We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you have a furry friend you must stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Certificate of Excellence
michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“if you have a furry friend you must stay here”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

As always we enjoyed our stay here they treat us and our beautiful grandpuppy so well. The staff always has wonderful treats for your furry family.. The restaurant always welcomes your pets on the patio and they have a great happy hour.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michiganhappycamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen B, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear michiganhappycamper,
Thank you for the great comments. We definitely are big fans of the furry members of the family. We like to boast that we are one of the most pet friendly hotels in the area. No fees, no restriction, all we want is for you and your pet to have a great time while with us. We hope to see you and your furry pal back to stay with us next time you are in the area.

Helen Berkley
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    297
    64
    34
    18
See reviews for
297
412
53
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westlake Village, California
2 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Really loved staying at this hotel. It is in a great location, it is stylish, modern and fresh and the staff are friendly and efficient yet relaxed. It was fun to be able to take our dog Mr. T. Wrecks as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmf2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen B, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear lmf2014,
Happy to hear that you loved your stay with us and that you brought Mr. T. Wrecks with you, we definitely love our furry friends here. Hope that next time you need some relaxation you think of us.

Helen Berkley
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
138 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Spent one night in Huntington Beach. The hotel is in a great location on the beach (well with PCH in between). The staff was great, the room was clean and fairly quiet except for the drunks who walked our hallway. Valet is a bit steep if you ask me and if you have an electric car they do not have plug in capabilities. The gym is fairly basic but there is enough to get a good work out. The hotel can provide beach towels, bikes, etc. Wifi is $13 a day, again, just include in the room price. Had a great meal at the restaurant of the hotel and Reese our waiter had a great energy and recommended a good bottle of red. Breakfast was equally good and the staff was great. If you have to stay in Huntington I would def recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonathanDucrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike R, Guest Relations Manager at Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear onestopnyc,

Thank you so much for your kind review! I'm really happy that you enjoyed alot of Huntington Beach. I would like to appologize for your disturbance that you had while you were staying with us. Comfort and safety are both of our top priorities here at Shorebreak. Our front desk staff is extremely skilled at handling such situations, and would be more than happy to assist you. Please send me an E-mail the next time you're around! I'd love to hear from you.

Thank you!
Mike Ransom
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my mom while she was in town I am embarrassed to say I suggested this hotel to her cause it was such a small room I thought it was a joke then being put next to the elevator made it even worse. Let's not forget the 30.00 a day parking fee they tell you about later. Let's not forget the drunks that you meet every morning that can't remember where they are either this place was defiantly not middle age friendly rude staff all they want is your money 25 dollars more to not be in the Xtra small room that looks nothing !!! Like the pictures at all by the elevator the only nice thing was the bathroom I will not suggest this place again overrated to say the least.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike R, Guest Relations Manager at Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Debbie W.

I’m saddened to see that you had such a difficult experience here at Shorebreak. The parking is hosted by the city of Huntington Beach and it is a negotiated rate with hotel guests. I understand that this last visit was very trying for you. Loyalty to the brand is a huge deal for us. If you would give us the opportunity to try us out again, I’d love to recreate your experience. Please E-mail me at mransom@communehotels.com so we can discuss your previous stay as well as plan a great one in the future.

Thank you,
Mike Ransom
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I pulled up to the hotel at 11pm and had no idea where I was and circled the block a couple of times looking for valet. I called the front desk and was put on hold twice while he tried to radio the valet. Finally some guy runs up to my car and I have no idea who it was so I didn't exactly want to open up the door for him, especially since I was on the phone and it was dark outside. I opened the door and asked, "Are you valet?" and the young man responded in a valley girl accent "yeah, I'm valet". I think he was making fun of me and he didn't seem too pleased to be working at that hour. I had a ton of bags and he didn't offer to help with any of them or welcome me to the hotel or direct me to the lobby. I was quite stressful and not a very friendly or welcoming experience. I will definitely not be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank percysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike R, Guest Relations Manager at Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear percysmom,

First and foremost, I want to apologize for the issues that you had with valet. Secondly, I'd like to thank you for bringing these issues to light. I will be speaking with our valet manager to ensure this experience will not happen again.

I understand that this was a trying and stressful time for you and by no means should you have experienced such treatment. If you are wiling, we'd love re-create your experience. Please give me an E-mail at mransom@communehotels.com. I would love to hear any further details regarding your experience.

Thank you,
Mike Ransom
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We loved the cleanliness of the hotel and the modern, fun decorations and artwork. The bathroom was so spacious with a double-headed shower and a huge soaking tub. The location was perfect to stroll at the local shops and so close to the beach, too. The staff was friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike and Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen B, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Michael C

Thanks for the great comments, I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our bathrooms are a great, almost double in size them most hotel bathrooms and the huge soaking tub is an added bonus. Our location is one of our top attractions, who can beat being able to walk to a multitude of restaurants and have the beach only steps away. I hope next time you are in the OC you think to stay with us again.

Helen Berkley
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Perfect location, you're in the heart of HB, comfy beds, spacious rooms, stylish lobby and rooms, AMAZING BATHROOM, great staff and very fun bar with balcony overlooking 5th St. So glad I picked this hotel. My coworkers stayed at the Hyatt and while the grounds are gorgeous there, you have to hike to your room and you're so far from everything. I loved my stay at The Shorebreak!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike R, Guest Relations Manager at Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear jtwig,

Thank you so much for your awesome review! I believe our location is the best in Huntington Beach for an all inclusive dining and shopping experience. I'm also very glad that you loved the bathroom! Did your room have one of our deep soaking tubs? If not, I highly recommend asking our Front Desk staff about them upon your next stay. Looking forward to seeing you again!

Mike Ransom
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntington Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,266 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#4 of 21 in Huntington Beach
271 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Surf City
Best Western Surf City
#6 of 21 in Huntington Beach
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Huntington Beach Inn
Huntington Beach Inn
#13 of 21 in Huntington Beach
273 reviews
5.1 mi away
Travelodge Ocean Front
Travelodge Ocean Front
#9 of 21 in Huntington Beach
528 reviews
4.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Huntington Beach
Comfort Suites Huntington Beach
#11 of 21 in Huntington Beach
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel

Property: Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel
Address: 500 Pacific Coast Highway, 5th & PCH, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-5032 (Formerly Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate Southern California beach experience with a contemporary twist. Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel combines the relaxed, sun-drenched spirit of the Orange County coastline with edgy modern accents. The only hotel located near the iconic intersection of Main Street and Pacific Coast Highway, Shorebreak situates you at the center of eclectic shopping, dining, and entertainment...all within earshot of crashing ocean waves. A singular boutique hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shorebreak Hotel Huntington Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing