We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“People make the difference.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sun 'n' Sands Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sun 'n' Sands Motel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Huntington Beach
regina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“People make the difference.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My wife and I have really enjoyed our stay at this motel. The staff were always ready and willing to assist us with any questions or concerns, and when your from out of town you really feel welcome. This quaint motel offers great location,really good service and at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    31
    7
    7
    8
See reviews for
18
24
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This place was a 3 minute walk to the water. The lady at the front desk gave our children buckets and shovels for the sand, our room had a microwave and they had food right in the office everything was reasonably priced they had surfboards and boogie boards for rent at 1/4th the price at zachs the local board rental shop They had our room reserved the night after we stayed there so we had to move to a diffrent room the second day. She moved our stuff for us all we had to do was pack up. I would give this motel a 8 out of ten only because they didnt have A/C It was nice out but when you close the window and curtain it got hot fast. although it was easily remedeed with one of the two fans they provide all we did was open the door and put the fan on the door frame and the room was cooled down in less than ten minutes. All in all it was a good trip and staying at that hotel made it allot better.

Room Tip: I would stick with the room with the futon if your sleeping on the bed it has a tub not just a showe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wes l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This place was great. We were going for a quick overnight stay, and last minute. This was the only place that had rooms left, and when we called the lady- Carrie was extremely nice and helpful. I was a bit unsure because of the reviews I had seen, but I figured we aren't going to be in the room much, so what did it matter?

The price of the hotel could not be beat. Literally right across the street from the beach,and the hotel closest to it in price comparison was the best Western, which is right next to it basically. The Best Western was about $35 more though. As far as the room goes, it's not THAT outdated. I didn't find the decor to be 70's or anything like that, it was like any other budget hotel you stay in. It was clean! The bathroom was clean, we just had a tile shower stall, and it was perfect. We had enough room for 2 adults and 2 kids. You also do not need to drive anywhere when you are staying. The Pier is just a few walks down the road. My four year old walked all over just fine, we had the stroller for the 2 year old.

The nice lady at the front desk let us park in the parking lot when we arrived in the morning (we got there at 9AM way before check in) that way we didn't have to pay to park. She was kind enough to call our cellphone and let us know when our room was ready to be checked into. They provide a hose at the front of the property to hose the sand off before you get to your room. I am very thankful for that, the line for the showers was LONG! There are resident cats hanging out in the office which the kids absolutely loved, and there were coffee and pastries in the morning. :)

The one downfall was that there was no air conditioning, we also happened to be there when there was a high heat warning in effect, so that normally wouldn't have been an issue. They do provide fans in the room though, and the windows open, and have screens!

I would definitely stay here again, you can't beat it for the price, location, and the friendly staff!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Renea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

If you are looking for a fancy hotel room with a lot of ammenities, this is probably not the best option for you! The rooms are good size and clean. It is an older motel, there is no air conditioning and you have an actual key for the door. The location is AMAZING. You can walk to the beach which is across the street (literally) and to Main st (just a few blocks away). They have free internet and there is a refridgerator in the room. Make sure to have a quarter for the ice machine as it isn't free. No coffee maker but there are plenty of coffee shops on Main st.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy_SanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Nothing fancy but a good room for the price - found the front desk to be helpful. We would stay here again if we were visiting Huntington Beach.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevandash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Huntington Beach is a wonderful location and a brilliant place to spend some time if you love the sea (and surfing). This motel is located only a short walk from the pier and the central shopping plaza.

In this case it really is a matter of getting what you sign up for. They are not posing as a luxury resort and it certainly isn't. Our room was clean and relatively comfortable. I would not recommend this for a family holiday or extended stay, but then that isn't what you would expect from a motel!

I did think it was a bit pricey, but since we only stayed one night, the convenience of being centrally located was worth it. The decor is dated, but they provided free internet and there are many great restaurants and bars just around the corner.

Room Tip: I'd try and get a room on the upper level
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kobuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Huntington Beach hotels

Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

My wife and I had no reservations at all but everything worked out fine during our short stay in Huntington Beach. We checked several other hotels/motels in the area, some of them way inland, but decided to stay at Sun 'n' Sands because of the fair rate considering the excellent location.
Friendly staff, safe, quiet, walking distance from the pier and you just have to cross PCH in order to have your feet buried in the sand. That's all you're looking for when you stay in HB, right?

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dani_Cera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntington Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 20 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,703 reviews
0.2 mi away
Huntington Beach Inn
Huntington Beach Inn
#12 of 20 in Huntington Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 240 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#5 of 20 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Surf City
BEST WESTERN Surf City
#7 of 20 in Huntington Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 408 reviews
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Ocean Front
Travelodge Ocean Front
#9 of 20 in Huntington Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 452 reviews
4.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Huntington Beach
Comfort Suites Huntington Beach
#10 of 20 in Huntington Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun 'n' Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun 'n' Sands Motel

Property: Sun 'n' Sands Motel
Address: 1102 Pacific Coast Hwy, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-4817
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sun 'n' Sands Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Sun 'n' Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun `n` Sands Hotel Huntington Beach
Sun n Sands Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing