We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Shorebreak Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Fountain Valley, California
1 review
“Shorebreak Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

I love love love this hotel! The staff is so amazing. I upgraded from a standard room to a suite for just $15! BTW the suite has a huggggeee tub and a double head shower (AMAZING!) It was absolutely worth it! This hotel is steps away from the beach, amazing restaurants, and downtown hb. I celebrated my 22nd birthday and had a few friends in our room with no complaints! The staff, from the front desk to valet to management, was amazing. Hand down would stay here over and over again. Thank you Shorebreak Hotel for an amazing experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfrechette42, Manager at Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Gloria K,

Happy Birthday from all of us here at the Shorebreak. Turning 22 can be a lack luster B-day, especially after your 21st, but in this case it sounds like you had a blast. It is an honor to be a part of that. We are all about celebrating here at Shorebreak and encourage people to have social gatherings as long as it does not disturb other guests. In your case, you were fine. It is nice to know the staff treated you well. Inoticed you are from Fountain Valley. It is so important to us to show how much we appreciate the support of people who live locally. Thank you so much for your kind words. Have a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    281
    61
    31
    16
See reviews for
275
391
49
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toukley, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

This was the best hotel i have stayed at by far. Its in a really great location and one street away from main street. Loved the rooms they were very clean and nicely detailed to suit the theme, felt very relaxed and cosy. The bathroom is nicer than my one at home and very spacious. The staff were very friendly and helpfull, made friends with them after sitting at the bar drinking for 5 hrs one afternoon and they recommended places to eat in the area, what they like on their menu and much more. Ate dinner at Zimzala restaurant it was really nice and the atmosphere was happy! Love the wine tasting in the lobby and the fact that it is a pet friendly hotel and area with dog treats at the front desk and a 'Yappy hour' for dogs on the patio. The hotel does deals with the taxi company to get to disneyland and back for cheaper than a meter which the front desk organises. Would not stay anywhere else if i was in the area. absolutly loved this hotel and everything about it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lozzzy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfrechette42, Manager at Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Lozzzy89,

The best hotel you have ever stayed at?? What a compliment! Believe me when I say that when we read your review, everyone here was doing a "happy dance". The biggest thrill we get as hotel employees is when some says something like this about the place you work at. Our room and restaurant employees work so hard everyday and it all pays off when someone like you has such unbelievable comments about your experience here. Thank you so much from the entire family here at Shorebreak and I hope to see some more of your fellow Australians soon.

Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

The Shorebreak is a cute hotel right near the beach, very centrally located in Huntington Beach. We stayed for 5 nights in late October.

The highlights - wonderful themed rooms. Each has a little picture on the door with a character and some sand - hard to describe but very charming. Inside your room, there are little touches such as photos and lamps that confirm you are truly beachside. The rooms are spacious and quiet. The bed was very comfortable (we had a queen size, I believe). The shower is modern and has lots of space for you to dry out your beach wear. The staff were very friendly and helpful and I loved that the hotel was pet friendly. We didn't travel with pets but enjoyed meeting some dogs in the lobby. The interior, outdoor courtyard was perfect for relaxing in the sun or snuggling up to a fire pit at night. The daily lobby wine tastings were lovely and the surfing video and condition reports really added to the whole experience. The location was also fantastic - walking distance to all the Huntington Beach highlights and an easy drive down the coast.

The lowlights - none. We never wanted to leave and would gladly stay again. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mollee22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfrechette42, Manager at Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear mollee22,

What a wonderfully detailed account of your experience with us over you 5 days here. I love how you mentioned all the little details we work on a daily basis to enhance our guest's experiences. You know, we are a hotel and you never technically have to leave. just extend your stay next time for a little longer.

It was a honor to serve you and we really appreciate all the wonderful comment you made about things like us being dog friendly, the pictures on the doors, wine hour (my favorite) and the beds.

We hope to see you again soon and you and your family have a wonderful holiday.

Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Truly loved this hotel from the moment we walked in. Front desk staff was very welcoming and accommodating. Room was beautiful and clean. Bathrooms are amazing. Bed was comfortable. Best night's sleep I've had in months. I really appreciate their attention to detail when it comes to design and comfort.

The hotel is more than just dog friendly. They are dog lovers, obvious by the welcome dog treat at check in to the doggy menu at the restaurant (outside patio section) to the bean bag dog-bed sized cushions in the rooms to the respectful way the staff addresses the dogs themselves.

The location is absolutely ideal with easy access to the beach, boardwalk, shops, restaurants, etc. There are so many options that you never feel like you're stuck in a tourist trap. In fact, you feel like you are a guest in a warm community of locals that are sharing their haunts and other treasures of their town.

The hotel met and then exceeded our expectations and I am happy to write this review in thanks. We stayed at the hotel on Thanksgiving, for one night, but are planning on returning with the rest of our family soon. Can’t wait!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VacayZuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfrechette42, Manager at Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear VacayZuka ,

If I was to write a marketing description about how we want every guest to feel when they stay at Shorebreak, I would use the exact words used in your review of our hotel. I huge thank you for the wonderful review you posted. We appreciate all the comments, but most importantly the ones about the people who work here. They all work so hard at making people feel at home, especially during the holidays. Can't wait to see you with your family next time you come. Happy Thanksgiving!

Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
216 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Especially if you like Huntington Beach!
Right there by the pier, awesome rooms, great looking, and so much more!
But the great part is that they treat you so good! Not just a customer filling a room!
They care about you and their hotel! It's more than the Motel 6, BUT do you want class or mess?
This place is sweet! Just look at the pics and then it's even better in person! Waking up and looking out at the ocean and pier! AWESOME!
Don't hesitate to go here!

Room Tip: Ocean side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hbsurfer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfrechette42, Manager at Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear hbsurfer1,

Your screen name is probably the best of all time. Go HB! Thanks for the kind comments about the hotel. Obviously your a local and it is so important to our success that the community supports us. Much appreciated my friend.

Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

I thought the boutique hotel was adorable and appreciated edgy decor with great location close to HB pier. Loved they are pet friendly. Staff very caring about our 11pm check-in after all day event. However.... we were put in a room where the elevator kept clanking all night with every entry or exit. My BF got no sleep and said would not spend another night in the hotel. To be fair after complaining to staff was compensated $50.00 for trouble and not charged the additional night for cancelling after offering to switch rooms. Very fair. Stay here... just get a quiet room away from the elevator!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfrechette42, Manager at Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Julie W,

Much gratitude for submitting a review of your experience here at Shorebreak. I was so happy to hear that you guys had a great time with the exception of the elevator noise. Our Engineering team did have a third party come out to take a look at the elevators because of this review. It seems all has been taken care of. I am glad the front desk was able to compensate you for your troubles. Please accept my sincere apology and we sure hope to see you again in the near future.

Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We were able to find a great deal on Kayak and after reading all the reviews for The Shorebreak we booked a room for one night~So happy we did! We took the advise of another traveler and joined The Joy of Life Club. Upon arrival, we were informed that they had upgraded our room and offered us free Internet... We loved everything about the hotel and can't wait to return! Zimzala Restaurant was fabulous and their Pork Chop is the best we've ever had... This a must if you are in Huntington. They even have a Doggie menu! Thank you to all the staff at the hotel~you are all top notch!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kunk5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfrechette42, Manager at Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear kunk5,

It is very obvious that you did your homework before you came to Huntington Beach. Kayak, Joy of Life Club, etc. Next time I would suggest booking direct because we have a best rate match guarantee. Isn't the port chop amazing? I typically do not eat pork, but I always make an exception for the Zimzala pork chop.

Thank you so much for staying with us and posting about your experience. Hope to see you again here at Shorebreak.

Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington Beach
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 20 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,872 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#5 of 20 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Surf City
BEST WESTERN Surf City
#7 of 20 in Huntington Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Huntington Beach Inn
Huntington Beach Inn
#12 of 20 in Huntington Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
5.7 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
7.8 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel

Property: Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel
Address: 500 Pacific Coast Highway, 5th & PCH, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-5032 (Formerly Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate Southern California beach experience with a contemporary twist. Shorebreak Hotel combines the relaxed, sun-drenched spirit of the Orange County coastline with edgy modern accents. The only hotel located near the iconic intersection of Main Street and Pacific Coast Highway, Shorebreak situates you at the center of eclectic shopping, dining, and entertainment…all within earshot of crashing ocean waves. A singular boutique hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shorebreak Hotel Huntington Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing