We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, comfortable, ocean front stay with incredible sunsets”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hermosa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The Beach House is where you want to stay if you are traveling and seeking a sun drenched ocean front room. Our room was very clean, up to date, and filled with numerous amenities, including a refrigerator, silverware, small stop stop, two flat panel televisions, gas fireplace, and more. With one day left we are sad to go. The hotel was very accommodating and providing a free of charge Pack and Pay for our four month old.

The continental breakfast is a little on the light side, but there are other local options. And, while you may be concerned about noise from The Strand - the beach boardwalk - we did not find it to be too loud during our April stay. I mention April because there may be a far busier season where guests could be more significantly bothered. We felt it added a bit of California life to the stay with the skateboarders, rollerbladers, cyclists, etc.

The staff were entirely helpful offering suggestions for restaurants and even making reservations for us in one case. When you come and go they offered a "have a good day" and a "welcome back" each time. We didn't use the spa services or other amenities in the hotel, so we can't comment on those.

Stayed: April 2013
2  Thank Brian1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you very much for your reveiw of the Beach House Hotel. We are pleased you had such a great experience and we welcome the opportunity to have you return. We too love Hermosa Beach and April is a great time to visit. Thanks again, and we hope you will come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (873)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

525 - 531 of 873 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

The area and beach were very clean. I enjoyed walking on the boardwalk and smelling the ocean air. There are lots of places to eat and drink. A good location for the hotel.

The employees were friendly, but general manager was disappointing and unprofessional!

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side just have a little view of ocean. Very confusing, ocean view room to ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach. We are happy you enjoyed the area and our employees.

I apologize that you felt I was unprofessional in my communications and do hope you will return. We look forward to having you back at the Beach House Hotel. Thank you.
Kevin M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Wonderful hotel and can't beat the location. The room easily accomodated our family of 4 (2 being teenagers). I had been concerned about the comfort of the sofa bed, but the kids said it was quite comfortable to sleep on.
We also had an oceanfront view and enjoyed watching various volleyball games from our balcony.
Microwave and refridgerator were nice to have, as well as dishes/glasses and silverware.
Hotel is around the corner from Pier Ave where lots of restaurants and shops are located. We typically ate lunch there, then drove the 5-10 minutes to Redondo Beach for excellent seafood.
Continental breakfast included cereal, fruit, coffee, bagels/crm cheese and various pastries. I liked that breakfast was available until 11am since we like to sleep in while on vacation.
Would definitely stay here again, just wish the weather would have cooperated more :(

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor oceanfront. Sun hit the balcony about noontime, perfect for sunset cockt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevenotard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Beach House Hermosa Beach. We are pleased you and your family had an enjoyable vacation with us and can't wait to have you back again. Hopefully with a little more sun! Best regards, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

What a surprise in my own Southern California backyard! Ocean front room added to the feel of actually being right on the beach. Loved using the fireplace as one day it was cloudy and very windy. Room had what we needed, clean, staff friendly and helpful, beach chairs provided, walking distance to restaurants, and continental breakfast had all you needed to start the day. Yes, there were dings here and there but it didn't detract from the view and location!

Room Tip: Third floor ocean front great! If you will be on the beach all day, any room would do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Keleigh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad you had an enjoyable time with us in Hermosa Beach and that you found a great little retreat right here in Southern California. We hope to see you again soon in the near future. Sincerely, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Beach house is a perfect location. You are on the beach or the strand in 30 seconds. The room was clean and well appointed. The staff (front desk, valet and housekeeping) were all friendly and helpful and it was nice to have beach chairs, beach towels, volleyballs and even sand buckets and shovels available for use at no charge if we wanted them. The only negative thing I can say is that I thought the breakfast was lacking--it would have been nice if they had yogurt or hard boiled eggs--lots of carbs, but not much protein. But that is really a very small negative to an extremely positive experience. I will for sure come back to the Beach House and stay again and I will recommend it to anyone I know traveling to the Hermosa Beach Area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenz608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you very much for such a positive review. We are happy you enjoyed your time with us and can't wait to see you back again. Best regards, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Hermosa Beach is a fantastic place. The hotel is good, very well located. A little bit worn out. It would be good if they could refresh rooms and bathrooms, it's clean though.
We had a total ocean front in the first building on a high floor, and I think it was worth it. It was amazing!
All in all I would come back because of the location, but would prefer if they could refresh the hotel before. It really needs some updating!
Staff was ok but it seemed that they were quite bored working there. Difficult to see a smile. Breakfast is a joke, really. Tiny room with very few options. Good thing was that the best breakfast restaurant were just in front: "Good Stuff" You can eat healthy there, and it is delicious!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anahissnauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review is here at the Beach House Hermosa Beach. We are glad you enjoyed the Hermosa area and hope we can accommodate you on a future visit. I apologize if our staff was not accommodating and we review these comments very seriously. And, our breakfast room does get busy, and we try to accommodate all with extended hours to 11 AM each day. And, we are in the process of totally repainting the rooms right now. Thank you again for your comments and do hope you will return. Best regards, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Beach House in Hermosa Beach, CA has a lot going for it, such as location, right near the foot of Pier Avenue and on the Strand. Unfortunately it puts on airs that it can't justify. The room size and layout is fine, but you can't help but see the dings in the walls and furniture, not to mention the mold in every corner and crevice in the bathroom.

The free breakfast is worth just that, tired and ordinary (just a bit over a Holiday Inn) food matched by the staff. For the prices you would think that they could do better, as many other upscale properties do both in the US and elsewhere. Apparently they don't feel that is necessary.

What really set the relationship off was the quite misleading "Ocean View" for what the reality was of sitting across the street from some of Hermosa's less delightful shops and bungalows. See my picture to get the real view of "Ocean View". Shame on them.

I just can't bring myself to go through the sad interactions with the staff that promised one thing and then found no reason to match them with actions. Pitiful. If you start the interaction with a Franklin in your outstretched hand, then maybe you might get some attention. Bring a few and be prepared to share to get what you deserve anyway.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cbm11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you for your review. We apologize for not meeting your expectations but hope we can do better in the future. We work hard to accommodate needs, and to provide a hospitable and friendly environment and staff. Again, I apologize for your stay and do appreciate your comments, all of which are being reviewed. Thank you. Sincerely, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermosa Beach
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
171 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
151 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Redondo Beach
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
521 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach
1.3 mi away
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach

Address: 1300 The Strand, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254-3548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hermosa Beach
Price Range: $292 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach House is a perfect beach hotel just 10 minutes from LAX and nestled in sunny Hermosa Beach, walking distance to Pier Ave and the Hermosa Pier, home to abundant restaurants and shops. Beach House is your perfect choice for a family vacation or romantic coastal getaway. Enjoy complimentary Continental breakfast overlooking the Pacific Ocean in the Strand Cafe. In addition enjoy our complimentary high speed internet througout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House At Hermosa Beach Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach Hotel Hermosa
Hermosa Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing