We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Retreat Right on the Lake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
West Shore Cafe and Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Homewood B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed at West Shore Inn last weekend with my parents. The rooms are beautiful, the service is great and you can't beat the setting. For the quality and the location, I think this resort is great value.

The suites are very spacious and very well decorated / designed. As soon as I walked in, I felt immediately at home and relaxed. Our suite was on the mountain side. At night, I could hear the groomers working the mountain. It didn't keep me up. I assume the lake side is quieter and will certainly have nicer views.

The lodge is directly across from Homewood Resort, which is more of a "locals" hill. I like Homewood because it has the best views of all the ski resorts in Tahoe (almost all the runs feature views of the lake), it's more affordable and the lines aren't as long. There are plenty of glades runs, although the terrain isn't as challenging as Squaw, which is probably the most built up of all the ski resorts on the North Shore. Squaw is about 20-25 minutes from West Shore Inn.

Tips:

-Skip eating at the restaurant in the inn. It's pretty mediocre. Instead, have happy hour at the inn while the sun is setting over the lake and then head to Truckee (30 minutes away) for dinner. Restaurant Trokay is a real gem
-Check out Emerald Bay. It's about 20 minutes west of the inn. True world class beauty

Room Tip: Lake side is probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arieller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 62 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have been traveling around Tahoe for decades but just this year was introduced to this beautiful property. Just six guest rooms, very intimate. Marlette and Mt. Watson suites are the best in the house and absolutely gorgeous: two rooms, two fireplaces, two balconies and floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking that glorious lake. Decor is very Ralph Lauren-esque. If you're a skier, you don't even need a car; the lifts at Homewood Mountain Resort are directly across the road. The restaurant, with a wall of windows facing the lake, is one of the most beautiful dining spaces at Tahoe. Food is expensive but doesn't disappoint. The Sunday dinner special - $15 entree paired with a $5 glass of wine - is a good deal (even if you'll spend another $15 on a salad). On Mondays, entrees are half price. Lots of locals at happy hour.

Room Tip: Three rooms/suites face the lake; three are standard rooms facing the road. The rate sheet has all o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalGalTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We arrived early for dinner and they were able to seat us. The food was delicious especially the short ribs and the salmon. Portions were ample sized and the service was attentive. The view of the lake is stupendous, so arrive early to enjoy the view.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank suzeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We came here for lunch while skiing at Homewood. The views here are amazing. Great service and just a very nice place to enjoy a meal. Nothing too special about their lunch menu, burgers, fish and chips etc. Just go for the view and atmosphere.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bashby33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We attended a wedding at the lovely West Shore Cafe and Inn and stayed in the Peak Ellis room upstairs. Although we did not stay in one of the Lake Tahoe-facing suites, our room was cozy and well appointed with a romantic fireplace and comfy furnishings.

From start to finish the staff went out of their way to be helpful. One extremely helpful staff member even helped us source discount coupons for our snowmobile tour!

We also really enjoyed the included breakfasts. The croissants were especially awesome, perfectly flaky on the outside and pleasurably chewy on the inside.

For those of you planning your nuptials, the wedding we attended was gorgeous. The ceremony took place outside on the lakeside patio with the glorious sunset blazing in the background. The afterparty took up the entire restaurant inside with plenty of room for the guests to eat dinner and dance the night away.

PARTING THOUGHT: West Shore Cafe and Inn is a great place for a romantic woodland getaway! Too bad there are no direct flights from NYC!

Room Tip: Consider splurging for the Lake Tahoe-facing suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IdaFats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We had a great day skiing across the Street at Homewood and a wonderful time with friends at the end of the day for Apre Ski at the West Shore Cafe. Very welcoming to skiers with special Happy Hour in the Bar. You can just walk across the Street from the Ski Lift. Beautiful architecture and rustic upscale interior design. Just my style for Tahoe. I felt very at home here and the bathrooms are nice as well. I can just imagine how nice the hotel suites must be here. Very good appetizers and cocktails, friendly service, spectacular views over the lake and nice fellow skiers/ boarders doing Apre Ski.
Some people arrived via a private boat from the South Shore in the morning for skiing at Homewood and had some special deal at West Shore Cafe for Dinner and than back to the South Shore in the evening from the West Shore dock. Would be fun to do this next time. We had a condo on Needle Peak Road on the Nevada side and drove over to Homewood. We will come back and it would be nice to spend a night at this beautiful Inn!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Munichchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had an unforgettable stay at the West Shore Inn this past weekend. My husband summarized it best as we were leaving when he said our weekend at the Inn was “magical.”

We stayed in the Marlette Peak Suite. What a special experience! The rooms face directly onto the pier and the lake. It is so relaxing to watch the boats coming and going and the people eating and having a great time. Just a lovely vibe, and all of this in front of the beautiful water and mountains of Lake Tahoe. It is mesmerizing. The suite has 2 balconies and 2 large windows that face this view so you become visually transfixed even when you are inside.

The Marlette Peak Suite has 2 bathrooms, 2 fireplaces and 2 flat screen TVs. Also the small refrigerator is stocked with complimentary drinks. A continental breakfast is included with cereal, yogurt and fresh fruit. Their croissants and muffins were delicious. We had to leave the Inn at 5:30 am on Monday morning and they made sure to have the coffee and baked goods ready to go for us to enjoy on the road.

Staying at the West Shore Inn felt like we were staying in a private club – and I mean that in the best possible way. The ambiance, the service and the food are superb and yet only a certain amount of people can be accommodated.

We stay frequently at the Hyatt on North Shore and we love that as well. But that is a large facility which comes with both the positives and negatives of its size (though granted, mostly positives!). The only thing that the Hyatt has that the West Shore Inn does not have that matters to us is the sandy beach with lounge chairs/umbrellas and great beach service to go along with it. You could sunbathe at the shore at the Inn but it is pebbley, not sandy. I believe there are kayaks and canoes available for a small fee and we will plan to do that next time.

Lunch and dinner at the West Shore Café is wonderful! (Please see my restaurant review for more info). Make a reservation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the water in the summertime and ask to face Homewood Ski Resort on the opposit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Homewood
3.7 mi away
Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge
14.1 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,117 reviews
8.5 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cedar Crest Cottages
Cedar Crest Cottages
#1 of 3 in Homewood
42 reviews
12.1 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
900 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tahoma Meadows B&B Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Shore Cafe and Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Shore Cafe and Inn

Address: 5160 West Lake Blvd., Homewood, CA 96141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Homewood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Homewood
Price Range: $169 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Shore Cafe and Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A picturesque lake-front restaurant and inn located adjacent to Homewood Mountain Resort, the West Shore Cafe and Inn offers a festive, lake-view setting with elegant-yet-approachable cuisine at affordable prices. Whether you are enjoying a meal in the classic Tahoe dining room, having a cocktail at the bar, or basking in the sunshine on the legendary West Shore Cafe deck and pier, the beauty of Lake Tahoe will make a lasting impression on you from every corner of the space. It is impeccably appointed with classic mountain architecture and a warm, luxurious interior with Persian rugs over slate floors, knotty alder moldings throughout, oversized leather couches and chairs, rustic bronze chandeliers and fixtures, and floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking Lake Tahoe and its surrounding mountain peaks. It offers a spectacular, year-round gathering place for the Lake Tahoe community and its guests, while contributing to the revitalization of the West Shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your West Shore Cafe and Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Shore Cafe Hotel Homewood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing