We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great find in Hermosa Beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hermosa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great find in Hermosa Beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Beach House at Hermosa Beach this past weekend. We were in town for a friends wedding. This is a very nice hotel right on the beach and next to the Hermosa Beach Pier. Our room was very clean and we had a very enjoyable stay here. I loved waking up and looking out my balcony to see the beach and what was going on in the neighborhood. The hotel is right on The Strand and we were able to bike/walk pretty much everywhere. The only negative thing I have to say about our hotel room is that the horn at the Hermosa Beach Pier could be heard all night long and we faced right towards the bars. It was a little noisy during the night. But this hotel has great amenities and a great location we were able to easily overlook that. We would definitely come back and stay here again!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the opposite side of the hotel furthest away from the Hermosa Beach Pier to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mieke82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Beach House. We appreciate your feedback and would be happy to accommodate you on a future visit. Best regards, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    181
    40
    20
    14
See reviews for
223
283
40
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Land O Lakes, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We only spent one night here, but we hope to go back again and stay longer. We had a patio next to the boardwalk with a great view of the beach and the ocean. The room was very clean and comfortable. We loved how close it was to the restaurants and beach bike rental. It was also an easy drive to LAX.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Beach House. We hope to see you again soon for a longer stay. Sincerely, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The Beach House is like no other offering a relaxing and romantic hide-away with almost all the comforts of home. Every year we come back to enjoy our anniversary, and typically stay for a week to soak up the sun and take in the local sites with friends and even laugh at the local comedy club with Jay Leno on Sunday nights! We're counting the days until our next visit.

Room Tip: Be sure to choose an Ocean Front Room which will help you feel a part of the CA beach experience. Fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachTravelLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We are glad we can offer you such a relaxing week for such a special occasion. We are pleased you enjoy the Beach House and can't wait to serve you again next year. And, we offer the Sunday Night Comedy Store package and it is a favorite – I too enjoy the food and the intimate showroom. Best regards, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I really have enjoyed my three stays (in six months, January, March, and May) at the Beach House. I've not had the pleasure of an ocean front room, but have stayed in both ocean view and no view rooms. I have stayed on vacation/long weekends and truly enjoyed the views -- but on recent trip needed to stay in Hermosa for personal reasons and the no-view room was lovely. I particularly enjoy being able to walk to the Pier Plaza.

I have to say the staff and the manager were more than accommodating and helpful. The breakfast is adequate -- I wish it was a bit more substantial. The only other change I would make is a hotel guest outdoor lounge -- perhaps fence/hedge the patio area and upgrade the seating.

I am coming back to Hermosa Beach next month, the Beach House is booked, and I am not looking forward to staying somewhere else!

Room Tip: The no-view rooms literally have no view. However, it's the same room layout, perhaps with extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ConnieFromConnecticu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your review and your repeated stays over the last few months. We appreciate that we are your hotel of choice in The South Bay. Thanks again and do check in with us prior to your visit to see if something changed and we can accommodate you. Best regards, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Some of you may have read my past reviews of manager Jerry Cronk and the staff @ The Beach House, if you have you know I love it. However, even after years of staying there I learned something new this past Memorial Day. We had driven to the hotel and packed our bikes. As a former Hermosa Beach resident, I know full well that even a locked bike overnight may not be there the next day. I wasn't sure how we would handle it & prepared to buy several locks. The staff at the Beach House was right on it. Turns out they have a storage facility in the parking garage & they were more than happy to accommodate pulling our bikes in & out as many times as my fickle children needed them to. Once again, the Beach House felt like home. The craziness of the Hermosa Memorial Day festival did not deter Jerry& the crew from being just as kind, helpful & courteous as ever. Thank you again & hats off to you!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank letitia f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We at the Beach House are glad you enjoyed your stay with us again. We appreciate your review and the accolades, and I have forwarded your nice complements on to Front Office Manager Jerry and his staff. See you again soon and thank you again for staying with us at the Beach House. Best regards, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nice and the room was large and with everything we needed. We stayed on Sat. night so it was loud with people partying on the streets until very late. I would come back with my kids to stay but during the week. Weekend is too crowded on the boardwalk and noisy at night.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KKrisC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed the hotel and thank you for the review. Being on the beach, it does sometimes get busy on the weekends but we do our best to control our immediate environment. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Attractively designed room with sitting area, mini kitchen, comfortable bed and nice bathroom.
Although our room wasn't along the Strand (oceanfront boardwalk) we still had a good view of the ocean and a little park.
Pros: Within walking distance to the Strand boardwalk (walking, running, cycling) and great sandy beach (sunning, swimming, volleyball), restaurants and shopping.
Cons: Complementary breakfast was so-so. Would have benefited from better coffee, more fruit choices and yogurt. Maybe some hardboiled eggs too.
Most problematic Con: There is no regulation for skateboards and the circular area in front of the hotel seems to attract them. The noise from them was very loud and annoying. Unfortunately the hotel does not own that area and is seemingly helpless to change the situation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nwlakegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Beach House. We are glad you enjoyed your time in Hermosa Beach and our location to the Strand. And, we are sorry if the outside noise was a problem and we do our best to control the skate boarders, but it is a public walkway and sometimes, there are a few just outside the hotel. We hope to see you again soon and please remind us, so we can possibly offer a different location for you. Best regards, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermosa Beach
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#5 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 18 in Redondo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 323 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 443 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach
0.1 mi away
Grandview Inn
Grandview Inn
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach

Property: Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Address: 1300 The Strand, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254-3548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hermosa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach House is a perfect beach hotel just 10 minutes from LAX and nestled in sunny Hermosa Beach, walking distance to Pier Ave and the Hermosa Pier, home to abundant restaurants and shops. Beach House is your perfect choice for a family vacation or romantic coastal getaway. Enjoy complimentary Continental breakfast overlooking the Pacific Ocean in the Strand Cafe. In addition enjoy our complimentary high speed internet througout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House At Hermosa Beach Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach Hotel Hermosa
Hermosa Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing