We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Rooms and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hermosa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Beachhouse and wish I could have stayed longer! The rooms were large, clean, and I loved having a fireplace in my room. The location was exremely convenient to the beach and surrounding restaurants. Wish I could have stayed longer- I will definitly be coming back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Beach House. We appreciate you staying with us and we are happy you had an enjoyable stay in the South Bay. We hope to see you again soon on a future visit. Best regards, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (860)
There are newer reviews for Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

541 - 547 of 860 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

I was woken at 2am with the guests in the room above walking around. They were not heavy footed or anything but the floor was squeaking under their feet. Car alarms were sounding from their parking garage a few times. They were also remodeling the hallways and there was a lot of wall 'patching' going on but even some of the patching had dirt on possibly indicating it had been that way for some time.

The room was great. Two TV's and a nicely equipped kitchenette. Bed was OK, not great.
The shower was only 'warm' in the morning - I could not get it to go hot.

The check-in staff were excellent. Shame I couldn't say the same for the check-out staff.

In the morning, I spoke to the front desk staff about my concerns - after all, this was a $330 a night hotel.

The front desk manager was unsympathetic to my issues and refused to reduce the room rate. I escalated through my travel agent (hotels.com) who were told by the manager that they could not find anything wrong with the room and the hotel engineer confirmed no hot water problems that morning. How they could come to this conclusion without even going to the room and sending someone upstairs to the room above to walk around I have no idea.

They eventually refunded my valet parking fee $24 but not the $3.50 toothbrush and toothpaste kit.

I do not recommend this hotel and will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Murphy1_Murphy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Beach Hose. We apologize for not being able to meet your expectations. Due to our beach location and small hotel, we sometimes do have night time noises and for this we apologize. We are pleased you enjoyed the room interior and hope the rest of your time in Hermosa Beach was pleasant. Sincerely, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We booked this hotel on expedia and we were very pleased to know that the reviews that helped us decide to book were right on. The hotel is literally right on the beach. There is a small strip with some decedent, well-priced restaurants and shops a block from the hotel and Manhattan and Redondo beach are both within walking distance. The rooms are spacious. Ours had an amazingly comfortable king size bed, a horribly uncomfortable and very sqeaky queen sofabed, two tvs, a small balcony with two chairs, Vcr and stereo, a couple of burners to heat up food, a microwave, coffee maker and cutlery. The hotel is about 15 minutes from LAX but you would never know it. I don't think I noticed an airplane fly overhead once.

asked for an upgrade to a room facing the ocean or with a partial ocean view but given that we had paid for a standard room they refused the request. Maybe a bit cheeky to ask but given that the hotel was very quiet on January 4 I was a little disappointed that they didn't give in. Valet only parking is $24 per night.

Like other places on the coast, there isn't much to do after it gets dark (which is about 6pm in the winter) unless you want to drive into LA, go to the nearby mall, eat, or walk on the beach in the dark.

We would definitely return to this hotel - it is one of our favorites now in California - but I would get a room away from the parking lot, and ask to be moved if the sofabed next time is as bad as the last.

Room Tip: If it's possible, ask for a room that doesn't look over the parking lot. We like the windows...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hobbes2220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Beach House. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you let our front staff know about the pull out bed so we could remedy the situation. And, so you know we are in the process of placing new sofa beds in all guest rooms. As for evening activities, there is a great Comedy & Magic Club, lots of close-by restaurants and lounges, and although not lots for young children, we do have daytime bike rentals and beach activities when in season for you. Thanks again for your visit and we look forward to your return visit. Best regards, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Several of us stayed here during a company outing in December and Jessica R. did a phenomenal job setting us up with great rooms. The location could not be beat - great views and the beach is literally a stone's throw. Service was great, the staff was friendly and helpful and even the cookies in the lobby were good. I would definitely recommend the Beach House to friends, family and strangers.

Room Tip: The beach view rooms are spectacular.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of the Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach and we are very pleased you and your company colleagues enjoyed the hotel and Hermosa Beach. We agree, the setting is spectacular and even on winter days, the beach is a wonder locale. We appreciate your comments on Jessica, our Convention Services Manager, and are happy she could work with your group and help you enjoy a comfortable stay with us. We look forward to your next visit and thank you again for your kind comments. Happy 2013, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We spent a week at the Beach House Hotel at Christmas. Our daughter lives in Manhattan Beach. The room was wonderful. It was more like a suite with a living area with couch, chair, fireplace and TV. There was a private balcony with a view of the beach. The staff were friendly. The hotel was clean and nicely decorated for Christmas. There were Christmas cookies and hot cider available all day. The location is great, on the beach but within walking distance of the town with shops and restaurants. The continental breakfast was the only thing that was lacking. There was cereals, bagels and toast. There only fruit was apples and (not ripe) bananas. There was nothing with protein such as yogurt or peanut butter. The breakfast was just OK. The Beach House Hotel was a great place to spend the holiday. We will stay here on future visits to my daughter.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Deb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you for the nice review of the Beach House. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and can't wait to see you on your next visit to the South Bay. Sincerely, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

The Beach House at Hermosa Beach came highly recommended by a couple of colleagues who had stayed there in the last couple of years. So, when the time came for a getaway to Southern California, there was no question where we should stay!

After a quick and painless check-in, we went up to our room which was in the east building part of the Beach House complex. While it's not something I'd usually mention in a review, the halls of the Beach House smell great - a bright, sea breeze scent sets the mood for just what type of place this is!

If we had it to do all over again, we would have splurged for the oceanside view as our Expedia special got us a courtyard view of the balcony across from us. Even so, the balcony felt private and quiet.

The room is way more than just a room -- it is a well appointed suite with a very comfortable bed, a nice living room (with a push-button-start fireplace!), two large televisions, and a phenomenal bathroom with separate bathtub-and-shower. We felt comfortable and relaxed during our entire stay.

The neighbourhood around the Beach House is great. Across the lane is "Good Stuff," a must-do breakfast spot with an oceanfront view. It's a good place to people watch and get fed. As well, Hermosa Beach Pier is a block away with lots of great food and drink options. Finally, Hermosa Cyclery makes renting a bike to cruise The Strand effortless (and Beach House guests get a discount!)

Hermosa Beach is a fantastic community, and the Beach House is an excellent base to enjoy it from.

Room Tip: Splurge for oceanside views!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

We are pleased you had such a relaxing vacation with us here at the Beach House. We agree--Hermosa Beach is fantastic and we are glad you took part in all the community had to offer. Please come see us again soon. Best regards, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Best accommodations on the beach. Great view with ocean front room. Extremely clean and top rate staff. If you're going to stay here well worth money for beach front room. Love the place. Restraints very close by within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gonefishing55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you for your review and for staying with us here at the Beach House. We are glad you enjoyed your romantic getaway with us. We hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermosa Beach
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
158 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#3 of 19 in Redondo Beach
129 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
511 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach
1.2 mi away
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach

Address: 1300 The Strand, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254-3548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Hermosa Beach
Price Range: $311 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach House is a perfect beach hotel just 10 minutes from LAX and nestled in sunny Hermosa Beach, walking distance to Pier Ave and the Hermosa Pier, home to abundant restaurants and shops. Beach House is your perfect choice for a family vacation or romantic coastal getaway. Enjoy complimentary Continental breakfast overlooking the Pacific Ocean in the Strand Cafe. In addition enjoy our complimentary high speed internet througout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House At Hermosa Beach Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach Hotel Hermosa
Hermosa Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing