We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the tourist trap you might be expecting”

Casa de Fruta Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 80 Restaurants in Hollister
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Not the tourist trap you might be expecting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Given all the billboards to the west of this classic roadside stop, you might expect schlock and greasy fried food. What you'll find instead is a relaxed place to stroll about, buy fresh fruit, maybe ride the train or carrousel, and have a tasty meal if you want a longer break. The restrooms are clean too!

Helpful?
Thank EBinLACA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    73
    33
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins
Level Contributor
159 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good menu selection”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Pricey for what you get everyone liked their dish which ranged from sandwiches to turkey and mashed potatoes. They give you lots of french fries with your sandwich.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank great2bretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Place for a Break”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Going to and from the coast- we stop for an inexpensive meal, stretch the legs, and walk the dog. It is a little oasis of green in the rugged golden California coast range. We like the junky old farm equipment and the carousel at this family roadside attraction.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hawk898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise, FL
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“South of the Border meets a farmers market!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Anyone familiar with the I-95 corridor in the Carolinas knows South of the Border, an elaborate shopping/restaurant roadside tourist complex. Casa de Fruta struck me as a cross between South of the Border and a farmers' market. Their motto, "Shop, Play, Dine, Stay" says it all. I found the Casa around lunchtime as I drove west through the Pacheco Pass on CA 152. The soup and sandwich at the restaurant was average. I was offered a glass of pomegranate wine which was too sweet to my taste and didn't pair well with the turkey. For dessert I bagged some chocolate-covered cherries in the sweets shop and munched on them for days. The complex is clean and well managed. You will find all the fruits and nuts that the state is known for and there are rides for the kids. All in all not a bad respite from the road.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M102Enterprise_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, CA
Level Contributor
130 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Mixed Reviews”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

There were 4 diners in our group. My husband ordered the prime rib special - and it was fantastic! Great value, too. One friend ordered a Reubin Sandwich, which was fine, nothing special, and our other friend ordered a cheese burger, which was pretty darn good. I ordered the fish and chips (came with coleslaw), which was horrible! The fish was old, frozen, wedges of unidenified white fish that was deep fried to a soaked, greesy mess. The fries were just common restaurant fries, nothing special. But the coleslaw was especially bad. The waitress said it was homemade, so if that's true, they need a new recipe. Gross. Bottom line, your meal can be a roll of the dice - excellent to bad. Good luck.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Uphilldeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa de Fruta Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Casa de Fruta Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing