We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Winery and Caves”
Review of Saracina Vineyards

Saracina Vineyards
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Hopland
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Saracina was named after a centuries-old farmhouse and vineyards in Tuscany where owners John Fetzer and Patty Rock spent their honeymoon. The main ranch is home to Saracina Vineyards, a small-production, state-of-the art, California Certified Organic (CCOF) winery and the first wine caves in Mendocino County. Working with winemaker, Alex MacGregor, they produce stylistically unique wines with lush California fruit and silky, soft tannins. Atrea, their second brand, focuses on interesting, quirky Rhone-style blends. Home to the first wine caves in Mendocino County, California, Saracina Ranch is reminiscent of the rural character of Napa Valley 30 years ago. Located in the small town of Hopland, in the Upper Russian River area of Mendocino County, Saracina is a 600-acre property with 300 acres in vineyards. It features hillsides, groves of 110-year-old olive trees, pomegranate orchards, organic vegetable gardens, bee hives and a bee garden and four ponds that attract myriad bird and animal life. The vines are hand-tended and farmed organically or biodynamically to maintain the vigor of the plants.
Winter Haven, Fl
Level Contributor
175 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Superb Winery and Caves”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My wife and I recently "discovered by chance" this delightful winery. The vineyard and grounds was absolutely beautiful. We learned that it was owned and operated by the famous wine developer, John Fetzer. It is an totally organic and biodynamically farmed. The grounds are amazing. We took a walk around the front ponds and up the hill to an overlook to see the true splendor of these grounds. We also were able to take a tour of the caves that are used for fermentation. This was another great aspect of this winery. The staff person, Leslie, was very friendly and professional. She greeted us and encouraged us to explore the grounds and the wine. All the tastings were excellent. This is one of our favorite wineries for the beauty of the grounds, warm and friendly personnel and great wines. We encourage everyone to "discover" Saracina.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarpeDiem0212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaracinaVineyards, Manager at Saracina Vineyards, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts about your experience here at Saracina. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time here and we do hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Woodland, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing winery, with even nicer wines”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Great History of the Fetzer brothers, the property, the 120 year old olive trees and the wine! Free tastings too!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MamaSpedelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaracinaVineyards, Manager at Saracina Vineyards, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience here at Saracina. It is so enjoyable for us to be able to share this beautiful property, as well as the estate wines, olive oil and honey. Thank you and come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Times; Good Wine”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Saracina Vineyards is a beautiful winery with interesting "caves" which are really fun to tour. The tasting room is warm and staffed by very friendly, knowledgeable people. If you're lucky, you may even get to meet John Fetzer himself, as he is a constant on his property. The wine is delicious, and the olive oil is tasty with a bit of a bite to it. The grounds are a lovely place to enjoy a bottle of wine with some food. We look forward to going back.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pzamanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our favorite Winery!!”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

The staff is wonderful. Friendly, helpful, very experienced. They make you feel like family!! We only wish we were closer so that we could benefit from all the excursions and activities they have.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank dbrick410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saracina Vineyards also viewed

Hopland, Mendocino County
 
Hopland, Mendocino County
Hopland, Mendocino County
 

Been to Saracina Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing