We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Sublime!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hume Lake Campgrounds

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hume
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hume Lake Campgrounds
Save
You added Hume Lake Campgrounds to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Hume
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sublime!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

It’s been a few years since my Husband and I camped at Hume Lake, but we had a great time. We were camping in my Tent Trailer and were lucky enough to get a spot that was fairly level. The Camp Host was the nicest elderly gentlemen who gave us tips on the best fishing spots and dropped off fire wood every day. We loved it so much we want to return this summer. The bathrooms were clean enough and when we really needed a shower we had to drive quite a way to another camp ground that had pay showers. We did rent row boats for a few bucks at the Christian Camp, ate at their snack bar that was pretty good considering the location and all, we also ate the fish that my husband caught in the lake that was delicious! The camp sites are well shaded, we didn’t see any bears (THANK GOD) and we did see a few deer. If you like to have a fun place to camp that is pretty quiet for the most part this is a good spot to pitch your tent or drop anchor with your RV or trailer.

Room Tip: Check the camp sites if you have a trailer or RV a lot of them are on uneven ground or sloping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OCMommy714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

I've stayed at this campground every summer since '97. Compared to other campgrounds, this one has more amenities, the most important being flush toilets and running (ice cold) water. I enjoy forested campgrounds with rivers and lakes, and I don't like to see regular bushes and dry desert, so that is why I come back here every year.
Many of the sites are shaded, and all have picnic benches and firepits. I believe most sites, if not all, have bear lockers. All sites are a short walk to the lake, which provides a place to fish and swim.
For gas, food, and supplies, you can take a short drive over to the Hume Lake Christian Campground at the end of the lake. They also provide rowboats, and very slow and weak motorboats, but I don't know what their rental policy is if your are not staying at their campground.
There is plenty to see around here: Grizzly Falls, Grant's tree, 2 caves, the lake, Kern River, and the Sequioa Forest in general. You can also follow the source of Hume Lake upriver and find nice sitting pools under very small waterfalls.
Another nice campground nearby is Upper Lodgepole, which is really green. I would love to stay here, but this campground is very rocky, and I have 2 young ones.
This is a great campground.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Howard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALI
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

Being the 4th of july weekend we actually found a spot in the Christian Camp, we had room 204, it was cozy, but there was enough room for 7 of us to have a good sleep. The lake is in the perfect location, the dining hall where we had breakfast overlooking the lake was wonderfull. Nice pool, the a.m. fog on the lake was a once in a lifetime experience. We had no luck with fishing, however lot's of fun at the "ready for you" fire pits, they are available all night long, fire wood included. You are free to do what you want and come and go as you please,not strict rules. It really was a treat, for the price we paid I believe the room should have been alot better but, it beats camping out in a tent freezing all night. The breakfast was not great but it was filling! I am reviewing the Christian camp grounds...they have so much available for you to do so bring your CASH, we rented a row boat that was pretty fun, we went to "Sandy Cove" beach area of the lake, we had a blast, the water was warm, the view was like only something you could imagine, it was BEAUTIFUL!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MiniVacayLuvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

After one year of trying to get a reservation on Recreation.gov, I was finally able to reserve 5 days stay at Hume Lake Campground. Our space was on the loop closest to the lake, and was a stones throw away across the access road to a small private beach on pristine Hume Lake. While the Christian camp at the end of the lake became loud on occasion, the campground spaciousness and respectful fellow campers made this a very restful vacation.

There are no showers at the campground, but we brought our outdoor shower tent and solar showers which worked well after a dusty day of hiking in the Sequoias. There are flush toilets with sinks in the bathroom and potable water available. Most camping spaces have pine trees shading them, but we did bring a shade canopy which we used, as it was very warm during the day. Warning - if you're in a tent trailer (like us!) or RV, plan on doing a little leveling as many of the driveways in the camping spaces are sloped, and mostly dirt.

Come prepared, because other than the small general store at the Christian Camp, it's twelve miles to the nearest other small store or restaurant. The general store does have ice, charcoal, condiments and snacks, but nothing more substantial.

On two separate evenings deer came right into the campground. No bears have been sighted for some time, but bear boxes are still heavily utilized.

Bring your bug spray, floatation devices & sunscreen for a lovely weekend!

  • Liked — proximity to the lake, camping spaces were VERY large
  • Disliked — occasional noise (bull horns and bells) from the Christian Camp nearby
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
18 Thank Bluesparklies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hume
4.4 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
7.2 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 525 reviews
15.6 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
23.3 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
9.8 mi away
Stony Creek Lodge
Stony Creek Lodge
#19 of 20 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
3.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hume Lake Campgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hume Lake Campgrounds

Property: Hume Lake Campgrounds
Address: Hume Road, Hume, CA
Location: United States > California > Hume
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Hume
Number of rooms: 300
Also Known As:
Hume Lake Campgrounds Hotel Hume

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing