We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful. As always.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hermosa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Anniversary of first date with the Mrs. Actually stayed in the same room as our wedding night. Great room, central location in Hermosa Beach, near pier plaza restaurants & bars. Exceptional views of beach/ocean and Santa Monica Bay coastline, from Malibu to Catalina Island.

Friendly and helpful staff and great treats in the lobby.

We live in Hermosa, but make a point of having a night away from it all (kids, mess, etc.) every December, and the Beach House is a preferred destination.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marje B, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Thank you so much for your return visit and we are happy to hear you enjoyed the Beach House. We welcome you back anytime -- anniversary or not, and please let me know the next time you are coming, as I am always happy to welcome our locals to the hotel. Happy Anniversary, and we look forward to your return visit.
Best regards,
Marje B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (873)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 873 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Checked out today from the beach house after 2 nights and loved this place. Beautiful room, location, awesome views of beach/ocean, very friendly and helpful staff and to top it off - best treats in lobby - sorry I ate so many cookies but they were the best ever! We will make it a point to stay at the beach house every time we visit this area. Again kudos to the front desk, valet and breakfast hosts as they were so very nice and welcoming!!! Thx!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank lovessensi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marje B, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Thank you so much for your recent stay with us at the Beach House in Hermosa. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel, our staff -- and the Christmas cookies. And, you can as many cookies as you like -- we're not counting! Come back and join us soon and have a wonderful Holiday Season.
The Staff of the Beach House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

From the moment I arrived the staff was super friendly & helpful. I was upgraded to an ocean view suite which really made the stay incredible!! The bed was comfortable & all the room amenities were fantastic. I have zero complaints about the Beach House. Woke up everyday to a nice walk on the strand & can watch the sunset from the pier. Highly recommend staying here & getting away from it all.

Room Tip: splurge & get the ocean view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adfoleykennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marje B, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

thank you so much for your recent stay at the Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, and your nice review. We appreciate your kind comments about our staff and are happy we could make the stay memorable. We look forward to your return visit and Happy Holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

this hotel is very well located just on the beach , it's a very clean hotel nice staff room are big with sofa kitchenette big bathroom and very quiet just on the border of the pacific ocean
internet network is good and easy to connect , breakfast is poor at the level of the choice

Room Tip: all rooms are well but if you want to see sea from your room need to book front sea because from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alliLesve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marje B, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thanks for your recent stay and review of the Beach House in Hermosa Beach. We appreciate your comments and are happy you enjoyed the hotel and the Hermosa area. Our Continental Breakfast is included with your stay and we are sorry if it did not fulfill your needs. We have pastries, bagels, morning breads, coffee, tea, juices, fresh fruit and yogurt. In addition, we have several excellent choices around the hotel with a more complete breakfast and we are happy to assist you in finding them. We do hope you will return and visit us again soon.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Indeed, the location of The Beach House is second-to-none. But this is reflected in the room rate which also brings expectations of excellence.

On a return visit over Labor Day weekend, we found black mold in our bathroom. Of course, the hotel was sold out so moving wasn't an option. We also noticed that the property seemed to have fallen into a bit of disrepair, e.g., the railings on the balcony were rusty. Again, not what one expects considering the reputation of the hotel and room rates.

When we returned home, I received a survey and took time to let them know - along with photos of the mold - that we were disappointed. The Front Desk Manager replied: "I have looked at the pictures you sent, needless to say I am embarrassed. We do believe that the Beach House is a first class establishment. The state of your bathroom is unacceptable. I can assure that we are already taking the necessary steps to correct the problem. We certainly value you as returning guest. I would like to offer you a complimentary night."

Fair enough, right? They offered to mail a gift certificate, since I didn't know when we would return. That was in October. We received nothing. I contacted the Front Desk Manager again in November, since I was planning a return visit. Nothing.

I'm afraid The Beach House experience - for us - has degraded from 5 stars to a dim light. How disappointing.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JohnDMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marje B, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you for your honest review regarding your recent stay. We appreciate your candor and apologize for the problem in the bathroom and shower stall. It has been corrected and again, we do apologize we were unable to move you during your stay. We neglected to send your complimentary stay Certificate but it has now been sent. Again, it was an error on our part and we always work to treat every guest with respect and courtesy and honesty. We look forward to your next return and please feel free to call me or our Front Office Manager Jerry directly to help you with your next reservation at the Beach House Hotel in Hermosa Beach. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Another great weekend at the Beach House. It is always an excellent experience. Have been enjoying for several years always first choice when in the South Bay. Location can't be better and cont. breakfast always good.

Room Tip: Ocean view is the best and well worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheronWalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marje B, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you so much for your recent stay and review of the Beach House Hotel in Hermosa Beach. We loved having you and hope you will come again on your next trip to the South Bay. We look forward to your visit!
Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Hotel is located right on the beach. Room was clean, modern and had all amenities you need. A very relaxing place to chill. Breakfast could have had a little more to choose from given what you pay to stay here. We stayed here after travelling around for 3 weeks and a great way to relax. Plenty of great restaurants and bars in walking distance

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marje B, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Der Angie - thank you for your recent visit to the Beach House Hotel in Hermosa Beach. We were happy to be your last stop on your trip and hope you will come see us again on your next visit from Australia. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Beach House.
Best regards,
Marje Bennetts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermosa Beach
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
171 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
150 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Redondo Beach
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
520 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach
1.3 mi away
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach

Address: 1300 The Strand, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254-3548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hermosa Beach
Price Range: $291 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach House is a perfect beach hotel just 10 minutes from LAX and nestled in sunny Hermosa Beach, walking distance to Pier Ave and the Hermosa Pier, home to abundant restaurants and shops. Beach House is your perfect choice for a family vacation or romantic coastal getaway. Enjoy complimentary Continental breakfast overlooking the Pacific Ocean in the Strand Cafe. In addition enjoy our complimentary high speed internet througout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House At Hermosa Beach Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach Hotel Hermosa
Hermosa Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing