We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hermosa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2013

stayed here with my girlfriend, we had a great time with a stunning room overlooking the Beach. The room lacked nothing at all and was more than comfortable, felt spoilt. We took advantage of room service there, this was excellent and I would recommend no problem.

We loved out stay and we have already booked to go back in December.

Room Tip: 210 overlooked the Beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANDREW T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (873)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

455 - 461 of 873 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

We have stayed there 3 times this year. While it is not a "Full service hotel" (don't think there is room service, no pool, etc.) the rooms are very large and bright, the staff is terrific and the location is perfect. Will stay there when we go back in March. It's a little expensive, but generally worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter02557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Spend the extra money and get a room with a view and balcony. Well worth the expense! Loved being able to sit on the balacony and watch the sunsets. Great breakfast downstairs. They were even shooting a video or commercial right next door. Tours are available thru the hotel which is a major plus. Only thing I would change would be parking. They only have vallet which would have cost us more than the car rental for the whole week so we got a taxi to and from hotel. Easy to gwt around and a safe place to walk around and shop even at night. Look forward to going back as soon as possible! !!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lacicd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Arrived to find out we had been given an upgrade. Hotel easy drive from the airport. Room we was very clean and tidy, small kitchen included. Room had view of beach, however if light sleeper could be an issue as you can hear everyone walking or roller blading past room. Guess this might be an issue in busy summer months. Had small issue with delivery of luggage but handled very well by reception staff. Overall a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: rooms on the beach front can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We LOVED this place. It was our last and best stop on a 6 day driving tour of CA. We got to the hotel very early (around noon) and were thrilled that we could check in right away. After 6 hours in the car, this was a plus. When we checked in, we were told we were "upgraded" to ocean front, which confused us because we thought that's what we booked anyway. After reading some other reviews, maybe we booked ocean VIEW, not FRONT...? Either way, for $350, we stayed in a second floor room with a balcony right over the strand and with incredible views of the beach and a magnificent sunset. The room was great. We were only here one night, but would love to come back for a more extended stay. We had a bedroom, living room area, kitchenette, fireplace, and 2 flat screen TVs. The room was extremely clean, including shrink wrap on everything in the kitchen. The location was perfect. We walked the strand for miles, enjoying the beach views and the incredible houses you're surrounded by. We really liked that the area didn't feel touristy. There were only a couple of hotels in the area, and this one looked like the nicest, and best location. You could walk anywhere you would need to go in the area: restaurants, bars, corner store, and liquor store all in walking distance. We had a very relaxing stay and wish we had more time here. We had no problem with noise from the strand, although I could see a privacy issue if you were on the ground floor. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony, taking in the view and people watching. Can't wait to go back! Even though this hotel might seem expensive to some--it's worth it! And make sure your room is 2nd floor or higher with the beachfront view.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieandDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stayed here three nights while on a business trip. Most guests are obviously here on vacation.The sand is literally 20 feet from the hotel, and the ocean-front rooms are beautiful. My room consisted of a king bed, small work desk, and sofa/coffee table area with a gas fireplace. It also has a mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, tea kettle, sink and hotplate. There are good-size flat-screen TVs in both the "living area" and the bed area. The bathroom has both a tub (with rubber ducky!) and a shower, and came with Aveda bath amenities (although the conditioner is no good).

Everything in the room is super-clean, almost germaphobic-standard clean. For example, the coffee pot, mugs and silverware are wrapped in shrinkwrap to show it hasn't been used. The towels and bathrobe could be softer but are clean and fine. There isn't really room service; what they call room service is actually delivery from a local bar. It's about a two-minute walk to the restaurant, so I recommend calling ahead for takeout if you don't order enough food to meet the delivery $20 minimum (or don't want to pay the delivery fee, plus tip). And actually, lots of restaurant choices are within short walking distance, so get out and take a look what's there (just south of the hotel).

My only complaint about this particular room is the noise. When I checked in, they told me I'd been "upgraded" from an ocean-view room (in which you can actually only see the ocean from the balcony, apparently -- do read the room descriptions carefully) to an ocean-front room. However, it seems they only "upgrade" you to one of the ground-level ocean-front rooms, which sit right along an extremely busy walking/biking/skating path. There's not much privacy and it gets pretty noisy until late at night. I wouldn't really consider this an upgrade, although the view is pretty great. The best rooms are the second- and third-floor ocean-front rooms.

The free continental breakfast is high-quality, although there's not much variety. The orange and grapefruit juices taste especially fresh. Breakfast consists of bread, several pastries, mini muffins and bagels, standard pieces of fruit (bananas, oranges, red delicious apples), flavored yogurt and two types of cold cereal. The breakfast cafe has some tables outside overlooking the beach, which was a great way to start the day (if a bit chilly in October).

Staff members were friendly every time we interacted. Overall, an average- to above-average hotel (for the price) in a phenomenal location.

Room Tip: Ocean-front rooms on the first floor are a bit noisy. I wouldn't pay extra for one of these room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SushiFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I've stayed here several times in 2013 for business travel. If you want an amazing beach view and location, this is not it. It's right on the beach, but the Hermosa pier is not the most magical place on the California coast. If you just want to get some sand in your toes and walk by the water, it's quick access. I wouldn't hang the success of a beach vacation or romantic getaway on this location, however.

The rooms are very comfortable and tastefully decorated, almost like little suites. The ocean view rooms do have a view of the ocean, but beware, if you get a 1st floor ocean view room, people are walking right by you on the boardwalk, not even worth opening the shutters. Another time, I was surprised to find a volleyball tournament set up right outside my room.

The exterior and lobby are dated compared to the room interiors. The hotel has no restaurant. The continental breakfast is just average, you can get a better breakfast burrito down the street instead. There is a little outdoor terrace where you can eat breakfast, which is nice. It's a quick walk to lots of restaurant and some shopping options.

Each time I stayed, I had to specifically ask for the wifi password, which is annoying. Employees did not seem to go out of their way to greet people or take their stay to the next level. No one was rude or anything, just average. One time they did screw up my bill and put valet parking on it when I hadn't brought a car. It got fixed, but do check your line items carefully.

Room Tip: You do not want the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janewinebox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermosa Beach
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
171 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
150 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Redondo Beach
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
521 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach
1.3 mi away
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach

Address: 1300 The Strand, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254-3548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hermosa Beach
Price Range: $292 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach House is a perfect beach hotel just 10 minutes from LAX and nestled in sunny Hermosa Beach, walking distance to Pier Ave and the Hermosa Pier, home to abundant restaurants and shops. Beach House is your perfect choice for a family vacation or romantic coastal getaway. Enjoy complimentary Continental breakfast overlooking the Pacific Ocean in the Strand Cafe. In addition enjoy our complimentary high speed internet througout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House At Hermosa Beach Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach Hotel Hermosa
Hermosa Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing