We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the 4 Seasons by a long shot but a good choice overall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hermosa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not the 4 Seasons by a long shot but a good choice overall”
Reviewed August 2, 2007

4 stars for the room, view, location, valet service, maid service. 3 stars for strange, incompetent front desk staff. 1 star for the pathetic continental breakfast.

This place is not cheap but you can't beat its location on one of the hottest beaches in So Cal. If you want an authentically southern california beach experience (volleyball, good looking tanned bodies all over the place, warmish water, soft sand, party atmosphere) this is the place to stay. Oceanfront room is worth the price except for the one big downside -- it is very noisy if you like your window open. The strand runs right along the hotel and you will hear all sorts of noise day and night, as well as late night revelers of the frat boy and sorority girl type. On the plus side the balcony is great for people watching and volleyball tourneys.

The strand is lots of fun for late night running and for peeking into the homes that sit right next to it. It's a real party atmosphere on the strand at night, especially on the weekend.

For its oceanfront location the hotel is surprisingly fancy and well-maintained. The rooms are lovely. The bed is wonderful and the pull out sofa isn't too uncomfortable. Lobby is small but pretty. They offer use of a computer to do internet searches in the lobby and they give you two free bottled waters every day.

The breakfast is absolutely pathetic for such a nice place though. It would be so much better if they offered some protein such as eggs or even some cut up fruit. Instead it's cereal, milk, juice, coffee, bread, and these gross sticky pastries that you would find at a Best Western. Too bad because the bfast room and outdoor patio are right next to the beach and very pleasant for sitting.

We would definitely come back here again. Love Hermosa Beach and how sleepy it still feels. It's kind of surf grungy whereas Santa Monica is slick and Euro.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank anigozanthos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    201
    44
    20
    15
See reviews for
264
317
43
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2007

All rooms are the same and the layout is great for a couple. There's a smal kitchen, bed area and living space with balcony. Beds are great, staff are nice. The rooms directly facing west have excellent ocean/beach views, but avoid the ground floor unless you want bikers/walkers looking in your room at you. I've decided not to stay here any more (have stayed many times) because I can't afford the ocean-front rooms (around $300+) and I don't think the partial or non-view rooms are worth the price. Gripes are valet parking and that they provide those fake logs to burn in the fireplaces (in all rooms). Those logs emit a chemical smell that leaks out into the hallways (not to mention what they do to you in the rooms). In summary, if you have the money for ocean-front, it's great. Otherwise, go elsewhere (maybe Redondo).

  • Liked — Location is awesome if you stay beachfront. Great restaurants and bars nearby.
  • Disliked — Smelly chemical fireplace logs, price, valet parking.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank WetAndCold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2007

We just got back from a fabulous stay at the Beach House. The hotel is beautiful, the lobby is welcoming and the location can't be beat. We had a room on the third floor (top floor) with the ocean view. If you can splurge for the full ocean view, do it! The partial ocean views aren't worth it. The room was spacious, clean and well-appointed. The bathroom had a tub and a shower and was of generous size. The bed was extremely comfortable and the view was unbeatable! We didn't have any problems with noise.. even though we stayed on a Friday night. We enjoyed sitting on our balcony overlooking the beach, watching the sunset.. or having coffee in the morning.

Two negatives of the hotel: Keep in mind, you'll have to pay $22/night for valet parking. I also didn't think the front desk was very friendly or that accommodating.

But those two things wouldn't prevent me from staying there again. I'd go back in a heartbeat!

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the staff
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank lunchtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2007

The hotel rocks. The rooms are very clean. The beds are very comfy and cozy. All of the rooms are the same but some have great views of the ocean and beach. The rooms have a sink with a mini fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. The rooms have a fireplace and 2 TVs.

  • Liked — Great access to fantastic beach.
  • Disliked — Only one sized room.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank netspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2007

We booked our ocean view room after reading reviews on this site. Very nice, clean, modern hotel with well-appointed rooms, nice linens and furniture, pretty comfortable beds. I would have to say that the hotel's location is its best feature -- once here you can walk to restaurants, bars and everything else you might want to enjoy. The location is also the hotel's only downside though: Since you are right on the beach and side streets, rooms can be a bit noisy. When we checked in, I could hear loud children's voices in the room next door, music coming from a room somewhere and street noise below (we were on the third floor, north side of building). I left the fan on all night and used ear plugs and that worked pretty well. This is the first time we have stayed at a hotel other than the W in LA, and I have to admit that I am kind of spoiled by the W's big, 3-room cybersuites. The Beach House room felt kind of claustrophobic in comparison, but hey, this is beachfront property so I understand that space is at a premium. We will definitely be back the next time we visit our daughter in Manhattan Beach, since this is clearly the best property in the area (don't even THINK about the scary-looking Sea Sprite located a block or two south on The Strand). We tried La Playita across the street for dinner one night and it was pretty good; their breakfasts must be good too as we noticed they drew quite a crowd each morning. Mangiamo on the Manhattan Beach pier was another nice dinner spot.
One more tip: Before you book, go to the Beach House website and sign up to receive email notifications of special deals. I did and received an offer a few days after I booked the room that was significantly less than the price I had originally been given. I called the hotel, and they gladly honored the special price.
Enjoy!

  • Liked — location, up-to-date decor and amenities
  • Disliked — street noise
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank PPop54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, ca
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2006

Excelent hotel, not a cheap one, but neither an expensive one... was the best for the price and the view... 400 per a night with the sunset in my direct window....amazing!!
the fireplace, the great bead sheets, ufff..after spending 4 hours looking for the best hotel. the beach house is the best option...

stop looking, you found the perfect one.

staff were very friendly to let me park my car after i checked out to go to the beach.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank zerobacan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2006

My wife and I moved to this hotel after two terrible days at a hotel in -Redondo Beach- really great medium sized hotel right on the beach- top quality.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank gordonadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermosa Beach
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
1.7 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grandview Inn
Grandview Inn
#6 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach

Property: Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Address: 1300 The Strand, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254-3548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Hermosa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach House is a perfect beach hotel just 10 minutes from LAX and nestled in sunny Hermosa Beach, walking distance to Pier Ave and the Hermosa Pier, home to abundant restaurants and shops. Beach House is your perfect choice for a family vacation or romantic coastal getaway. Enjoy complimentary Continental breakfast overlooking the Pacific Ocean in the Strand Cafe. In addition enjoy our complimentary high speed internet througout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House At Hermosa Beach Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach Hotel Hermosa
Hermosa Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing