We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location. Great Views. Great Staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I attended a convention in Anaheim but did not want to stay in Anaheim. I chose to stay at the Shorebreak., and what a great decision this was.
The Shorebreak is located on 6th & PCH, one street from the Huntington Beach Pier. The car valet is on 6th street, and that staff was very helpful explaining the car valet process, and unloading my car. A elevator takes you up to the second floor lobby. Check in was smooth and the staff, very young in age, was very friendly and helpful. I had an Oceanfront King Room, and it was well worth it. The room had a King bed, a large bathroom, chair, dresser with a small fridge, coffee pot, flat screen TV on the wall and a small balcony and THE VIEW!!!.
The hotel is located a short walking distance from many restaurants, shops, and drinking establishments. Because of this, I chose not to eat at Zimzala, the hotel restaurant, but it seemed to always have a good crowd in the bar and eating area. The pier is one street away. It was a great place to walk in the morning. People walking. fishing, relaxing and watching the numerous amount of surfers made my free time go by.
The cleaning staff was great, and kept the room spotless. I had to use the business center once, and when i needed assistance, the front counter staff was very helpful.
It was a 14 mile, 30 - 40 minute commute to the Anaheim Convention Center (across from Disneyland). Valet charge was $24 a day.
The Shorebreak is a great place to stay in Huntington Beach. If you can swing the extra cost for the Waterfront rooms, do it.

Room Tip: Look for the 30% off 24 hour sale on the Shorebreak website. Waterfront room views are unreal and wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChitownCountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfrechette42, Manager at Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear ChitownCountry,

So you decided to stay all the way out here, away from your conference in the Anaheim area? Thank you so much for choosing our hotel. I am sure you had plenty to pick from. We really try hard to impress each and every guest and it is so nice to know that our efforts did not go unseen. I will be sure to on your compliments of the staff. They eat this stuff up and appreciate it more than you know. Thanks for choosing us and hopefully next time you will come down on vacation and take advantage of the beach and all the festivities HB has to offer.

Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

789 - 795 of 1,183 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

Every room i have stayed in here was amazing, from amazing views to huge balconies. The service never fails, everyone is always awesome. Wine hour never hurts, love free wine. cant beat walking out the front door and hitting the beach. Love the shore break

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iloveadamfrankel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfrechette42, Manager at Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear adam f,

Yet 2 locals in 2 days posting a review of our hotel. I am so stoked that we have locals trying us out for a night out. Thank you so much for the great comments regarding the views, balconies, location and especially the staff. Do not be a stranger and amke sure to come by again soon, even if it is just a night out of dining at Zimzala.

Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Located on PCH, with amazing views of the Pacific ocean. I love the modern decor of the hotel and rooms, incorporating beach and surf elements. The hotel is walking distance to the Huntington Beach downtown area shops and restaurants. We had a suite with a balcony which was great to just sit and look out at the beach. Also, love Zimzala bar on the second floor. Great hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfrechette42, Manager at Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Carla C,

Nice to know we have locals who love our hotel too. Thanks for taking a short weekend getaway with us. We appreciate all the comments and recognition. be sure to check out the other hotels in the JDV Collection all over the US next time you travel.

Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

What a great location and hotel! Don't stay anywhere else! This is our 2nd visit and it was awesome! Close to the beach and so much more! I wish I was there now! enjoy your stay you wont be disappointed if you stay here..

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chad44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfrechette42, Manager at Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear chad44,

Just wanted to send out a quick thank you for choosing us again. We really appreciate the free PR and the advice to other people to only stay with us when visiting HB. Much gratitude for your kind words.

Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Myself, my partner & two friends stayed at the Shorebreak for ten nights in September to celebrate special birthdays and I can honestly say it was one of the best holidays ever! We arrived hot, bothered & stressed after driving from Las Vegas to Huntington Beach but were immediately made to feel at home by the staff and from that moment on nothing was two much trouble. We had great service from all staff everyone was so friendly and welcoming. The rooms were spotless, reception staff went above and beyond helpfullness even seeing us off on our last day! Overall this hotel is a real credit to your country and we can't wait to able to afford to return for a visit - thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfrechette42, Manager at Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear Kelael,

Happy Birthday to you! Thanks for staying with us over your birthday. If you stayed here in September, I am sure your drive from Vegas was a hot one, not to mention the traffic was probably bad too. Deepest thanks for posting about your experience here at the hotel. I will be sure to share your words with the staff. They love to get the chance to celebrate and you have now given them a reason to.

Take care,

Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This trendy, boutique hotel is perfectly located on Pacific Coast Highway, between 5th and 6th Streets, in Huntington Beach. We checked into a north facing suite, room 407. Room 407 has a small balcony that overlooks PCH and allows a nice view of the beach. The room was spacious, tastefully decorated and had two flat panel, wall mounted televisions. My room was quiet, clean and had a very comfortable king bed. The bathroom was large, with a sunken tub and a shower for two.

The hotel welcomes dogs, both large and small. The staff was very friendly and our large, well behaved dog was treated like "royalty". The staff was comfortable around our dog and most offered a treat, a warm hello, or a rub under his chin.

Be sure to try Zimzala, which has daily drink specials and a variety of tasty small plates. Dogs are welcome on the terrace and even have a menu of their own. A final note, the hotel does not have a swimming pool. Since the beach is across the street, you won't miss the pool. I came prepared with my own beach chair and towel. There is a dog-friendly beach located about a mile north of the hotel.

The Shorebreak Hotel is conveniently located near shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VanessaCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfrechette42, Manager at Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear VanessaCalifornia,

It is so nice to here that you and your furry family member had a great time with us. We love dogs! No really, we really love dogs here and it starts with our General Manager who brings his pup in from time to time. Thanks for mentioning the puppy menu in Zimzala and dog beach, which are two huge benefits to staying with us when bringing your dog.

Much gratitude from the staff and our doggies!

Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Lovely boutique hotel dedicated to the love of the Surf (it's Huntington Beach after all!) the staff are refreshingly young and friendly yet professional and very helpful. The bathroom is just fabulous with a shower for 2 and a generous bathtub size makes for the ideal romantic getaway. One thing to be aware of though, the food from the restaurant is not that great -pepper charred steak was good but the American breakfast and clam chowder had a very bitter char grilled after taste but you are surrounded by so many alternative eateries that it's not such a terrible pain.
Wish I was there for pleasure rather than business!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank Marina_JNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfrechette42, Manager at Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear Marina_JNB ,

Hope the weather is treating you well back in South Africa. Thank you for posting a review of your experience here at Shorebreak. I am so happy you were impressed with the staff and bathrooms. I always mention how great our staff is at making people feel at home.

We appreciate your feedback about the restaurant food, I have passes this onto the Executive Chef, so he may work on training his crew. Every piece of advice helps and we appreciate the honestly.

Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington Beach
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,718 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#4 of 21 in Huntington Beach
375 reviews
5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Huntington Beach Orange County
SpringHill Suites Huntington Bea...
#9 of 21 in Huntington Beach
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Surf City
Best Western Surf City
#6 of 21 in Huntington Beach
608 reviews
15.8 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#5 of 23 in Laguna Beach
507 reviews
0.2 mi away
Huntington Beach Inn
Huntington Beach Inn
#14 of 21 in Huntington Beach
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel

Address: 500 Pacific Coast Highway, 5th & PCH, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-5032 (Formerly Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range: $245 - $485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate Southern California beach experience with a contemporary twist. Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel combines the relaxed, sun-drenched spirit of the Orange County coastline with edgy modern accents. The only hotel located near the iconic intersection of Main Street and Pacific Coast Highway, Shorebreak situates you at the center of eclectic shopping, dining, and entertainment...all within earshot of crashing ocean waves. A singular boutique hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shorebreak Hotel Huntington Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing