We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bodorgan, Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
t0nyedwar...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed March 15, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Great getaway owners treated us like family. Well equipped Cosby spotlessly clean soooooo relaxing. Excellent place to explore the island. A real home from home

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishco...
England
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Retreat”
Reviewed November 6, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here for 3 nights with little dog Bella. Fiona the owner was so welcoming & prior to arrival kept in contact. The cottage is rural & quiet with amazing views. Such a cosy place with gorgeous furnishings very Laura Ashley style. The log burner was a delight & the hot tub.
Beware of the washed up palm oil on newnorough beach. Our dig ate some & we had a worrying 24hrs. Keep dogs close if not on the lead.
I would recommend carreg rhys for a romantic getaway, walking holiday & day tripping. Beaumaris is worth a visit & newnorough beach accessing from newborough forest. It's £4 to park all day.
Thank you for a lovely stay & all the extras including snacks in picnic basket, fluffy dressing gowns, fleece bedding & wood for the fire.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshSarah1...
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Such a wonderful place!”
Reviewed October 29, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is the second time that we've stayed at Carreg Rhys, both times have been fabulous. Fiona & Peter (the owners) are so welcoming, nothing is too much trouble. We really loved the new fluffy dressing gowns - a must when you get out of the hot tub on a cold October night!
For anyone looking to find a romantic retreat & also a base in a great location to explore Angelsey- look no further. Not only is the cottage warm & cosy with the log burner, more spacious than you'd think & great value, it really is a pet friendly place to stay.
We look forward to our next stay
xx

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn T
1 review
“Summer 2017”
Reviewed August 10, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This was our first time we have stopped in a cottage with our 1 year old Basset Hound Eddie. We have had an absolutely fantastic week! Fiona and Pete are absolutely amazing! We read all the reviews before hand, so we were sure we were going somewhere lovely and it was! Their attention to detail is impeccable! We was met by Pete and walked into the cottage with candles lit, a lovely welcome hamper and petals on the bed and in the bath! The cottage is decorated and furnished finely; very sumptuous and cosy! Fiona then came to say hello, once she had greeted her other guests at their sister cottage. Soon as we met Fiona and Pete it was like we had known them for years!!! Throughout the week Fiona and Pete were there when we wanted a chat and if we needed helping out about where to go on our daytime adventures (I'm sure they will remember pizza gate! Private joke!). We were really sad to leave, but will be sure to be returning in the near future!!! We have not only had a lovely time enjoying the many beaches and sights of Anglesey and Wales but have made two lovely friends! See you soon!!! X x x x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrealov...
Manchester
2 reviews
“Beautiful cottages”
Reviewed January 19, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

My partner and I booked Carreg Ryhs for an early January stay to beat the winter blues. We have stayed before and knew what to expect - a relaxing and cosy break. We took our dog again who always has such a big fuss made of her by the owners Fiona and Pete. Their dogs had just had a litter of puppies so also had some much needed pet therapy.

There was a problem with the hot tub so the owners offered to let us stay at Bwthyn Megan as the previous guests had just vacated. This is the sister cottage just up the road which also had tub. Very impressed with both cottages which are finished to a high standard. Very Laura Ashley. Fiona and Pete couldn't do enough for us and it was lovely to meet them again. They really do take pride in their work.

Arriving to a roaring log fire is a nice touch and provides a lovely welcome.

Sad to be home now, we will be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill G
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Already booked to go back loved it”
Reviewed September 20, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We enjoy cottage Holidays and had many but this is the best we have had. Fiona and Peter greeted us as if we were great friends, and soon were. Such a warm welcome and such a cosy retreat. Warm wood burning stove comfortable bed and even a welcome hamper to great us. The views are lovely with Snowdonia in the near distance. There is a hot tub right outside the door but tucked away in a secluded private corner. Nothing nicer to sit out in the hot tub with a tumbler of wine in good or wild weather then hop out and into a warm cottage with a blazing log fire. Dogs are welcomed with plenty of grounds for them to use.
Although Carreg Rhys is secluded shops and supermarkets are only a few miles away as are the beaches and Newborough Forest. Plenty to see and do if you want to roam further afield, Ideal for bird watching once a favourite haunt of C.F.Tunnicliffe probably our best remembered bird artist.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 23, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share this thoroughly wonderful review with us all, we are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Carreg Rhys. What you describe sounds fabulous, in particular, unwinding in the hot tub with a tipple then relaxing in front of the fire sounds perfect! That you have already booked your return visit speaks volumes about your holiday and we will be sure to pass your lovely comments along to the owners!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bevplace
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Blissful retreat”
Reviewed July 30, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Wow, what can I say? Fresh flowers, roaring fire (we arrived on the only evening of the summer when there was a storm raging!), lit candles, welcome hamper full of goodies, freshly laundered Oscar de La Renta robes; all waiting for us when we arrived, alongside the gorgeous, ultra energetic Fiona.
Fiona and Peter are so friendly and personable you feel you have returned to see old friends, but they don't intrude - just check you have everything you need to ensure you completely enjoy your stay and relax! I was amazed by Fiona's ability to remember things I had mentioned and to refer to them and check you were ok (we had booked the cottage as our son was on his first big trip away without us, to Thailand and Fiona was asking how we were and what he was up to?) Sooooo nice and sooooo thoughtful. She even offered to collect us from the local pub one evening when she bumped into us on a quiet lane near to the cottage!
The location of the cottage is ultra peaceful - a haven of tranquillity with only the odd moo of a cow to interrupt quiet contemplation as your worries subside as you sit in the hot tub. I now know why the village is called Paradwys (paradise!) The hot tub is fantastic and completely secluded. Plastic glasses are provided to ensure there are no nasty accidents as you enjoy a glass or three!!
The cottage is really well equipped, with everything you could possibly need. The décor is really tasteful and bed and furniture very comfortable. There is even a walk in wardrobe! Nothing is too much trouble - Fiona lent my husband her hand held Dyson to hoover dog hairs out of our car after seeing him using the vac belonging to the cottage!
One well behaved dog is welcome (we have a daft Labrador, who came with us) but I was really pleased that they are only allowed downstairs as I am an asthma sufferer and tend to be a bit susceptible when I sleep.
The Wifi was fantastic. Despite wanting to unwind and relax from the stresses and strains I was desperate to hear from our son in Thailand. We communicated on WhatsApp without issue and I was able to look at photo's he had posted online within seconds.
Anglesey is truly beautiful and we don't think we could have had a better base from which to explore it.
Thank you Fiona and Peter for a truly lovely week and we wish you every success xx.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet with a hot tub!!!
Liked least: A little too far to walk to the pub
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share this incredible review, we are absolutely thrilled that you had a wonderful holiday at Carreg Rhys! It sounds like the owners' care and attention was really the icing on the cake of a fabulous time! We will be sure to pass your kind words along to them and hope you return to enjoy the peace, relaxation and luxury on offer there again very soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing