. Not sure how long he was waiting, but I could tell he was getting a bit agitated. We FINALLY got our room at 5pm- 2 hours after check-in time!!! The room was not huge, but nice. The view was outstanding! From the balcony, we looked right out to the beach and the pier. The balcony is very small- not even big enough to put a chair out there- standing room only. If you're booking a waterfront room to be able to sit out on the balcony-forget it. The bed was amazingly comfortable!! The bathroom was very cool with a half-wall shower and a separate tub. The tub was huge and super deep. A bit on the dark side as far as lighting in the bathroom, but nice overall. Our shower went cold on us half way through and we didn't get hot water back for some time..
The location of this hotel really can't be beat. The beach is directly across the street and it is in walking distance (1 block) to all the restaurants and bars and shops.
This hotel definitely caters to pets- every time we turned around there was a dog in the hotel. Makes me wonder what the rooms will be like in a year from now... their hotel info book in the room says you can get a "pet butler" for a cost. The pet butler will walk your dog or dog sit while you go out. They also have "beach butlers" that can cater your every whim for a day at the beach. This hotel is obviously trying to be super hip and cool, but it is not as good as they think it is. It was worth the rate we paid, but I already see they are charging in the mid-$200's a night. Not worth that for sure!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rackm4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcoperry, General Manager at Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2009

Dear rackm4me,

On behalf of all of us at the Shorebreak Hotel, I want to thank you for taking the time to give us your candid feedback. I wanted to follow up with you personally, as you are a most valued client and I appreciate receiving your feedback.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you experienced with the check-in process. I can appreciate that this was a serious disruption during your stay. As with many hotel openings, we have had a few kinks that needed to be ironed out and are confident in our ability to get them fixed immediately.

At Joie de Vivre Hospitality we pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality experiences and superior service. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we can improve. It is important to us that we take the feedback given to us by our guests as a tool to improve so that we continue to exceed your expectations.

Please feel free to call me directly at 714-965-4420 if I can ever be of assistance.

Kind regards,
Marco Perry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,138)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,068 - 1,074 of 1,138 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2009

We stayed one night at the Shorebreak Hotel in May 2009. We were excited about the hotel because it is brand new and expected to get an ocean front (view) room. When we arrived, they had our check in date incorrect. Therefore, we were given a non view room (it over looked the roof with heater/air conditioning vents). Not the best view I have ever had. The night before we stayed at The Surf & Sand in Laguna Beach and this hotel certainly didn't compare!

We did tell the rep that checked us in that the room wasn't in the best location and the view was terrible. She apologized but didn't offer to move us to another room.

The bed was very comfortable, plush and soft. The TV was great, and the bathroom was cute. Nice shower, but didn't have a bathtub.

The location of the hotel was perfect; just across the street from the pier. The other disappointment was that they didn't have a pool or hot tub.

Huntington Beach was having the annual Duck-A-Thon that raised money for a local health clinic. We bought a birthday duck but didn't get to stay for the dropping of the ducks. A great time to visit, not very crowded but and the weather was a little overcast.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovinalmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcoperry, General Manager at Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2009

Dear lovinalmond,

On behalf of all of us at Shorebreak Hotel, I want to thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I wanted to follow up with you personally, as you are a most valued client and I appreciate receiving your feedback.

First of all, I would like to apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced with the check-in process. Please accept my sincere apologies as we are just working through some kinks as a brand new hotel. We have immediately implemented methods to ensure that there are no further instances of arrival date errors on our part.

At Joie de Vivre Hospitality we pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality experiences and superior service. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we can improve. It is important to us that we take the feedback given to us by our guests as a tool to improve so that we continue to exceed your expectations.

Kind Regards,
Marco Perry
General Manager
(714) 965-4420

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2009

I recently stayed at the Shorebreak The staff definitely tries to be helpfull and everyone is friendly. The location is is walking distance to bars and shops on main street which is a plus. Its directly across from the beach and is above retail stores. We had an oceanfront room however the noise from the PCH outside is really LOUD. The crowd in this area is young and somewhat of a spring break crowd. I would say the average age was 25. The restaurant is ok...the food is ok nothing spectacualr for the $25+ price tag per entree. Overall, if you are looking for a hotel close to the beach this ideal. However, the hotel lacks a spa, pool and jacuzzi which I believe would really make it a gem. Would I return probably not as I prefer more of an upscale area.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summertraveler2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcoperry, General Manager at Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2009

On behalf of all of us at Shorebreak Hotel, I want to thank you for taking the time to complete your review on Trip Advisor. I wanted to follow up with you personally, as you are a most valued client and I appreciated receiving your feedback.

Thank you very much for your positive comments about the hotel. I will share your kind words with the entire team at Shorebreak Hotel. At Joie de Vivre Hospitality, we pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality experiences and superior service.

We all hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: choisir de préférence des chambres face à l'océan
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vlalanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen B, Manager at Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen B, Manager at Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
Thank pierre8453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen B, Manager at Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: kamer met zicht op het strand
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gilberte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen B, Manager at Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington Beach
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,525 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#4 of 21 in Huntington Beach
328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Huntington Beach Inn
Huntington Beach Inn
#14 of 21 in Huntington Beach
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Surf City
Best Western Surf City
#6 of 21 in Huntington Beach
576 reviews
7.8 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,018 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel

Address: 500 Pacific Coast Highway, 5th & PCH, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-5032 (Formerly Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range: $230 - $495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate Southern California beach experience with a contemporary twist. Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel combines the relaxed, sun-drenched spirit of the Orange County coastline with edgy modern accents. The only hotel located near the iconic intersection of Main Street and Pacific Coast Highway, Shorebreak situates you at the center of eclectic shopping, dining, and entertainment...all within earshot of crashing ocean waves. A singular boutique hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shorebreak Hotel Huntington Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing