We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would not stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN San Benito Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Hollister
california
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Would not stay again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Hotel is run by the same type of people that run lots of other California hotels and their first priority is to make money! Staff was friendly. There was a black hair in the bathroom when we arrived. Other than that room was decent. Breakfast was very poor. Blinds in breakfast area were falling off. Pool was drained and out of service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mssmitty311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay-Manager, Manager at BEST WESTERN San Benito Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
We are sorry that we were short of your expectations during your stay.It is very unfortunate that
you stayed in the motel when heavy maintanance was going on.You were rightly dissatisfied
when you found one black hair in the room.That is not our or best westerns standard..We are known in this area for our repeat bussiness and our occupancy during the last month was 84.72%and till date in this month is 90.48%.We request you to forgive us for our lapse and give us another chance to serve you to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    63
    57
    18
    15
See reviews for
66
54
12
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is a perfectly good motel in the usual mould of Best Western - well finished, clean and a better than average breakfast (though slightly compromised during our stay because the dining area was being refurbished). Location is a little way from down town but not too far from a few restaurants.

However, the stay was marred by the motel wrongly claiming I had not paid in advance. Despite showing them evidence of payment via a booking agent, they would not budge and after about half an hour of wrangling, I was left with no choice but to pay again. I had to chase this up after the holiday and got refunded but was put to a lot of inconvenience - hence the service score!.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlymouthPete19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

I was in town for work and stayed here a week. Check in was easy and the clerk was friendly. My room was clean, had a refrigerator and microwave and the bed was as comfortable as any other hotel bed. No elevator, but a single flight of stairs isn't very difficult to navigate. There's a gas station across the street which is convenient and the hotel is on the edge of town. Nothing exotic, but nice views of the farmland and mountains to the west.

The continental breakfast was great, waffle maker, several kinds of packaged pastries, muffins, etc. OJ, cranberry juice, coffee, everything except bacon and eggs.

The clerk gave me a list of nearby restaurants, which was very helpful. I highly suggest the Running Rooster and Mountain Mikes Pizza.

My experience was great and I would absolutely stay here again if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpas7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel first of all is run by people who don't have a clue!!! We were in Hollister for a special party for relatives and had a set rate!! When we called to reserve they gave us two reservation numbers as they said we "may" have to change rooms on sat nite as they were pretty full for the weekend. We checked in Friday night at 10:30 and the man ended up not returning our credit card and we didn't use it that weekend and got a call Tuesday that they had our card and we had to pay overnight postal charges to get our card!! The owner claims it was our fault that we didn't get our card!! Bad, bad business!! The room smelled and the pillow cases smelled like bleach!! I could go on and on but I would suggest that no one stay at this dump of a hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerjer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay-Manager, Manager at BEST WESTERN San Benito Inn, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
we are very sorry that that the guest was unsatisfied.the guest forgets his credit card on the
desk of FD,the guest is informed and then with his approval credit card is send to him at his cost.have U heard of any procedure where hotel in US keeps the original credit card with it ?
in our view and we believe this is an afterthouht made up story of the guest to have a wrongful
benefits? can the guest clarify?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hollister hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hollister
14.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Forest Park Inn
12.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gilroy
7.6 mi away
Posada de San Juan
Posada de San Juan
#2 of 2 in San Juan Bautista
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Casa de Fruta
Casa de Fruta
#1 of 6 in Hollister
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hacienda de Leal
Hacienda de Leal
#1 of 2 in San Juan Bautista
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ridgemark Golf and Country Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN San Benito Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN San Benito Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN San Benito Inn
Address: 660 San Felipe Road, Hollister, CA 95023-2805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hollister
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Hollister
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN San Benito Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Best Western, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN San Benito Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Benito Hotel Hollister
Best Western Hollister
Hollister Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing