We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, lackluster hostel, lacks hostel feel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Surf City Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Surf City Hostel
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
135 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great location, lackluster hostel, lacks hostel feel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights on a quick weekend surf trip. The hostel is located right in the main party section of Hermosa beach. There are bars/restaurants below it and next to it. I did wear earplugs to sleep at night but I could still hear the bumping from the club below it a little bit. So the location was great if you want to party since the main bars are right next to the hostel.

The surfing was non-existant at the beach so I drove to Manhattan beach nearby which was pretty poor as well. Maybe it was just the swell when I was there.

As far as the hostel itself, I wasn't too impressed. What I enjoy about hostels is the community feel and the chance to meet other travelers. This place had a tiny TV room, and a small reading room and people rarely occupied these rooms.

I paid $80 for a private room (but the bathroom was in the hall shared by everyone) which was a bit much for a hostel but hey I was right on the beach in LA.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank el_cap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    40
    24
    4
    14
See reviews for
1
13
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

Our room was given away on the first night so we had to sleep on air beds. Not a great start. Apart from that its clean, friendly and has an amazing location.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimberley0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

Dont expect much of this place, its a hostel and you get definately get what you pay for. Staff were friendly and people very sociable. Alot of the staff live at the hostel so really staff and people is the same thing, it seemed there was the odd traveller.

I stayed here for about a week because of the location, i absolutely love hermosa beach. The only complaint I had about the location is that its literally above the bars so sleeping is extremely hard unless your one of those people who can sleep through anything. The rooms were quite cramped and the bathrooms very small. But hey what do you expect its a hostel!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxJazzxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

Brilliant hostel. Could do with a sweep under the beds but not dirty.
The staff are really helpful and fun. The common rooms are small but everyone hung out together and had fun.
Location is fantastic if you want the beach. Close to shops and bars :)

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meadhbhie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

i have stayed at the hostel twice. i have not ran into any bed bugs, giant spders, fleas, or snakes. i will agree the building is old and could be kept in better conditon. it definatly has the appearence of beign dirty, but it is also the fact it is old as hell and not been remodled. if you are going to stay at a hostle bring your onw towel, soap , and shampoo. there is a little market where the pier meets the street , and if that doesn't have what you want for the price you want there is a Vons straight up the hill on the left (maybe 3/4 mile) it is a nice walk past a bunch of stores and some restaurants. the staff were polite. i made reservations one trip, and another i just stopped in with two of my friends. we have not had a problem with theft (of course that depends on who is in the room with you), or people getting into our room. both times i was there i had two other friends. the first time we had one roommate who wa a great guy. i think we were more of a bother to him, but he ended up hanging out/going out with us. we are talking about heading back in may and if we do this is where we will be staying. oh i guess i should add the obvious: it is on a pier that has 5-8 bars/club on it. it tends to be noisy late at night, and people come back late at night and get up early (it is a hostel...that's what people do). most of the time we were either out late or had enough beverages on board to not notice the noise. a pair of earplugs does nicely.this place also had plenty of hot water to wash away all the hangover you can throw at it

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LukeMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

I regret coming there: the hostel is filled with cigarette smoke (which I believe is illegal in California); as a person with asthma I had to be subjected to second hand smoke in all common areas. Also, the hostel is not women-friendly and harassment of women is okay there apparently--it's filled with weirdos who'd drinking all over the place, some of whom look like homeless and they harass solo guests, Disgusting place. The bathroom was shared male and female with toilet st alls being in front of shower stalls, and no separation at all. Try to go to a safer place....

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexd00xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hermosa Beach hotels

Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2010

Dirty. Lausy staff. Old everything... they use the guest towels to clean the floor. Lots of bed bugs. Loud music evey night from the bar below. -- NEVER AGAIN -- one of the worst hostels I have ever seen and I saw many all over the world

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helipilotx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermosa Beach
0.1 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grandview Inn
Grandview Inn
#6 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf City Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf City Hostel

Property: Surf City Hostel
Address: 26 Pier Ave, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254-3760
Location: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Hermosa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Surf City Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf City Hotel Hermosa Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing