We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros: free breakfast & wifi. Cons: loud ++ music next door.”
Review of Surf City Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Surf City Hostel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pros: free breakfast & wifi. Cons: loud ++ music next door.”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I write this post as I am trying to sleep, the music is über loud from the bar down the road.
In terms of the room - think: basic, clean, convenient with nice people, hospitality, free wifi & breakfast included, which, speaking as a long term traveller = value ++.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurajoshb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    40
    24
    4
    15
See reviews for
1
15
35
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
103 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

This hostel is in a perfect location. It is about the third building from Hermosa Beach in a party area with many restaurants and bars literally just around it. It is actually located above a pub/restaurant. This is definitely a youth hostel and a party place. It is a good place to meet people. I really liked Hermosa Beach town but was not very impressed with this hostel.
The building is quite old and run down and so is the hostel in it. The rooms and common areas are quite small and cramped. The hostel has a kitchen, TV room, another common room and common washrooms. I stayed in a six bed dorm with a very tiny private bathroom. It was $30.00 for a bunk bed. That is certainly not cheap for what you get for it. But you pay for the location.
The staff was great, welcoming, helpful and very friendly. There was a mediocre breakfast and coffee included.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank povetron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed December 31, 2011

As mentioned. Never told about the loud club just below and another next to it. Paid 60 for a single room with no chest of drawers or a chair. Had to leave my suitcase on the floor. Threadbare to the bone!! And dirty window blinds to boot. The staff, right down the hall, was loud as well, so add their mindless shreaks and the music below and presto - no sleep. I got up to ask them to keep it down, and it literally flew over their heads. Robots - only intent on satisfying their urges - cannot conceive of properly running a business! Meant to stay two nights but got very little sleep on the first night and left in a hurry in the morning. For only 40 dollars more found luxury up the road at the Marriott - fireplace, kitchen, frig, TV, sofa, chairs, a QS bed, a desk, breakfast in the morning - heaven compared to this neanderthalic hovel. Don't waste your money!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giovani g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hermosa Beach hotels

Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
138 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights on a quick weekend surf trip. The hostel is located right in the main party section of Hermosa beach. There are bars/restaurants below it and next to it. I did wear earplugs to sleep at night but I could still hear the bumping from the club below it a little bit. So the location was great if you want to party since the main bars are right next to the hostel.

The surfing was non-existant at the beach so I drove to Manhattan beach nearby which was pretty poor as well. Maybe it was just the swell when I was there.

As far as the hostel itself, I wasn't too impressed. What I enjoy about hostels is the community feel and the chance to meet other travelers. This place had a tiny TV room, and a small reading room and people rarely occupied these rooms.

I paid $80 for a private room (but the bathroom was in the hall shared by everyone) which was a bit much for a hostel but hey I was right on the beach in LA.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank el_cap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Our room was given away on the first night so we had to sleep on air beds. Not a great start. Apart from that its clean, friendly and has an amazing location.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimberley0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Dont expect much of this place, its a hostel and you get definately get what you pay for. Staff were friendly and people very sociable. Alot of the staff live at the hostel so really staff and people is the same thing, it seemed there was the odd traveller.

I stayed here for about a week because of the location, i absolutely love hermosa beach. The only complaint I had about the location is that its literally above the bars so sleeping is extremely hard unless your one of those people who can sleep through anything. The rooms were quite cramped and the bathrooms very small. But hey what do you expect its a hostel!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxJazzxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Brilliant hostel. Could do with a sweep under the beds but not dirty.
The staff are really helpful and fun. The common rooms are small but everyone hung out together and had fun.
Location is fantastic if you want the beach. Close to shops and bars :)

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meadhbhie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermosa Beach
0.1 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
845 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grandview Inn
Grandview Inn
#6 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
344 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
127 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf City Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf City Hostel

Property: Surf City Hostel
Address: 26 Pier Ave, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254-3760
Location: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Hermosa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Surf City Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf City Hotel Hermosa Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing