We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Martha's is a great choice for breakfast.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Martha's 22nd Street Grill

Martha's 22nd Street Grill
Ranked #3 of 132 Restaurants in Hermosa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Martha's is a great choice for breakfast.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I love Martha's and their patio. It's a great choice for breakfast with lots of healthy options. Get there early and put your name in if you're going on a sunny Saturday or Sunday. One of the best breakfast choices in South Bay!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    63
    17
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A local's favorite! Healthy Choices!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have been going to Martha's for over 15 years. When my daughter was a toddler we would go every Sunday and get our breakfast to go and eat it out on the beach.You can also call for lunch from your beach spot and go pick it up. The meals are healthy, good quality, good tasting and something for everyone. They have great egg and tofu/veggie scrambles, salads and a great chicken cilantro soup. It's not cheap but not ridiculously expensive either..and it's on the beach, you can sit outside in one of the most beautiful and picturesque places in the world and it's the best breakfast in the are in my opinion. They only do breakfast and lunch. Parking is always an issue on weekends and summer so unless you get really lucky and find a meter on the street (bring quarters) you can try the parking lots by Pier Ave and walk down to 22nd street via the strand and check out the gorgeous homes. Just walk to the side single file is my advice so you don't get hit by bikers and skaters. Some people bring dogs but they stay outside the gate and the hostesses bring them water. Be willing to wait a LONG time if you go weekend, summer or holiday's pretty much all day. Like I said, if you are really hungry, get it to go and eat on the gorgeous beach, just remember to get rid of your trash please!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JuliK222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cremona, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We were six friends and we got to this place by checking tripadvisor. Friendly staff, large and tasty breakfast and good coffee. That's exactly what we were looking for!

Helpful?
1 Thank Paolo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just Yum.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

So, apparently people like this place. Why? well... that fact that the line almost went onto the strand was a hint, and if you have 2 stacks on plastic chairs just for waiting, thats a good sign. We were seated outside and right by the door. I got the Redondo, and it was amazing!!!! My boyfriend got the special, which was boysenberry and cream cheese stuff french toast??? I think so, that's what I remember. There was a lot of food and we took the rest home :) Seriously, if you live in Hermosa Beach, you need to check this place out :) Can't wait to visit again!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Every single time my mother come to visit, this restaurant was a must visit. The egg variations are scrumptious. I've had many. Every one is a hit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martha's 22nd Street Grill also viewed

 
Hermosa Beach, CA
 

Been to Martha's 22nd Street Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing