We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Complacent and greedy”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Bar Idda

Bar Idda
Reserve with
Bar Idda is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Complacent and greedy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

The food is, as others have said, good, unpretentious and Sicilian. Even interesting. As a dining experience in a major city the restaurant leaves a lot to be desired. Good food ought to be enjoyed slowly but the mandatory two-sittings per evening policy forces haste and dishonours the food and it's creators. Given the prices for a meal in a very ordinary, if not shabby, Lygon Street bar, this policy smacks of greed and complacency. Come on Melbourne. Get real. Who would pay these prices to perch in uncomfortable and cramped surroundings for decent but ordinary food when places all over the world do at least as well on the food and let you linger longer. When will people in Melbourne wake up and realise how they are being cheated of a decent eating out experience such as that enjoyed all over the world?

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    29
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Sicilian Food At It's Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Bar Idda is fun and inviting with friendly knowledgeable staff .I always take interstate friends there and they love it .We always book and never feel rushed .The eggplant is to die for and the desserts are special too.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Taste of Sicily.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

Delicious Sicilian food on Lygon St in what reminded me of an Italian grandmothers house. Loved the embroidered tablecloths. The service from the staff was friendly and knowledgeable. We ordered a number of dishes to share and they were all very flavoursome. The eggplant layered with tomato was a winner! We hadn't booked as it was a Monday night so it wasn't too crowded. We sat at a table at the back but if you wanted to sit at the front or bar you may need to book.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Manfrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Excellent authentic food- worth going across town for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

Bar Idda serves an authentic siscilian food- and it is fantastic & very flavoursome and very well priced.
The night we went it was packed, it is worth booking a table- they have 2 sittings 6pm & 8pm as it is packed with people even eating at the bar.
The deco is very authentic retro Italian - it reminds me of my childhood friend house- with the embroidered table cloth.
The crowd is inner city, laid back cool.
The staff are friendly, attentive & very helpful- service is excellent.
Prices are great with all mains under $22.
It worth ordering a few mains & sides & sharing.servings are good. We ordered 2 mains & one side - we were so full we could not fit in desert- which is a shame as they looked good.
Worth crossing town for...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IAmAGlobalNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Authentic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

A fabulous and authentic meal. It has a wonderful atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobCug67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Idda also viewed

Brunswick East, Moreland
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Brunswick, Moreland
 
Brunswick East, Moreland
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Bar Idda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing