We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“What a bargain” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Shore Cafe

West Shore Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
West Shore Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Homewood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Homewood Mountain Resort
Transit: Tahoe Area Regional Transit hosts a shuttle drop-off and pick-up location outside the West Shore Cafe.
Description: A picturesque lakefront restaurant and inn located at Lake Tahoe's west shore, the West Shore Cafe offers guests delicious cuisine and superb service amidst some of the world's most beautiful surroundings. West Shore Cafe offers a festive and romantic Lakeview setting with elegant, yet approachable cuisine at affordable prices. As a year-round destination, the West Shore Cafe beckons skiers during the winter months and is mere steps from sister property, Homewood Mountain Resort. During summer months, the West Shore Cafe's location is ideal for those cruising the bike path, as well as boaters touring Lake Tahoe. West Shore Cafe hosts several buoys, and welcomes boaters and kayakers ashore.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a bargain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

After Labor Day the restaurants around the lake have 1/2 price menu's on Monday nights. Great deals on everything.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank StevoSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    38
    18
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado Hills, CA
Level Contributor
384 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“A Special Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at the Inn for a couple of nights over Labor Day weekend and had two lunches and a dinner at the Cafe. We did not make lunch reservations on the first day and it was very busy, but were seated at a beautiful table on the dock because we were Inn guests. (I will remember to make lunch reservations next time)! I had fond memories of the Lobster Roll I had on the dock last summer and hoped it would still be on the menu and it was. It was good but it was more minced lobster this time and less chunks of lobster as I prefer it. On the second day for lunch I ordered the Bouillabaisse and it was outstanding. It was packed with seafood (cod, salmon, prawns, clams and large scallops). Dinner that night was very good - with the Black Cod really being the stand out dish.

The location is gorgeous and mesmerizing and the service very good. Highly recommend. I give this restaurant a 4.5!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
2 reviews
“lunch on the lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had lunch her with my daughter on the outside deck. Our server was attentive but let us enjoy our conversation and the beautiful view of the lake. Highly reccommend the gazpacho and the Peach Bellinis. We will definitely return for dinner

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank melissa_neems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Stunning food, service & location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Six of us enjoyed a late afternoon dinner seated at an outdoor table with a spectacular view of the lake. Our plan was to sit and enjoy our perfect evening as long as possible so we all started out with house specialty cocktails, including a rye old fashion for me. Our starters were – ahi tuna, tomato ‘caprese’ & fried asparagus with squash blossoms. Entrees were – Cod, salmon, rack of lamb, chicken & risotto. All of the dishes were perfectly prepared and shared by all.

Our meal was highlighted by a pre-wedding party, enjoying their champagne and departing into 3 vintage wood boats for a short trip to a near-by house for their outdoor ceremony.

West Shore Café & Inn is ideal for relaxing at one of the most visually stunning lakes in the world. Definitely a big thumbs-up and a must return visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Unbeatable view and ambiance, good overall experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

From the complimentary valet parking to great service, it was an upside surprise. We had drinks at the outside bar then dined on the patio, watching fireworks in the distance and a lucky few diners arrive by boat and enter via the pier. Food was good - not excellent - and there were some nice twists on the drink menu (such as the Ginger Manhattan). The real stars of the show were the view and atmosphere. We will definitely return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank justinenv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Shore Cafe also viewed

Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Homewood, Lake Tahoe (California)
Homewood, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to West Shore Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing