We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love their sandwiches - they have some unique ones” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Obexer's General Store Cafe

Obexer's General Store Cafe
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Homewood
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Description: Obexer's General Store is located in Homewood, on the West Shore of Lake Tahoe at Obexer's Boat Company, the oldest full-service marina on the lake. There are multiple businesses on this family run property in addition to the General Store: Obexer's Boat Co. and Obexer's Water Sports to name a few. Come by boat, bike, car or feet- Obexer's in summer just can't be beat!
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
116 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Love their sandwiches - they have some unique ones”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We get tired of the same old same old and will drive the distance to come here. (opposite Homewood) Obexers has some different types (We love the JPO) plus the standards, and you can make your own. Plus there's salads and soup. I have price as $ - None of it cheap - but nothing is in Tahoe. There is now Rotisserie chicken in the eve (we got one and it was yummy).

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelwKids4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swillers, Manager at Obexer's General Store Cafe, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thanks for stopping in! The JPO is one of our favorite sandwiches as well- did you know it is actually named after Jacob P. Obexer, who founded Obexer's Boat Company in 1911? Next time you're in, see if you can find him on our family tree in the cafe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
267 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Liquor for your needs....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I promised these guys i would wear bikini bottoms and heels next time I was in the store. They have hard liquor. Booze is quite fun for paddle boarding, kayaking, swimming with your dog, and in general most moments, not limited too and possibly also including hot tubbing, dinner, after dinner, on decks, during beautiful hikes at eagle rock, or just sitting with your dog.

Remember this... these clerks are the friendliest, most affable chaps. It's a good place to be. Ahh.. to carry the west shore in my pocket.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank OnlineConcierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahoma, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I keep on going back and forth which is my favorite. The JPO - a roast beef rueben style on a ciabatta roll or Edna's BLAT - brown sugar glazed bacon, lettuce, tomato and avocado.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank tahomameadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
301 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Goumet Mustards Abound”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stopped here while on a trip around Lake Tahoe. There was road construction in the area, making our decision to stop a 'no-brainer'. Inside, we purchased some pasta salad and a jar of gourmet mustard to complement the sandwich fixings we had brought on the trip for a picnic. Somewhat pricey, the pasta salad was quite delicious. The Brown Sugar Balsamic Mustard was simply fantastic. Sample tastes of two or more mustards are free for the asking at the deli, depending on what they have open at the time.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great sandwich shop & general store!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Good sandwiches, supplies, beer & wine. Stop for a bite, or take out! Old nostalgic Tahoe Charm in Homewood!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Obexer's General Store Cafe also viewed

Homewood, Lake Tahoe (California)
Homewood, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Homewood, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoma, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Obexer's General Store Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing