We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No View, Lumpy Hide-a-Bed, GREAT LOCATION”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hermosa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We could have upgraded to a room with a view of the ocean but the in-season rate was a lot more for the same room without a view. We weighed it against how much time we'd spend out of the room. Looking back, I would have taken the upgrade. The sunsets from the balcony would have been worth it. We could have had a couple of meals as we watched the sunset making up the difference for a higher room rate, instead of eating out.

The Beach House is a beautiful property that is well maintained. The bed is really comfortable. Our 2 teenagers shared the hide-a-bed but after the first night opted to put the cushions on the floor and sleep that way. They could feel the springs of the hide-a-bed. Too bad. For the price this property could do better. We asked for a comforter like what was on the king bed to soften the effect of the springs but that was a no go. With this hotel when you are getting a room with no view, it is really NO view. We were facing other units and the parking garage. If view is important keep looking for a place if they don't have rooms available with a view. I liked that it was right on the strand. We took advantage of that and used bike rental, beach and restaurants that were right there. I loved that the Beach House had beach chairs and towels for guests. The valet staff was excellent.

Room Tip: If you can afford top rate for a room with a view facing the ocean, do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LinGal2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

We appreciate your review. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope we can see you again in an ocean front room to make your visit complete. Our sofa beds are in the process of being changed out, as some are tired, and I am sorry if an alternative was not given to you, as we can offer additional mattresses most times. I apologize for this and hope you will give us a second chance. Thank you. Sincerely, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (870)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

509 - 515 of 870 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is a great hotel for kids b/c of the room set up ... love it and the location is wonderful.
the lobby is quite simple and not sure why the hot tub couldn't be outdoor? We had a great time. my only complaint is much of the staff looked bored silly & were not very helpful. I had asked questions about various activities & they never seemed to know. This hotel is reasonably priced for the location, so i can deal with the bored staff. Maybe it's the laid back beach attitude they are trying to portray. All in all, great place but I think management needs to have a talk with the front desk people !

Room Tip: our faced the side of the building wh/ was fine. it was a family vacation & it was probably the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nini1917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you had a great time. We have discussed your comments with our hotel staff and promise you will see an improvement on your next stay. Our staff is here to be helpful and informed, not bored and we thank you for your candid comments. Sincerely, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

As a former Hermosa Beach resident, I look to stay somewhere that I can feel like a "local" when I come back to visist. The Beach House has the best combination of homey amenities (complete with a half kitchen and separate living room) with high-end luxury hotel surroundings. I have stayed at Shade before, too, but not only do you miss the fantastic ocean views and easy beach access at Shade (and really, isn't that why you're at the beach?), it's a little too "hip" for an overnight stay. Go to Shade for an after-hours cocktail, but come back to the Beach House for the sound of the waves, your own fireplace, and a memorable vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Beach House. We are glad to be your home away from home while you are in the South Bay. Your Beach House description is one we love to hear and one we work for and we hope you can have a great repeat on your next visit. Please come back soon. Sincerely, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I love SOUTH BAY! It is my favourite place to visit in LA and I love that it is not overrun with tourist attractions and "kitchy LA". The beach is devine and there is something to be said about watching the sunset over the water every night! Having previously stayed with friends when visiting from Australia, this time my husband and I decided to stay at the Beach House for our own space and privacy... and I would stay again in a heartbeat! We had a partial view room, and while we didn't look right out onto the beach which I'm sure would've been lovely, the room was a 1 minute walk right out onto the sand so nothing lost. Super spacious room and wonderful to have basic kitchen and cooking amenities. The only issue we had being on the ground floor was that we could hear guests in the upstairs walking at some points, but they may have just been heavy on their feet. For those who don't see it, there is a lovely hidden jacuzzi near the gym which is rarely used but lovely and relaxing!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms may be quieter, as we did hear the guest above us walking at some points.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RK8Coops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

We are happy you had a great stay and that you enjoyed our facilities. Thank you for taking the time to write the review. Sometimes you can hear sounds from floor to floor, but we do our best to have the sound absorbed. We are sorry if this was a hindrance for you. It is hard to beat our location and we look forward to accommodating you on your next stay at the Beach House. Thanks again for your comments. Best regards, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I absolutely love this place. It is right on the beach and the rooms are comparable to a beachfront condo. The kids have a blast on the beach, rent bikes, ride skateboards. I hit the clubs & bars at night - all within walking distance.

Room Tip: Middle rooms are better in terms of view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANGELA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Beach House. We hope to see you again. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Beach House Hermosa Beach. Sincerely, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Beach House located on The Strand has to be one of the most centrally located places I have stayed in a beach locale. The facility is clean, comfortable and the staff was friendly from the moment we pulled up to valet. Our room was located directly across from the volleyball courts, so we had instant beach entertainment each day. The was a balcony where we enjoyed coffee in the morning and glass of wine while watching the sunset each night. With a fireplace in the room, we were ale to cuddle up on the couch in front of the fireplace with the sounds of the ocean coming in through the screen door. It is located within walking distance to restaurants and shops so there is plenty to do if you want to relax and take in the beach atmosphere. I highly recommend this property. We didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jettdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for your review and staying with us at the Beach House. We are pleased you enjoyed your time and hope to see you again soon. We wish you didn't have to leave either! Best regards, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My grip is you pay over 900.00 for 2 nite stay and there should not be any complaints ..Our first day we were gone from our room all day riding bikes on the beach only to return at 4:00 and NO ONE had cleaned the room , I went down to the desk and told them no one had come in to freshen up our room they said they have been very busy and they have till 5:00 to clean.. I have never heard of such a bad excuse ,we have paid far less a nite and never had that problem.. Then my husband was taking a bath at 4:40 and the maid knock on the door didn't even wait opened it to see my husband naked WE ARE VERY UNHAPPY . The next day at 10:00 the maid knocks on the door and ask when we are CHECKING OUT..WE HAVE GOOD MEMORIES AND NOT SO GOOD MEMORIES ..while using the hotel computer to check in on our flight that day , I heard a few more complaints referring to the cost of staying there and missing out on the total 4 to 5 star experience such as 1bar of soap for tub, shower and sink.. They have a great spot on the beach and the room is beautiful and bed is great with nice sheets.. Wondering how the management will handle this less than happy experience..

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Okiefoodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

We sincerely apologize for the unfortunate experiences you had while visiting the Beach House. We agree, you should have no complaints when staying with us. We have policies set in place for housekeeping and we apologize for not meeting your expectations or doing our job. We are happy you had some good experiences as well and hope we can redeem ourselves on a future visit. We appreciate your review. Please don't hesitate to contact me directly to assist you. Sincerely, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermosa Beach
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
164 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
141 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Redondo Beach
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
514 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach

Address: 1300 The Strand, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254-3548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Hermosa Beach
Price Range: $299 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach House is a perfect beach hotel just 10 minutes from LAX and nestled in sunny Hermosa Beach, walking distance to Pier Ave and the Hermosa Pier, home to abundant restaurants and shops. Beach House is your perfect choice for a family vacation or romantic coastal getaway. Enjoy complimentary Continental breakfast overlooking the Pacific Ocean in the Strand Cafe. In addition enjoy our complimentary high speed internet througout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House At Hermosa Beach Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach Hotel Hermosa
Hermosa Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing