We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise by the beach.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hermosa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Paradise by the beach.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Hermosa Beach House is in the most perfect location in Hermosa Beach. Small luxury hotel situated 2 blocks away from the Happenings on the Pier but just close enough to quiet and peace on the ocean that you feel like you really escaped.

Hotel service is awesome. The breakfast served each meal overlooking the ocean is a bonus. My only complaint is the lack of bigger room options especially if you want to travel with a family and need some privacy.

There are a lot of fun brunch spots nearby such as Martha's and Good Stuff and shopping. Definitely rent a bike and take an afternoon riding up to Venice Beach. You will smile the entire trip.

Room Tip: Request one on the second floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karumba2030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marje B, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Karumba2030- Thank you for your kind compliments about the Beach House Hotel and our staff. We’re so glad you were able to enjoy your stay and took advantage of a bike ride up the coast. Being in the heart of Hermosa Beach, everyone wants to come to the Pier, but we’re happy you were able to escape the noise and have a relaxing time. Thank you again for your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    196
    42
    20
    14
See reviews for
258
308
43
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stay in this hotel 4-6 weekends each spring while visiting the South bay where we use to live. We fly in after work on Friday evenings and arrive about 10 p.m normally. Most times this leads us getting the less than desirable rooms - even though we are frequent visitors. Last year - we ended up in a handicap room that had a full size bed. We asked to be moved - but they were sold out and we had to stay in the room. Afterwards I had a phone call with Jerry the GM of the hotel. He ensured me he would make note of our room preferences and thanked us for our loyalty to the hotel. We checked in to the hotel on Friday night last week and guess what - we were put into room 123 (the same handicapped room with a full bed that I specifically asked not to be in.). After much dispute - we were moved. Im not sure why this hotel is not able to know when you have a guest who frequents your hotel over and over - and why you would not take care of them. Overall the service is not great. The front desk is not helpful and act as if your putting them out. Our room we were put in had half eaten cupcake boxes left in the room when we checked in. There was mold in the shower and the walls had gashes in them. The wood in the room is pretty beat up. The next day they forgot to clean our room. I love the location of this hotel - and want it to live up to my expectations but it continues to fail. I hope that they invest money in both the upkeep and the talent and make this the hotel it should be.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lei2739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorpark, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

The place was very nice, but it had the old 'to the side' ocean view when I was expecting a straight out the window ocean view. The location is great and our room was very nice. This place is right on the strand so it would great to have a strand facing room.

Room Tip: Make sure you talk to someone about the view in your particular room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marje B, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Glenn- Thank you for your visit to the Beach House Hotel-Hermosa Beach. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you were able to explore all that Hermosa Beach and our neighboring towns have to offer. I apologize you were not able to have a direct view of the Ocean, but I do hope you come back to try one of our Ocean Front rooms so you can have the perfect “ocean view” experience. Thank you for your compliments about the location and room, and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

I first saw this hotel 2 years ago. At the time, I was staying overnight while on transit in a hotel along Century Boulevard and had taken the Ocean Express to Manhattan Beach for a run along the beach. When I ran past Hermosa Beach, I fell in love with this property and told myself that I must come back and stay here.

After a 20-hour flight journey and a 20 minute cab ride from LAX, we finally arrived. The long wait did not disappoint.

We'd booked a ocean view room for 2 nights, at the winter promotion rate of USD499. We were expecting a lower level room since it was the promotional rate but were delighted to be given a room on the highest floor. Other reviewers had commented about how the ocean view room only provided the view when you're near the balcony. While this is true, I don't know what the issue was. It is a fantastic view and the fact that the room is away from the esplanade which would be right in front of the ocean front room meant more privacy and quiet.

The room and bathroom were spacious and very nicely laid out. I especially loved the fireplace though I didn't get to use it as the two nights we were there were mild winter nights. The toiletries were nice

Breakfast is a simple affair, continental - cereals, fruits, bagels, bread and a few types of pastries. While the variety wasn't great, everything that was there was very delicious. On both nights, we walked or jogged to Manhattan Beach for dinner. Manhattan Beach is about 2 miles away the hotel but we did not feel the distance because it was such a pleasant and scenic walk. In the day, we rented bikes from the nearby store and rode along the esplanade. It was very pleasant.

The sunset was beautiful. I love how the entire beachfront faces west so in the evening when we were walking towards Manhattan Beach for dinner, we were able to enjoy the full splendour of dusk. There are many restaurants and cafes in Hermosa Beach itself, just a stone's throw away from the hotel. We just wanted to go back to the restaurants we'd been to on previous visits to Manhattan Beach.

The one complaint I have is the air-con. There is an individual control in the room but I don't think it works. I stayed at the end of January, in the midst of winter and I found the room very stuffy. We turned the temperature down to the lowest setting, but the thermostat still showed it was 74F and it was very, very stuffy. My husband and I would wake up sweating in the middle of the night. In the end, we slept with the sliding doors opened. I can't imagine how intolerable it must be in summer.

All in all, this is a place I'd definitely come back to, but only in the cooler months.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marje B, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear mymoo- Thank you so much for your recent stay at the Beach House Hotel-Hermosa Beach, so glad you were able to stay with us. We do have some amazing views from our location as well as accessibility to many activities; just one of the many reasons why we are a favorite in the South Bay. We apologize if the air controllers were not working properly, we do try to make sure all of our guests are comfortable and if there is an issue, we would be happy to look in to it right away for your convenience. Thank you again for coming to visit us and we look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Family of four stayed here for 4 nights. The stay was amazing! We booked a beachfront room based on the photos of the view and were not disappointed. We all loved the chairs & balcony where we could watch the volleyball on the beach or the sunsets.
Best things or "pros" about this hotel include:
Location - it is right on the strand and about 15 feet from the sand
Rooms were fairly large given my experience in SoCal
Had a decent fridge and even a two burner stove & tea kettle. The room had plates, cutlery and glasses as well. Couldn't cook meals here but it was nice to get take out or room service (from a local restaurant) and eat on real kitchenware.
Air conditioning was good
Our room had a bath and a shower which was great with two youngsters covered in sand
Included continental breakfast was great - our kids loved having cereal and toast in the mornings
Even with the patio door open, we never heard the bars/restaurants that were 1-2 blocks away on Pier Ave
Front desk staff were always engaging and helpful and the cleaners seemed to know when we were gone long enough to clean the room unlike many large hotels so often do.
If I have to put a "con" in the review it would be that there is not a pool. We truthfully didn't care but it might be good for some people to know.
After such a great stay, we will definitely return to the Beach House!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vpfreedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marje B, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear vpfreedude- Thank you for choosing the Beach House Hotel for your family vacation. Hermosa Beach is a great place to bring a family and you’ll never be bored with the ocean and local activities just steps away. We’re happy our accommodations allowed you to feel comfortable during your stay and hope you felt like it was a home way from home. We look forward to welcoming you back to the South Bay next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Hotel is next to the beach with ocean view rooms and non-ocean view rooms available at a slightly lower cost. Service is good with convenient valet parking. Rooms are good size, well light and well appointed. There are many good restruants within walking distance. The reception lobby is small but comfortable and relaxed - fits the beach setting very well. While I was in the area for business, the hotel was perfect for evening down time and an early morning run along the beach.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gfarm1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marje B, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear gfarm1981- Thank you for choosing the Beach House Hotel for your stay, so glad you enjoyed it and found everything to your liking! We try to fulfill all of our guests needs as best as possible by making everything convenient and accessible for them, so I’m happy you were comfortable. I hope you were able to have a relaxing stay on your business trip and would love to welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed one night here last week the night before our flight out of LAX. The hotel is in a great location - way better than staying in a hotel in the city. But, I have to say, the rooms are a little "tired". Lots of scuff marks on the walls and the tiles in the bathroom are cracking, etc. Also, the toilet seat REALLY should be switched out. A simple thing like that - attention to details - make the difference to someone like me. It was stained and yellow and worn - just not what you want to see. Also - the kids slept on the pull out sofa and it was NEARLY unusable. The mattress was so lumpy and bumpy that my son fell out of the bed because of the "slope" it had. Not good. But, it was good and though we likely wouldn't stay here again, it was good for what we needed. Disclaimer: I am a hotel/accommodations "snob" of sorts. I worked for Marriott for years and really expect the best when I pay for a place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kylaroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marje B, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear kylaroy- Thank you to you and your family for choosing the Beach House Hotel-Hermosa Beach for your overnight stay. We agree our location can’t be beat as it is miles away from LA traffic for a more relaxing visit. Your review is truly appreciated as we are always looking for ways to improve all aspects of our guest’s accommodations. If issues are brought to our attention in time, we are always happy to see how we can remedy any situation. Thank you again for your stay and review, we hope you do consider returning to the Beach House in the future and give us an opportunity to show you our improvements
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermosa Beach
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
1.7 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach

Property: Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Address: 1300 The Strand, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Hermosa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach House is a perfect beach hotel just 10 minutes from LAX and nestled in sunny Hermosa Beach, walking distance to Pier Ave and the Hermosa Pier, home to abundant restaurants and shops. Beach House is your perfect choice for a family vacation or romantic coastal getaway. Enjoy complimentary Continental breakfast overlooking the Pacific Ocean in the Strand Cafe. In addition enjoy our complimentary high speed internet througout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Jetsetter, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House At Hermosa Beach Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach Hotel Hermosa
Hermosa Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing