We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hermosa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We choose to end our US vacation at the Beach House before heading back to the UK upon recommendation from a friend. The location is superb, and our room (partial view of the ocean) on the second floor was well appointed and spotlessly clean. For exploring Hermosa Beach you won't find a better location. The AC is a little noisy and the front desk staff very brusque and rather impersonal. Late checkout options (for which we were prepared to pay) didn't seem to exist nor an option to shower and change which was disappointing given our flight back to the UK wasn't until the evening.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you for your review of the Beach House. We are happy you got to end your vacation with us. We apologize if we were unable to grant a late check out and I am sorry you did not receive better service from our staff. We work to make everything hospitable and we will welcome you back on your next visit. I hope you had a nice flight home and that you will return again. Best regards, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (860)
There are newer reviews for Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

566 - 572 of 860 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed in an ocean view suite on the second floor for 4 nights. The room was clean and well appointed. It could get a little noisy being right on the Strand ( the volleyball players start early) but we found having the ac on drowned it out.

We rented bikes and road on the Braude bike trail which runs along the water and is beautiful.

The hotel is expensive but the nicest in Hermosa Beach if you want to be on the water.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cttraveler80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you for your review and coming to stay with us at the Beach House. We are pleased you enjoyed the activities around the hotel. Please come visit again soon. Sincerely, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Ok the negative first. Pretty rooms, but be sure to ask for an ocean FRONT room...mine was ocean view, and yes, if you walked out onto the balcony and looked to your left, the view was beautiful. But from my room, looking out the french doors, the view was the back balcony of the very close hotel right across the street. I wasn't pleased. So I was offered a room in the elite building #1 (be sure and tell them you want building 1, my room was building #2, hence the poor view), but it was a handicap room and didn't have the same appeal as the original, so we kept the first one. I know there were plenty of other rooms available at the same price level, but we weren't offered those. When I mentioned that this was a $275+ room (well over $300 with parking, tax, etc), the clerk told me that if I booked it online, they couldn't help how much we paid...leading me to believe that we were over-charged. Didn't start my experience out well! I'm from the south, TN....and our cost of living is definitely less than CA...so maybe that is why I expected a little more from a $300 a night room. You'll get a WHOLE lot in Nashville for that...and your room will be perfect. (but no beach!) Our french doors to the deck stuck and were hard to open, there were water stains on the ceiling and our phone service was terrible, so staticky you could hardly hear the front desk. None of these things I complained about. There was no internet the first day (which I was told was not their fault, but this seems to have happened before, according to the reviews on here). When I called about our toilet over-flowing (also was the first time we used it), the clerk was very apologetic and sent a maintenance man within minutes to fix it, which was good. One of the white robes had a small tomato sauce-looking stain on it, and there was a 6 inch x 1 inch area on the bathroom vanity where the paint had been totally chipped off. Not a big deal...but in my area this would have been a $150 a night room. The fact that we even had to call about our toilet should have prompted them to either offer us another room, maybe even an upgrade, or discount us. Nope. Nothing. But there were positive things. Mainly the location. Unbelievable! You are close to everything: beach, rentals, restaurants, bars. When we come back (and I spring for a FRONT room) we won't even bother going to downtown LA. You have all you need right at your footstep. And the clerks were friendly enough, but when I asked one if any shuttles from LA came there, they told me "no, no one comes here"...but I called one of the big LA tours and they did indeed pick us up at the hotel. We also asked if there were any boat rides, etc and the clerk said he didn't know of anything. He did take the time to 'google' it and printed off one site, but it was closed for the season and we ended up finding one on our own. And as for the breakfast...I actually liked it! I prefer the pastries to the feeble attempts of some hotels to create a "hot" breakfast when there is no kitchen on site. So do I recommend? Absolutely, just know what to ask for.

Room Tip: Nothing but an ocean FRONT room!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S0utherngaltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you very much for your candid remarks and review of the Beach House. We appreciate you taking the time and the details. We want to provide the best experience possible at our hotel, and I apologize if we did not live up to our full potential. We will work on our knowledge base at the front desk and make sure they know all the wonderful options in the area. I'm happy you will return and I hope we can improve your experience. Please feel free to contact me directly to book your next stay with us and we hope to see you again soon for your return visit. Best regards, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Wonderful morning on the veranda watching the ocean....and the stream of humanity passing by the window.
Comfortable, clean and very relaxed ambiance...
Great for romantic getaway and would also be a welcome respite for corporate travelers.

Room Tip: all rooms have a view of the water....higher floors have a bit more privacy
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurieBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

We are happy you had a wonderful stay with us at the Beach House Hermosa Beach. And yes--we are a quick 20 minutes from LAX. We appreciate your review and hope to see you again in the near future. Sincerely, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Great hotel located right on the beach and next to all the action of Hermosa. Rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable with beautiful ocean views. It was nice to have a fridge nd microwave in room plus they offer a complimentary continental breakfast daily. The bathrooms were large and updated as well. Staff was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our 4 days there and would go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitty7711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

We are happy you took the time to write a review of the Beach House. We are pleased you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to your return visit. Best regards, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Super convenient. Great rooms.

Close to Starbucks, bars, the pier, and the beach.

Downside? Skateboarders on the boardwalk making noise. The front desk seemed disinterested at best but I didn't need them beyond checking in

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you for your review of the Beach House. We apologize if our front desk staff was not engaged and we appreciate your mention and will follow up with them. We are happy you enjoyed your time in the area and hope you return soon. Thank you again for your comments. Kevin McCarthy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed while visiting California in September 2012. The hotel is right on the Strand. We had a partial ocean view with a beautiful view off the side of our balcony. The hotel has a continental breakfast and it was wonderful to enjoy it on the patio overlooking the beach. The room and bed were very comfortable and the bathroom was recently updated.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank db1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you for your review of the Beach House. We are pleased you enjoyed the room and location to the Strand. Please come visit again soon. Best regards, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermosa Beach
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
159 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
128 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Redondo Beach
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
511 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach
1.2 mi away
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach

Address: 1300 The Strand, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254-3548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hermosa Beach
Price Range: $307 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach House is a perfect beach hotel just 10 minutes from LAX and nestled in sunny Hermosa Beach, walking distance to Pier Ave and the Hermosa Pier, home to abundant restaurants and shops. Beach House is your perfect choice for a family vacation or romantic coastal getaway. Enjoy complimentary Continental breakfast overlooking the Pacific Ocean in the Strand Cafe. In addition enjoy our complimentary high speed internet througout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House At Hermosa Beach Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach Hotel Hermosa
Hermosa Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing