We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beach Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A very nice and cute hotel with a beach vibe. It is right downtown, 1 block from main on PCH - and there is no other hotel that is this close to all. It has some unique touches throughout, and the rooms are very nice. I had an oceanfront suite with 2 queens. The beds seemed smaller than queens, but were comfortable with nice linens. The bathroom is large with very nice amenities like a huge tub and dual faucet shower. The room was very clean, though small. There is a fridge and nice large flat screen tv's.
Check in was wonderful, the hotel staff is very personable and helpful - one of the nicest things about this place. They offer valet parking, and you can check in your car as early as you like, as well as depart as late as you like in case you want to enjoy the beach etc before getting your room. The restaurant is very nice, the servers are warm and kind, and it is run very well.
This is also a pet hotel. Any dog, breed, size - and there are a lot of guests with dogs. I did not hear any barking, nor were there any issues with it being a pet hotel. They have a dog walk for potty time, or you can go downstairs to some grassy areas on the residential streets. There is also a nice dog beach less than a mile away.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank destinationaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfrechette42, Manager at Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear destinationaddict,

Just wanted to take a few moments and say thank you for posting a review of your stay with us here at Shorebreak. It is nice to know that local Californians like our place too. We appreciate all the positive comments and especially that you took the time to mention that we are a "dog friendly" hotel. It is so important that not only humans have a good stay here, but their furry friends as well. Hope to see you again really soon.

Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

726 - 732 of 1,174 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is in a wonderful location and super friendly for families, surfers and pets. We are a family of three and had the Junior Suite, it was a perfect size for us. The front desk was very nice and the evening wine tasting was a bonus. The beds were comfortable, the bathrooms huge and location was perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnaLEnaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfrechette42, Manager at Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear EnaLEnaL,

Thank you so much for posting a review of your stay here at Shorebreak. It was an absolute pleasure serving you and your children. It's funny because I hosted our wine hour last night and several guests said the same thing as you about it. Guest LOVE our wine hour. Take care!

Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stayed here on business 4/1-3/13 and had a good experience. The room and hotel are clean and have been tastefully decorated in a modern style. The location is great for surfing since it is literally across the street from the pier where the surf competitions are held (so I was told; I saw many people there surfing) and restaurants and shopping are next door. I thought the staff was helpful and people in my group enjoyed the free happy hour from 5:30-6 pm (2 glasses of wine per person).

The only negatives I experienced were that the restaurant was expensive ($15-21 + tip for a basic dish and a glass of milk) and so was parking ($27/ day for valet; but parking is in short supply in the area). I ordered a glass of milk ($4) and a two cheese omelet one morning at the restaurant and should have realized something was up when potatoes were also included on my plate. When the bill came it was $21 and then the waitress told me they don't have a cheese omelet on the menu so she charged me for the closest thing. That and asking three times for some ketchup only to have it arrive for my last two bites make me say look elsewhere for food.

Room Tip: I had a room facing the inner court yard which has fire pits and was fine, but facing the ocean woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theokengineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfrechette42, Manager at Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear theokengineer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We really appreciate comments good or bad, so we have the opportunity to fix them. I am so sorry about the price for parking. As mentioned in past reviews, this is something we cannot dictate because of the city. We do not own our garage, the city runs it. Even if our employees park in the garage, they have to pay.

You can be sure, we will do some training the the morning breakfast staff regarding the service. As for the pricing, we really try to keep our prices in line with the other hotel restaurants in the area. I sure hope that helps you understand a little bit of where our prices come from.

You appreciate the feedback and hope we get a chance in the near future to show you how great our service can be in the restaurant.

Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Our last stay was terrible. The hotel charged us $250.00 for smoke when no one smoked. I would get the assistant manager to help with the fee. Asked for the manager above him but got hung-up on. Terrible experience!!! probably won't stay there again. The room was very small no view.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Philip_Chang_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfrechette42, Manager at Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Philip_Chang_13,

Mr. Chang I am so sorry that you had a challenging experience with us here at Shorebreak. I am typically the one who gets all calls that need to go to a manager and I honestly did not have a message from the front desk or a voicemail from you regarding your incident. It is a priority here to take care of our guests and to ensure everyone has a great stay. As for the smoking fee, we only charge guests who have sufficient evidence of smoking in the room or on the balconies such as cigarette butts or a strong smell. We do not even allow smoking outside in our public areas, so other guests are not disturbed. If you feel strongly at the fact that you did not smoke in the room, please reach out to me via phone and I would be happy to look further into this incident. Please accept my humble apology and hopefully we can speak soon.

Paul J. Frechette
Asisstant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The Shorebreak Hotel is bright, clean, and airy. This aesthetic extends from the lobby to the rooms. We stayed in a courtyard-facing room on the top floor. It was very quiet. We loved being able to open our room's sliding glass door and get a cool breeze.

The location is perfect - very close to all of the shops, restaurants, the pier, and the beach.

One tip, you can save some money by parking on neighborhood streets as opposed to using hte hotel's valet paring.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 7HeatherS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfrechette42, Manager at Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear 7HeatherS,

Just wanted to send a quick note and say thank you for spending some time at Shorebreak. I can understand wanting to come out from the east coast to Huntington Beach in the Spring. My extended family is from Salem MA. Just like you coming out in the spring, I love to visit New Englad in the fall, it's so beautiful.

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us and we sure hope to see you again next spring.

Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Excellent vibe at this hotel with beautiful landscaping, including sliding doors that lead out to the outdoor garden/sitting area. The staff is attentive and the gym is above average with several different machines and even kettle balls and yoga mats. The hotel features happy hour with complimentary wine, and it's dog friendly hotel. All of that topped with a desirable location and just steps from the beach (and Sancho's Tacos) makes for a great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eMiLy025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfrechette42, Manager at Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear eMiLy025,

Sancho's Tacos is one of my favorite lunch spots located right behind the hotel. Thank you for making the trip down from Texas. We really appreciate the kind comments, even about the fitness center. Tell everyone back in Texas about what a great experience you had in Huntington Beach. Much gratitude from all of the staff here at Shorebreak.

Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel has an excellent location across the street from Huntington Beach Pier. There are a lot of stores for shopping and restaurants in a very close vicinity. The room was very clean and spacious. I want a big shower like that in my house! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cryd827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfrechette42, Manager at Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear cryd827,

Deepest thanks in regards to your review. I too love our big showers. It can get a little cold though with all the space and no doors. We really appreciate the wonderful comments and I am going to hold you to coming back again J/K. Thanks again for staying at Shorebreak, please come visit us again really soon.

Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington Beach
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,677 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#5 of 21 in Huntington Beach
358 reviews
5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Huntington Beach Orange County
SpringHill Suites Huntington Bea...
#9 of 21 in Huntington Beach
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Surf City
Best Western Surf City
#6 of 21 in Huntington Beach
603 reviews
0.2 mi away
Huntington Beach Inn
Huntington Beach Inn
#15 of 21 in Huntington Beach
282 reviews
15.8 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#5 of 23 in Laguna Beach
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel

Address: 500 Pacific Coast Highway, 5th & PCH, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-5032 (Formerly Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range: $235 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate Southern California beach experience with a contemporary twist. Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel combines the relaxed, sun-drenched spirit of the Orange County coastline with edgy modern accents. The only hotel located near the iconic intersection of Main Street and Pacific Coast Highway, Shorebreak situates you at the center of eclectic shopping, dining, and entertainment...all within earshot of crashing ocean waves. A singular boutique hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shorebreak Hotel Huntington Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing