We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite Property With Top Notch Service, Food Service Not to Standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hermosa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Edina, MN
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Exquisite Property With Top Notch Service, Food Service Not to Standard”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Beautiful hotel located right on the beach adjacent to The Strand. Short walk to the pier and very close to a multitude of restaurants. Rooms are large 2 level suites. Luxurious and beautifully maintained. Bathrooms are spacious and totally up to date.

This would have warranted a "5" if it wasn't for the sub standard food service. In Room dining consists of service from a nearby bar. The menu in the room is apparently invalid. The breakfast resembled the offering at a Comfort Inn. All carbs and fruit. It should be more like the Holiday Inn Express down the street (at half the price) which includes a hot breakfast. The Wifi did not even extend to the breakfast room veranda.

Note: valet parking is $24/day plus tips.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steveofoto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Beach House and surrounding Hermosa area. As we don't have an in-house restaurant, we offer a combination of restaurants that offer room delivery from the surrounding area. We apologize for the menu and will look at updating it. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again when you are in Hermosa Beach. Best regards, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    207
    44
    20
    15
See reviews for
275
321
43
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2012

From the moment we arrived to the time we left the staff was incredibly attentive and kind. Our room was amazing and very clean each day. We made good use of the beach chairs and towels available and looked forward to the wonderful continental breakfast served on the patio. We have already planned our next stay.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for the kind review of the Beach House Hermosa Beach. We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and took part in a lot of the offered amenities! We can't wait to see you again soon. Sincerely, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Wife and I stayed here for one day and one night after an 8 day trip around Los Angeles and Yosemite NP and it was a beautiful way to end a great trip. Nice staff, beautiful lobby, free newspapers. We had an Ocean Front room on the first floor with a little patio right on The Strand, insane view of Hermosa Beach, simply spectacular in every way. The room was super clean and decorated superbly in a white beach style. Comfortable bed, nice linens and towels. Our room had a walk in shower and a bathtub too, nice touch.

This hotel is pricey, I won't kid you, but it is not obscene when considering the location and the quality of the staff and the hotel. Valet overnight parking was $24 bucks extra, if I recall correctly.

Location of the Beach House can't be beat, just steps away to a strip of restaurants and of course the beach and the Strand. You can have half a dozen margharitas without any worries. We walked to Manhattan Beach and back, just observing the beach culture of SoCal....for a couple of New Yorkers, it was a great experience. Great continental breakfast too. The saddest thing was only being here one night! Would definitely stay there again.....actually, it is the only place we'll stay when we return to LA.

Another note, it is an easy 15-20 minute drive to/from LAX.

Room Tip: Ocean Front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommybass40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you very much for a great review of the Beach House. We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and in Hermosa Beach. We hope to see you for a longer visit soon. Best regards, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed Here for one night, after a long flight from Oz. although we arrived early AM and couldn't check in until midday, the staff went out of their way to get it ready sooner and let us use the facilities while we waited.

The rooms were beautiful and we were right on the beach boardwalk, and close to the restaurants and shops too.

We will be back for longer next time!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarnsC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
We are happy we could accommodate you while you were here with us! Please do come back for a longer visit soon and thank you for the review. Sincerely, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My fiance and I stayed at the Beach House for a three-day getaway, and we were floored by the service and amenities at this wonderful beach hotel. In these travel times, I think we've become jaded on what hotels should offer guests. For example, we're now used to signing away our lives to simply obtain a towel for the beach, paying $5 for bottled water in a hotel room, or paying $20 for a simple breakfast. This is why we were completely awed by the Beach House hotel. If you want bottled water, you can simply take it from your fridge. It's free and constantly replenished. If you need a towel for the beach, simply ask the front desk and they'll hand it over with a smile and trust that you will return it. If you need a chair for the beach or a boogie board, simply ask the valet service in the front and they'll just take your room number, not charging you a penny. If you want breakfast, just wander downstairs and have a lovely breakfast overlooking the beach, free of charge. It's these wonderful attributes of the hotel that keep us excited to return.

Additionally, the view from the room is spectacular. My fiance and I went back and forth as to whether we should book an Ocean View or Ocean Front Suite. We ended up choosing the Ocean View room, and we absolutely loved it! Our room overlooked the north side of the beach, and we were able to watch a beautiful sunset over the ocean each day from our balcony. I am sure the views from the Ocean Front Suites are also spectacular, but we would definitely select the Ocean View room again. The bed was huge - my fiance is 6'5", and we both slept quite comfortably. There are also two tvs in the room and a seating area.

Parking is a little steep ($24/day), but my guess is this is a normal price in this beachfront community. Also, we rented bicycles for the day from the bike shop next door, and they gave us a discount as hotel guests of the Beach House. Please don't miss out on the cafe across the street - amazing food and wonderful personalities to match. I would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B.G._Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review and choosing to come stay with us at the Beach House. We are happy you had an amazing time and we are pleased you enjoyed yourselves while being our guests. For the café, I am not sure if it was GOOD STUFF (breakfast/ lunch) which is a true local’s hangout and full of volleyball players, or LA PLAYITA right across on 14th Street, and again a local’s favorite. Both are wonderful and great places to people watch too as you enjoy the food. These two are favorites here at the Beach House as well. We hope to see you in the near future and thanks again for your stay. Best regards, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We chose this hotel because we wanted to be right on the beach. We stayed 6 nights in a gorgeous oceanfront room with a large, bathroom, plush towels and luxurious soaking tub; comfy bed and quality linens. The lighting is very well done. The kitchen has dishes, wine glasses, cutlery, fridge, microwave & stovetop which is really handy, and there is a roomy balcony with table & chairs.

Our porter did not tour the room or show us any of the light/TV, controls and it turned out we were missing a light bulb & the fireplace wasn’t working properly. The room was very clean and housekeeping was great throughout.

I tried to sleep with the balcony door open to hear the surf but volleyball instruction & games start early and go on all day. I worked one day and the ocean view from the desk was lovely.

There are lots of great restaurants nearby from Zagat-rated to beachy pubs.

One very concerning issue was having paid the $24/night valet parking fee, when our car was brought round at checkout, it was obvious that someone had been in it and riffled through all our papers and items in the glove box and center console storage.

The valet said maps were strewn on the floor when he got in, and although nothing was missing we noticed that things were "put back" in different places. This was pretty disconcerting since the car wasn't physically broken into and the key was kept by the hotel during the entire stay. We brought it to the attention of the Front Desk and the Valet Manager and they were extremely concerned and apologetic, but management obviously needs to look into this.

The continental breakfast had a good selection of breads, pastries with apples and bananas, but not a berry or melon in sight. Although the staff was pleasant, I had to wipe my own table every morning. The breads and coffee weren't always refreshed and the place was generally a bit messy.

We had a great time but management should be concerned about the issue we had with our car and the level of service could be improved to meet the price point.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxP7073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for the review of the Beach House Hermosa Beach. We are pleased you enjoyed your room and the surrounding beach community. The valet price is set by the city, as parking is a premium in Hermosa Beach and I am sorry if our Valet did not meet your needs. We hope we can improve your opinion on your next stay with us and that you will give us another chance. Thank you for your candid comments and we hope to see you soon. Sincerely, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel, hidden in the kind of commercial blocks of Hermosa Beach, was really fun. The room was great, and every local I had over was impressed by how big and nice it was. As others have mentioned, there was a mini-kitchen in the room and everything was so clean and well-appointed.
The staff were super-friendly and you could watch surfers come and go from your patio.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for coming to stay with us while you were in Hermosa Beach. We are glad we could even impress the locals! We appreciate the review and hope to see you again in the near future. Sincerely, Kevin McCarthy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermosa Beach
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
146 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
450 reviews
1.7 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach
1.2 mi away
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
1.1 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#2 of 19 in Redondo Beach
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach

Property: Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Address: 1300 The Strand, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254-3548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Hermosa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach House is a perfect beach hotel just 10 minutes from LAX and nestled in sunny Hermosa Beach, walking distance to Pier Ave and the Hermosa Pier, home to abundant restaurants and shops. Beach House is your perfect choice for a family vacation or romantic coastal getaway. Enjoy complimentary Continental breakfast overlooking the Pacific Ocean in the Strand Cafe. In addition enjoy our complimentary high speed internet througout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House At Hermosa Beach Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach Hotel Hermosa
Hermosa Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing