We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach stay to remember”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hermosa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Saginaw, Michigan, United States
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beach stay to remember”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

What a great property! Beautifully maintained! Very comfortable! Myself, my husband and son stayed here while visiting USC and looking at rental properties for him to live in while attending dental school for the next four years. Hermosa Beach is a scenic surf town with plenty of great restaurants, quaint shopping and fun bars to walk to right from your hotel. Very laid back. Well worth the extra money to stay in a beach front room. The sound of the waves is a great sleep inducer and the complimentary Continental breakfast was excellent with great coffee, pastries and fruit! We will definitely be staying here while visiting our future dentist over the next four years. If you love to walk and bike being on The Strand is perfect. The staff was very friendly, knowledgeable.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms have a nice balcony and beautiful view. I recommend second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marje B, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you so much for your kinds words and recent stay at the Beach House Hotel. We too love the town of Hermosa Beach and agree --once here, it is easy to walk to everything you need. We look forward to your next visit, and wish your future dentist well as he continues his education at USC. Come visit often.

Best regards,
Marje B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    205
    44
    20
    15
See reviews for
271
320
43
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
omaha
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Love this hotel! Clean, crisp and well kept. I won't stay anywhere else in Hermosa. Close to everything. Valet guys are awesome. Ocean view rooms are the only way to go.

One thing, the bad outlet in my suite burned out my charger and Ipad...they are now useless. Please fix!!

Mia and Juliette Robinson, Jan. 17th, 2014

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uniquegetaways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We arrived 2/23/14 for 3 nights. We were met by friendly valet staff. Helped us with luggage, directed us the lobby. Front desk staff was very friendly & helpful. We were checked in quickly with out any problems. Room we booked was ocean front & we were not disappointed, definitely worth the cost. From the spacious room to the breath taking views from our balcony, everything was perfect. Bed was comfortable, linens were good quality. Room had a fireplace, 2 TV's, microwave, 2 burner electric stove & small fridge. Sofa & chair, along with a desk area. Bathroom was nice & big with both shower & tub. Towels were high quality also.

Breakfast consisted of coffee, tea, mik & oj, 2 cereal options, bagels, yogurt, some sweet rolls, toast & fresh fruit. Enough to start the day without having to go out to eat.

The hotel seemed very clean, property was well maintained.
Area around the hotel is typical of bars/restaurants & gift shops. Quite busy on the weekend but was quieter Monday & Tuesday. The strand (board walk area) was nice for walks.

We went to Universal studios, although 19 miles away, LA traffic is not what we are use to, after a 90 minute drive we were there & we had a great time. There are tours of LA which we were interested in so we ask our front desk person at our hotel & he had suggested VIP Tours of LA to us.

I'd like to say "Thank You" to DON at the Beach House for helping us plan our day. He called the tour service & booked our reservation for us. All we had to do was be in the lobby in the morning & we were dropped off mid-afternoon after a great day tour of Venice Beach, a few of the stars homes, Walk of fame, Chinese Theater, Hollywood, Rodeo dr. Farmers Market & a few other famous Hollywood land marks. Definitely a tour to take!

Over all I would recommend this hotel to any traveler who wants a beautiful place to stay. We hope to make it back some day & the Beach House in Hermosa Beach is the only place we would stay at. Directly on the ocean, it is clean, well maintained, beautiful views & all the staff we encountered were very friendly & helpful.

Thanks for a wonderful 3 days Hermosa Beach staff.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get an ocean front room. It is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

The Beach House is a wonderful place. The staff is always attentive and friendly. The rooms are spotless. The views are unbelievable. Access to restaurants, shops and bars within walking distance is great. Bicycles can be rented - also within walking distance. The review mentioning "luck of the draw" as far as being assigned the same room is a valid concern; however, we always call and request the room we want - and we do pay extra for ocean view, as you would with any upscale hotel. The rooms are clearly explained on the internet site. Also, no food service is really not a problem since there are so many places to eat very close by. There are always volleyball games going on during the day (especially Friday through Sunday) outside the ocean view rooms, which are entertaining. I would, and have, highly recommended, this facility to others.

Room Tip: pay the extra for ocean view - highest level (3) is best -
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djparks1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marje B, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear djparks1000- Thank you for your kind review about our Hotel and staff. We love being in the heart of Hermosa Beach where our guests have access so some great restaurants, shops, and activities for everyone. You can always do some great “people watching” also when you’re right on the strand. We’re thankful you frequent the Beach House Hotel-Hermosa Beach and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel a dozen times in the past year and a half, including three times since December 2013. It is one of my favorite hotels on my travel circuit but also one of my most frustrating. I love the location and the rooms can be amazing (full beach view with balcony), decent (peak around the balcony to see a side ocean view) and horrible (a balcony looking at a roof 2 feet away). So, your stay will depend on the luck of the room draw and if you pay up for the full ocean view. The rooms are a nice size and very bright with a fridge, a fireplace and two TVs. Not much offered for breakfast, no pool (if you care, I don't) and no food service. However, as mentioned elsewhere, you have lots of food and fun all over the place on the Strand and a block away on the area by the Hermosa Pier. The most frustrating thing is the hotel's refusal to make any effort to reward or recognize frequent stays. I thought it was more of a vacation hotel, but I noticed other business travelers who have stayed here as well. Beefing up the breakfast offering and doing something for a frequent visitor would go a long way to improve this hotel. Getting assigned room 123 after being at this location several times in quick succession shows no concern for the frequent traveler.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MD50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marje B, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear AMD 50 -- we appreciate your recent visits to the Beach House Hotel in Hermosa Beach and are sorry you did not find everything perfect. We are a small boutique hotel, and you are right, we do not have a frequent guest program but we do have many, many business travelers who choose to stay with us. And, we apologize if the room selection is not what you requested and we will do our best to make sure that does not happen on your next visit. As for food service, we provide a Continental Breakfast only, but we offer daily Room Service options for breakfast, lunch and dinner, from two of our neighboring restaurants who deliver to our rooms. Plus, as you mentioned, we have many restaurants within the few blocks surrounding the hotel, so hopefully, these can meet our guests' needs.

Thank you for your candor and we do appreciate your comments. We hope you will return again and feel free to call me directly if I can assist you in your next reservation.
Best,

Marje B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukilteo, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Great location, many restaurants and some shopping all within walking distance, we didn't even rent a car. Can be a bit noisy on weekends, but it is what we expected for the area. Nice staff and has beach amenities (chairs, toys) available free of charge. Breakfast was adequate nothing great or surprising.

Room Tip: Don't be disappointed with a partial ocean view, request 3rd floor for best ocean, beach view wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanLWarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marje B, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Jan- Thank you for your recent visit and kind words about the Beach House Hotel. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and got to take advantage of our convenient location and nearby shops. It’s great to be in a location where you have access to just about everything from great restaurants, fun activities, and plenty of coastal sightseeing. Thank you again for your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We liked how close the rooms were to everything...beaches bars...and shops.
the staff was very nice and helpful.
we will stay here again as well as refer the Beach Hotel to others.
I also recommend checking out the FFFF. BAR....the fact that hermosa is a smokeless area is a true gem.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttynsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marje B, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for your kind review and we are happy you had a great time at the Beach House and in Hermosa Beach. It is a perfect time of year for a beach getaway -- without the crowds but with the great winter sunsets. We hope you come back again soon and thanks again for your kind words.
Marje B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermosa Beach
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
138 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Redondo Beach
436 reviews
1.7 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach
1.1 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach

Property: Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Address: 1300 The Strand, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254-3548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hermosa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach House is a perfect beach hotel just 10 minutes from LAX and nestled in sunny Hermosa Beach, walking distance to Pier Ave and the Hermosa Pier, home to abundant restaurants and shops. Beach House is your perfect choice for a family vacation or romantic coastal getaway. Enjoy complimentary Continental breakfast overlooking the Pacific Ocean in the Strand Cafe. In addition enjoy our complimentary high speed internet througout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House At Hermosa Beach Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach Hotel Hermosa
Hermosa Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing