We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, cozy room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hermosa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed three night on top floor. Spectacular view of pier, surfers, sunsets, volleyball players, walkers and cyclists. Small balcony very nice. Split-level room a little cramped but well laid out with very large bathroom. Shower and tub! Two of us slept on fold-out sofa bed - not too comfy. Gas fireplace and two televisions. Convenient work desk and free Wi-Fi. Breakfast room well stocked with Danishes, cereal, fruit, etc. Can eat outside and watch the action on the Strand and volleyball courts. Extremely courteous staff, especially the man at the breakfast room. Exercise room small and cramped - an afterthought - but who needs it? Rent a bicycle or walk the Strand instead! Steps from our fave little Mexican restaurant La Playita. Valet parking is only overnight parking option and expensive. Inconvenient if you are in and out a lot, but valet staff very helpful. Overall price including valet parking is pretty steep, but what a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are quieter, ground floor rooms could present a security risk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cmon_Blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marje B, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you very much for your recent stay and review of the Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach. We had spectacular weather during your stay, so we hope you were able to see the magnificent winter sunsets, and enjoy the calm and warm weather. Thank you for your kind comments and I will pass along your compliments to Antonio in our breakfast room who is very helpful and cheerful, and we are happy we could all help you enjoy your stay. We hope you will return soon.
Warm Regards,
Marje B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (873)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

439 - 445 of 873 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

This was a wonderful hotel right on the beach to take a family. We loved it! We spent time on beach with our kids right in front of our room. We will come back again and bring the family foranother beach vacation..

Room Tip: sray in ocean front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellum3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marje B, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Fellow Angelenos -- thank you very much for your recent visit to the Beach House in Hermosa. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with your family and were able to enjoy the great beach weather. It never tires is Hermosa -- even on cloudy days we are very fortunate to have The Strand for bikes and walks, the sand to visit the Ocean or just watch the waves, and of course the great people watching from the Pier and surroundings. We look forward to your return visit and remember, we offer beach towels, beach chairs and the complimentary Continental breakfast which is usually a hit with families. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us.
Warm regards,
Marje B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I stayed at the Beach House with my sister over Christmas. Our room was an Ocean View suite overlooking the park next door. The view was great and the room relaxing. The lobby is welcoming with a number of papers for guests (including NY Times, WS Journal, LA Times, etc). You can also get towels and chairs for the beach. There were a couple of negatives that prevented me from giving this five stars: the sofa bed was quite uncomfortable (we ended up using some cushions on the floor) and one of the early evenings a number of kids were skateboarding next to the hotel. Otherwise it was an excellent stay and the location could not be beat.

Room Tip: If you get an Ocean View I recommend getting a room on the park-side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marje B, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thanks so much for your recent stay at the Beach House Hotel in Hermosa Beach, and for your review. We are happy you enjoyed the staff, the hotel and the location, and do apologize for the few items you mentioned which did not meet your expectations. All rooms are identical in bedding, with a King bed and Queen size sofa bed, and we do realize, the sofa beds are not always comfortable. We are researching new ones now and hope to install them soon. And, the skateboarders are drawn to the area as well at the beach. We do our best to work with the city to keep them manageable, but know sometimes they are many of them. We apologize and hope this won't prevent you from a return visit. Thanks again for your candor, and we hope to see you back soon at the Beach House Hotel Hermosa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Anniversary of first date with the Mrs. Actually stayed in the same room as our wedding night. Great room, central location in Hermosa Beach, near pier plaza restaurants & bars. Exceptional views of beach/ocean and Santa Monica Bay coastline, from Malibu to Catalina Island.

Friendly and helpful staff and great treats in the lobby.

We live in Hermosa, but make a point of having a night away from it all (kids, mess, etc.) every December, and the Beach House is a preferred destination.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marje B, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Thank you so much for your return visit and we are happy to hear you enjoyed the Beach House. We welcome you back anytime -- anniversary or not, and please let me know the next time you are coming, as I am always happy to welcome our locals to the hotel. Happy Anniversary, and we look forward to your return visit.
Best regards,
Marje B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Checked out today from the beach house after 2 nights and loved this place. Beautiful room, location, awesome views of beach/ocean, very friendly and helpful staff and to top it off - best treats in lobby - sorry I ate so many cookies but they were the best ever! We will make it a point to stay at the beach house every time we visit this area. Again kudos to the front desk, valet and breakfast hosts as they were so very nice and welcoming!!! Thx!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank lovessensi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marje B, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Thank you so much for your recent stay with us at the Beach House in Hermosa. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel, our staff -- and the Christmas cookies. And, you can as many cookies as you like -- we're not counting! Come back and join us soon and have a wonderful Holiday Season.
The Staff of the Beach House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

From the moment I arrived the staff was super friendly & helpful. I was upgraded to an ocean view suite which really made the stay incredible!! The bed was comfortable & all the room amenities were fantastic. I have zero complaints about the Beach House. Woke up everyday to a nice walk on the strand & can watch the sunset from the pier. Highly recommend staying here & getting away from it all.

Room Tip: splurge & get the ocean view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adfoleykennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marje B, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

thank you so much for your recent stay at the Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, and your nice review. We appreciate your kind comments about our staff and are happy we could make the stay memorable. We look forward to your return visit and Happy Holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

this hotel is very well located just on the beach , it's a very clean hotel nice staff room are big with sofa kitchenette big bathroom and very quiet just on the border of the pacific ocean
internet network is good and easy to connect , breakfast is poor at the level of the choice

Room Tip: all rooms are well but if you want to see sea from your room need to book front sea because from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alliLesve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marje B, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thanks for your recent stay and review of the Beach House in Hermosa Beach. We appreciate your comments and are happy you enjoyed the hotel and the Hermosa area. Our Continental Breakfast is included with your stay and we are sorry if it did not fulfill your needs. We have pastries, bagels, morning breads, coffee, tea, juices, fresh fruit and yogurt. In addition, we have several excellent choices around the hotel with a more complete breakfast and we are happy to assist you in finding them. We do hope you will return and visit us again soon.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermosa Beach
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
171 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
150 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Redondo Beach
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
521 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach
1.3 mi away
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach

Address: 1300 The Strand, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254-3548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hermosa Beach
Price Range: $291 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach House is a perfect beach hotel just 10 minutes from LAX and nestled in sunny Hermosa Beach, walking distance to Pier Ave and the Hermosa Pier, home to abundant restaurants and shops. Beach House is your perfect choice for a family vacation or romantic coastal getaway. Enjoy complimentary Continental breakfast overlooking the Pacific Ocean in the Strand Cafe. In addition enjoy our complimentary high speed internet througout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House At Hermosa Beach Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach Hotel Hermosa
Hermosa Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing