We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hermosa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Brazil
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed there for 5 nights and everything ran perfectly. This is a front beach hotel and I chose an ocean front room. As I was attending to a beach tennis tournament (by the way, the best tournament I have ever participated), the arena was just steps away. The room had mini kitchen facilities and a separate room with a second TV. The bathroom, very spacious, was fitted with a bathtub. All amenities can be found: safe, hair dryer, bath indulgences etc. The staff was very attentive and kind.

Room Tip: Ocean front room - no doubt!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaT33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    205
    44
    20
    15
See reviews for
270
320
43
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed four nights in an ocean front room. We reserved an ocean view room, but when we arrived, we were upgraded to an ocean front room. I was thrilled! It did not disappoint. Our room was on the first floor and the boardwalk was directly in front of us. We enjoyed watching the passerby's walking their dogs, skateboarding, and bicycling. We also got to watch many groups practice volleyball on the beach. My husband and I enjoyed the complimentary breakfast every morning while sitting on our balcony. The king size bed was very comfortable. The room was perfect for the two of us. I feel it may be small for four people. The hotel supplies beach chairs (with an insulated cooler attached) and towels for the beach. The location is perfect! Plenty of stores and restaurants within walking distance. The staff was very pleasant and always eager to help. Every time we entered the lobby we were always greeted with a nice small and conversation. The room was very clean. If we go back to LA, I would definitely stay here again. A very relaxing and enjoyable vacation!

Room Tip: Ocean front room is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueH61663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montville, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Only one complaint, 4PM check-in means 4PM check in. We arrived at 3PM and our rooms were not ready until exactly 4PM. Great location, staff was accomodating but not over the top. This property is all about the oceanfront rooms after that everything else is secondary.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton u.k
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed for three nights in a beach front room on the third floor. We have visited Hermosa Beach before so knew where the hotel was. After a 4 day drive from Phoenix we were looking forward to the rest. We were not disappointed. Our room was large with a super king bed and sofa area. There was a fridge and small stove and microwave. There is a gas fire if it got cool and air con was quiet. The real bonus is the balcony were we sat and watch the sunset. I would get a second or third floor room as there is a path along the front with people walking or cycling past all day. The hotel do a continental breakfast and you can sit outside and watch the beach and the people pass by. They also loan you beach chairs.
There are lots of decent restaurants near by but we loved our room and balcony so much we took a pizza back and ate it there one night. If you stay over a weekend see if there is a show on at The Comedy and Magic Club just a few 100 metres away. We had a great evening out there and it wasn't too expensive.
If you have a car you will have to pay $24 a night to park it at the hotel. The wifi was free and fast. We were able to FaceTime our children back home. This might not be the cheapest hotel you ever stay in but it is great value because of its quality and location.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank robgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We took a 4 day three night break at the beach house. We had a great time. We reserved a Beach view room and were given a Beach Front room on the ground floor. I was a little concerned but am very very glad we took it. The only problem was that there is a walk way that lots of people walk, run, bike on in front of your room. At first it was wierd but after an hour it was kind of neat seeing a very diverse group.
The hotel is old but well maintained. The continental breakfast was average with the exception that you get to eat it looking directrly at the beach.

Volleyball is played between the hotel and the ocean. It was kind of relaxing to sit on the deck and watch people play and practice. There were many Pro level players practicing and they worked a lot harder than you might expect.

We walked the walkway (I think they call it the strand) a few miles one day and rented bikes the next day. We took the STAND all the way to Santa Monica pier the next. This proved to be a lot longer than it looked on the map. The ride was enjoyable except for a few miles that went thru traffic.

The biggest negative was the temperature. Since we usually go to the beach in Florida we were not expecting the temp to be as cool as it was. We needed jackets every evening. Oh yea, they have gas fire places in the room, and we used it every night.

Overall we had a good time staying at the Beach House. My individual ratings are not as high as I would normally give to a hotel because of the price. The Beach House cost for a night is higher than most I have stayed at so I think that there are things that they could do to get a hight rating.
With that said, I would still stay there again.

Room Tip: I would choose a beach front room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Beach House Hotel @ Hermosa Beach provided just the right blend of peace and tranquility while still being accessible and fun. I had the pleasure of staying here on the tail end of a business trip as a "treat" to myself and it was wonderful. The in room fireplace was so nice, as was the separate shower and bath. It was so clean and comfortable not to mention the great location. The Beach house is within walking distance of some great bars and restaurants. My only regret was not staying longer but I will makeup for that on my next visit. I can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: As a note, the ocean view and partial were all sold out so my room faced the back of someone else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Perfect location and great rooms... we didn't get the oceanfront as they were sold out but the ocean views (room 319 or 317) are nice too because you can enjoy the people watching. The beach is just steps away and they had a nice complimentary continental breakfast. Definitely will come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermosa Beach
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
138 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Redondo Beach
436 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach
1.7 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
502 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach

Property: Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Address: 1300 The Strand, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254-3548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Hermosa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach House is a perfect beach hotel just 10 minutes from LAX and nestled in sunny Hermosa Beach, walking distance to Pier Ave and the Hermosa Pier, home to abundant restaurants and shops. Beach House is your perfect choice for a family vacation or romantic coastal getaway. Enjoy complimentary Continental breakfast overlooking the Pacific Ocean in the Strand Cafe. In addition enjoy our complimentary high speed internet througout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House At Hermosa Beach Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach Hotel Hermosa
Hermosa Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing