We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING MINI APT W/FIREPLACES/VIEWS/BREAKFAST/FAMILY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hermosa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
WISCONSIN
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“OUTSTANDING MINI APT W/FIREPLACES/VIEWS/BREAKFAST/FAMILY”
Reviewed March 28, 2010

Found this hotel 5 yrs ago and I stay here every time I am in town. Right on the beach and close to restaurants and shops. Perfect for families with kids because rooms are like mini apartments with kitchens, living rooms and fireplaces. Spa services available. Nice breakfast offered with a great view of the beach, so will save you money. Rooms are so tasteful that they were even featured on a design show. Great beds as well. High end for not over the top price when you take breakfast and the kitchen into consideration.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADVISORLRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    205
    44
    20
    15
See reviews for
270
320
43
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2010

Stayed here for one night, Valentines day. Our first attraction to this hotel was the perfect location, on the strand, near the pier and restaurants. Once we arrived, valet was seamless, front desk staff was pleasant, warm and welcoming. We booked an ocean front room (i think it was 209. there is a light pole in front of the balcony. not a major upset but it is there), requested 3rd floor but only 2nd was avail (we only booked a few days prior to arrival). The key to booking the room with the best view is reading all room types before booking or simply call to hotel to ask which rooms face the ocean. Upon entering we were pleasantly surprised. The website doesn't do the place justice. An update to their gallery is needed. It's very beach, chic and love the mini kitchen. It was great to have a place to chill our goodies we brought from home. We requested in-advance to have the rented dvd player in our room upon arrival and it was there, connected and ready to go. The flat screen tvs were great, worked well, and the stereo system was also a great perk (vs just a clock radio). Within minutes we had relaxing music playing, balcony doors open, kicking back on the CLEAN! outdoor furnishings, enjoying our sunny afternoon. There were complimentary valentines day chocolates in the room also which was a nice touch!

Our only minor issue was the lack of privacy on the balconies. There can be a small screen of some kind installed so if you are sitting further back on the balcony, closer to the sliding door and not leaning on the railing, your neighbor cannot immediately see you unless he/she leans over to look. Yes it's a balcony, passers by can look up but, I kinda wanted a bit more privacy if even just to have a conversation. I also realize some may want a full view of the ocean left to right but privacy screens are not solid, they simply allow a bit of privacy.

Otherwise our stay was great. We walked to breakfast (we had no problem with there being a lack of food on-site since there is so much within walking distance), rented bikes and had a great time. Highly recommend for a little getaway.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank couple2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2010

Amazing Rooms and View! Including a great sound system in the room, fireplace and small kitchenette. Very comfortable bedding too.

Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HollyP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2009

I love this place, it's Shutter's Santa Monica w/o the pool, bar and restaurant, and the pretentious attitude. I'll take it!
The only recommendation I have is that if possible, try to stay in the building on the west side of the alley (it has 2 buildings) and don't stay on the first floor because kids seem to be loud on that floor. I love that you can stay here and walk everywhere, comedy club, beachfront and the bed and bathtub/room is fantastic--especially love the fireplace. I guess my only wish is that they had a pool and a bar because I like to lounge and drink while the boyfriend surfs the tasty waves right outside the hotel Parking is a little much- $20, but I still LOVE this place!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingbuddymel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2009

I have stayed at this hotel 15 times since its opening. This is the only hotel of its caliber on the sand in the south bay section of Los Angeles County, but you pay for it. So in that way it is unique. It is steps away from Pier Avenue. We walk everywhere when we stay here. It is just a relaxing time on the beach. I don't recommend the rooms that don't face the beach or the rooms on the first floor. If you are going to do either of those, you might as well stay at a cheaper place.

The hotel has been around close to 10 years now, if my memory serves. And in some ways it could use a refresh. Each room is individual owned by an investor; hence it’s a condo-tel. I know there are certain guidelines the investor must follow, but it’s getting really close to time for a major overhaul. You can only touch up the trim so many times. That being said, if you want a top notch hotel on the Strand, this is your ONLY choice. I have great memories at this place and I hope it is around a long time.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank inalienable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, CA
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Our friend's timeshare. Rack rates for this hotel seem high since it does not have the amenities of an hotel of this class. Small jacuzzi and exercise room. No restaurant or pool, but free Wifi and other internet access available. Valet parking or public pay garage adjacent.
The location on the beach, near the pier and all the local eateries, is excellent and it makes a good base to explore the adjacent beach towns by foot or bike.
Complimentary buffet breakfast is available inside or outside, with a view of the joggers on the strand, the beach and the ocean.
We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed the suite. The quality of the cable TV picture was poor and this negated the point of having two large flat screen TVs.
Our sideview suite was somewhat noisy as the valet parking and roadway were located beneath us, so try and get a suite directly facing the ocean.
If you can get this hotel at a discount; stay there.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanDiegobased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We stayed here for just one night at the end of a road trip. It is a beautiful hotel that has everything you could wish for. Our only regret is that we could not stay longer.

The room was luxurious and of a very high standard.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lucii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermosa Beach
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
138 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Redondo Beach
436 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach
1.7 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
503 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach

Property: Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Address: 1300 The Strand, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254-3548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Hermosa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach House is a perfect beach hotel just 10 minutes from LAX and nestled in sunny Hermosa Beach, walking distance to Pier Ave and the Hermosa Pier, home to abundant restaurants and shops. Beach House is your perfect choice for a family vacation or romantic coastal getaway. Enjoy complimentary Continental breakfast overlooking the Pacific Ocean in the Strand Cafe. In addition enjoy our complimentary high speed internet througout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House At Hermosa Beach Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach Hotel Hermosa
Hermosa Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing