We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want beach, food, fun, friendly staff and free wine at 5...stay here!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Want beach, food, fun, friendly staff and free wine at 5...stay here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Talk about across the street from a great, relaxed, amazing beach. This is a very laid back, nice, trendy surf hotel next to a ton of fun bars and great surf stores. Highly recommend if you want to get away from LA and enjoy a more laid back pace.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smkluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfrechette42, Manager at Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Scott K,

Thanks for the shout out to Shorebreak by posting such a nice review of the property. We really appreciate the fact that you chose us and sure hope to see you again at another one of our JDV Collection Properties.

Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    270
    58
    29
    15
See reviews for
261
373
49
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is a great hotel. It's about a nice as a 4 star can get.

Great location
Clean rooms
Well appointed rooms
Great restaurant, close to many more
Friendly staff
Well run - the attitude of the staff and managers showed through
Close to the beach

Would stay at again, no question

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mark987155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfrechette42, Manager at Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Mark987155019,

What a small world? I have a very close friend who lived in Dubai a few years back working logistics at the Asian Games. Just wanted to send a quick thank you for all the kinds words you gave the hotel and its staff. It is true that management preaches fun to the staff. If we are not having a good time at what we do than what are we here for? We really appreciate the post and hope you will recommend us to your friends and family for future stays.

Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

rooms was great, wel decorated and well kept. Spacious too! Hotel has a great kitchen, but there are lots of other places to eat & drink in the aera. Close to beach, great staff, we will definitely stay here again when in CA. Better: we look forward to staying in another JDV hotel. We LOVED it. Doesn't have a pool but beach is right across the street!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mvm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfrechette42, Manager at Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear mvm1,

How's the weather in Amsterdam this time of the year? Hope it is not as hot as it was when you were here.

Thank you so much for posting about your experience here at Shorebreak. I hope the rest of your extended vacation was just as good. In fact, I hope you decided to try another one of the JDV Collection Hotels. They all have their own flare. It was a pleasure to serve you.

Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We recently stayed at the Shorebreak in Huntington beach. We loved the modern, hip decor and friendly staff. EVERY staff member had full knowledge of the hotel and surrounding area. They recommended several activities for us to engage in. Our private bathroom was probably the coolest bathroom we have ever used. The location was near everything! They offered towels for free to use at the beach. Great place to bring your dog (really wish we had ours with us!) as they had "yappy hour" and treats at the front desk. Speaking of treats at the front desk, they had awesome taffy at the front desk for humans that we grabbed each time we walked by! Would definitely stay there again and looking into their other hotels in other cities.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank khobama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfrechette42, Manager at Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear khobama,

So your the one stealing our taffy! Just playing. I also love how you mentioned that they were for "humans" because we do also have doggy treats on the front desk too and those are not for humans, but from time to time they do not pay attention to what they are grabbing. It is kind of funny to watch.

Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding the hotel and the staff. You really should try one of our other hotels around the country. The JDv Collection is one of the most unique hotels chains I have ever seen and that is what drew my interest as a Hotel Manager. Hope to see you again really soon.

Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Firstly, I'm definitely a travel diva. I'm super picky and have been very disappointed in many luxury hotels. This was really one of the best travel experiences I've had. (And, I travel a lot!)

And okay, yes Kelly Slater was the first person we ran into in the lobby ;) Extra bonus points.

The Shorebreak is hip, surfer chic and thought through to every detail. From the gorgeous ocean art in every corner to the the salt water orange creamsicle taffy at the front desk - to Zimzala the rad bar and restaurant. Everything is a 10 out of 10.

Make sure you go to happy hour - its awesome.

Our room was fantastic, the service great, staff so friendly. You can't beat the location.

Shorebreak is really the kind of place you never want to leave. We will definitely be back.

My only qualm is that we only stayed for two nights!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfrechette42, Manager at Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Diana C,

Didn't you know that Kelly Slater is our lobby ambassador? I am just kidding, but it is common to see a lot of action sports athletes staying at our hotel. They seem to love the vibe. We appreciate your kind comments about the hotel and restaurant. Zimzala is definitely the place to be for happy hour. In fact we have won several local awards including top 10 restaurants on the OC two years running. I will be sure to post you compliments for the entire staff to see. Thank you so much.

Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

My experience at the Shorebreak makes me want to come back to Huntington Beach - with family rather than business next time, and definitely to stay at the Shorebreak. Paul Frechette the assistant manager, and Jill and Laurence at reception provided remarkable service. Breakfast menu, food, and again, a great service attitude, in a beautiful setting leaves me with the best impression of the Shorebreak and a loyal seeker of Joie de Vivre Hotels.

Room Tip: Fabulous ocean/beach front and view rooms. City views for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonlacroix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfrechette42, Manager at Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Sharon,

Oh my gosh, I actually got mentioned in a review! I am so happy about that. Thank you so much for this wonderful review. It is always nice to hear that you are doing a great job. I will be sure to let Laurant and Jill know what an awesome job they did in taking care of you. Please do not be a stranger, you will always have a home with us here at Shorebreak.

Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

A very nice and friendly hotel located right on the beach. Fantastic location, lots to see and do in the area.

The room was very plush and well layed out. Plenty of room and bathroom was bigger than my garden (almost!!).

If this is one of your options, you won't be disappointed.

No need to add any pictures, there's plenty already.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank in-viator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfrechette42, Manager at Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear in-viator ,

Just wanted to say thank you for the kind words regarding our hotel. Being from the UK it seems you tried to get away during the Olympics. We sure hope everything worked out during your long trip of the west coast. On behalf of the Shorebreak and JDV Collection, thank you so much for choosing us and please keep us in mind the next time you travel out to the US.

Paul J. Frechette
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington Beach
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 20 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,598 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#6 of 20 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 109 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Surf City
BEST WESTERN Surf City
#5 of 20 in Huntington Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Huntington Beach Inn
Huntington Beach Inn
#12 of 20 in Huntington Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
4.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Huntington Beach
Comfort Suites Huntington Beach
#11 of 20 in Huntington Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
5.7 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel

Property: Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel
Address: 500 Pacific Coast Highway, 5th & PCH, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-5032 (Formerly Shorebreak Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate Southern California beach experience with a contemporary twist. Shorebreak Hotel combines the relaxed, sun-drenched spirit of the Orange County coastline with edgy modern accents. The only hotel located near the iconic intersection of Main Street and Pacific Coast Highway, Shorebreak situates you at the center of eclectic shopping, dining, and entertainment…all within earshot of crashing ocean waves. A singular boutique hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shorebreak Hotel Huntington Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing