We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Applebee's

Applebee's
Ranked #26 of 69 Restaurants in Highland
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
L.A.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Always good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

Something for everybody and good cocktails, nice and efficient servers, clean restrooms. Our party had everything from steak dinners to kid meals and everything in between. Everybody left stuffed and happy. Really close to hotel.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emmarubybegonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Bernardino, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Poor Management”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

My wife and I, both retired, decided to eat a late lunch at 2:30 pm on Monday (6/2/14). Having finished our shopping at Walmart we stopped in at the Applebee’s located at 4070 Highland Ave., Highland CA for a late lunch. Let me first preface this by saying we have patronized this location many times. In fact one of my daughter’s best friends was a server there. Being a retired Navy veteran I have always supported Applebee’s because of their support for and their appreciation shown military veterans. Being a split resident between San Bernardino, CA and La Pine, OR I have frequented several locations in California as well as Oregon.

However, I was considerably disappointed when I visited this particular location today. My wife and I had decided to order the 2 for $20. We had, at this location, as well as at locations in Fontana, CA and Bend, OR been able to substitute the green bean crispers for the appetizers offered. None of the appetizers offered with the 2 for $20 were appealing to either one of us. On this occasion the server declined the substitution and when we requested to speak with the manager he confirmed that such a substitution was not allowed. I explained that substituting the boneless wings at a value of $8.99 for the green bean crispers at a value of $5.99 provided the restaurant a cost benefit of $3.00. He claimed, however, that such a substitution was actually more costly for Applebee’s. This claim flies in the face of logic and was actually an insult to my intelligence. This claim, as well as the fact that the manager (name unknown, but having a middle-eastern accent) was very condescending in his attitude led both my wife and I to leave and find another restaurant for lunch.

Although I will continue to patronize Applebee’s in Sierra Lakes, Fontana, CA and Bend, OR, as long as they continue to allow us to make this substitution, I will no longer patronize the restaurant in Highland, CA.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I won't eat at Applebee's anymore”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

The food was burned, too much oil, very small portion comparing to the price. I ordered the combo Fajita, they didn't even have the choice of whole grain tortilla bread I had to accept the white flour one.
I use to love eating there; not anymore.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Suhair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands
Level Contributor
79 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My wife and I recently visited Applebee's for dinner. The food was good, and the staff was very helpful. Overall, good value.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands
Level Contributor
79 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Night Out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We have a night out once every two weeks. The food was very good. We did not have to wait long for our food. It was hot, fresh, and tasty. The service was good as well.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Applebee's also viewed

 

Been to Applebee's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing