We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sublime!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hume
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hume Lake Campgrounds
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Hume
Reviewed February 16, 2012

It’s been a few years since my Husband and I camped at Hume Lake, but we had a great time. We were camping in my Tent Trailer and were lucky enough to get a spot that was fairly level. The Camp Host was the nicest elderly gentlemen who gave us tips on the best fishing spots and dropped off fire wood every day. We loved it so much we want to return this summer. The bathrooms were clean enough and when we really needed a shower we had to drive quite a way to another camp ground that had pay showers. We did rent row boats for a few bucks at the Christian Camp, ate at their snack bar that was pretty good considering the location and all, we also ate the fish that my husband caught in the lake that was delicious! The camp sites are well shaded, we didn’t see any bears (THANK GOD) and we did see a few deer. If you like to have a fun place to camp that is pretty quiet for the most part this is a good spot to pitch your tent or drop anchor with your RV or trailer.

Room Tip: Check the camp sites if you have a trailer or RV a lot of them are on uneven ground or sloping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OCMommy714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 17 of 17 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2011

I've stayed at this campground every summer since '97. Compared to other campgrounds, this one has more amenities, the most important being flush toilets and running (ice cold) water. I enjoy forested campgrounds with rivers and lakes, and I don't like to see regular bushes and dry desert, so that is why I come back here every year.
Many of the sites are shaded, and all have picnic benches and firepits. I believe most sites, if not all, have bear lockers. All sites are a short walk to the lake, which provides a place to fish and swim.
For gas, food, and supplies, you can take a short drive over to the Hume Lake Christian Campground at the end of the lake. They also provide rowboats, and very slow and weak motorboats, but I don't know what their rental policy is if your are not staying at their campground.
There is plenty to see around here: Grizzly Falls, Grant's tree, 2 caves, the lake, Kern River, and the Sequioa Forest in general. You can also follow the source of Hume Lake upriver and find nice sitting pools under very small waterfalls.
Another nice campground nearby is Upper Lodgepole, which is really green. I would love to stay here, but this campground is very rocky, and I have 2 young ones.
This is a great campground.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Howard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2008

After one year of trying to get a reservation on Recreation.gov, I was finally able to reserve 5 days stay at Hume Lake Campground. Our space was on the loop closest to the lake, and was a stones throw away across the access road to a small private beach on pristine Hume Lake. While the Christian camp at the end of the lake became loud on occasion, the campground spaciousness and respectful fellow campers made this a very restful vacation.

There are no showers at the campground, but we brought our outdoor shower tent and solar showers which worked well after a dusty day of hiking in the Sequoias. There are flush toilets with sinks in the bathroom and potable water available. Most camping spaces have pine trees shading them, but we did bring a shade canopy which we used, as it was very warm during the day. Warning - if you're in a tent trailer (like us!) or RV, plan on doing a little leveling as many of the driveways in the camping spaces are sloped, and mostly dirt.

Come prepared, because other than the small general store at the Christian Camp, it's twelve miles to the nearest other small store or restaurant. The general store does have ice, charcoal, condiments and snacks, but nothing more substantial.

On two separate evenings deer came right into the campground. No bears have been sighted for some time, but bear boxes are still heavily utilized.

Bring your bug spray, floatation devices & sunscreen for a lovely weekend!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
19  Thank Bluesparklies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: cercate le piazzole vicine al lago!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Pandathegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hume
7.1 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer...
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
644 reviews
4.8 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
535 reviews
15.3 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
2,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
177 reviews
23.4 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
311 reviews
9.7 mi away
Stony Creek Lodge
Stony Creek Lodge
#18 of 19 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hume Lake Campgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hume Lake Campgrounds

Address: Hume Road, Hume, CA
Location: United States > California > Hume
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Hume
Number of rooms: 300
Also Known As:
Hume Lake Campgrounds Hotel Hume

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing