We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasantly surprised! A hidden gem.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hermosa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed here for one night prior to departing for home out of LAX. We were in room 423 on the top level with a 'balcony' that opened out on the sundeck. Great check in, great check out - used HHonors points so didn't have to pay a penny. Room was large and comfortable, bathroom was very clean. Very comfortable bed and signs everywhere touting how they wacsh the comforters between guests, which I guess some other places don't do. There was a mini-kitchen in the room that would be useful to traveling families (we weren't staying long enough to need it). Free breakfast was better and more expensive than I expected. Very friendly staff. Nice view of the ocean from the upper floors but the walk down to the beach was pretty long, longer than I expected -- not a deal-breaker, however. Our first time in a Hampton Inn, won't be the last!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southern_Daytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (589)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

502 - 508 of 589 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

The staff make this place! They are so accomorating, have a friendly smile and willing to chat. The rooms are spacious and very clean and have a wonderfully comfortable large bed.

A very pleasant stay. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbrown35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I just wanted to comment on our recent stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites, Hermosa Beach. My overall general impression is pleasantly & surprisingly awesome!

Here’s a brief rundown:

• Pleasant and accommodating staff
We had a room change request, and staff was able to provide another room without any issue

• Coffee and tea available 24 hrs.
We were working on a project into the wee hours of the morning, it was nice to be able to come down to the lobby and get a refill of some go-go juice

• Complimentary workstations and printing
We had to print out a project we were working on. I was already canvassing the nearest printing option – FedEx Kinkos, until they told us printing was complimentary! Wow! I was floored!

• Complimentary wi-fi
The website states complimentary wi-fi in the lobby, and complimentary wired internet in the rooms. This info is a little old as the complimentary wi-fi was also available in the rooms. A+!

• Thoroughly updated and modernized lobby and facilities
Mind you, the pictures on the website already looked nice, but they are OLD. They lobby is totally redone into a chic, lux, modern décor. Totally cool!

• Little thoughtful things: Nightlight
When we stay at hotels, I usually like to leave a hallway light or range hood light on in case the kids get up in the middle of the night to go to the bathroom; although it may seem trivial, but it was a nice, thoughtful touch to have a night light in the bathroom.

I would gladly stay at any other Hampton Inn location, if they are anything like the Hermosa Beach location!

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back may be quieter as they are away from the street, but they don't have a vi...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank el2chuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I've stayed here 3 times in recent years. It's a standard Hampton Inn... nicely sized rooms and free breakfast, but no frills... but also no unwanted surprises. Parking in their lot can be tight when the hotel is full, but that was a problem only 1 of the 3 times I've been here. Location is right on busy PCH (Sepulveda) which can be a good and bad thing. Plenty of restaurant choices up and down PCH as well as down near the beach and the pier in Hermosa Beach (take Pier Ave. toward the water). There are additional choices a little bit down the coast in Redondo Beach or toward LAX in Manhattan Beach. Wells Fargo Bank right across the street and several grocery stores nearby, too.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyGuy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel. The buffet breakfast was lovely in the morning.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

This is a hotel up on PCH (Rt. 1) but if you stay on floor 3 or 4, you can sit out on your large balcony and still see the ocean. Very clean and convenient stay even if you're waiting for a flight at LAX. It's only about 15 minutes straight south from the airport.

Convenient to Redondo and Hermosa beach. You can walk to the pier in less than 10 minutes.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auklazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We decided to take a vacation and explore the South Bay beach towns of L.A. and because Hermosa came highly recommended from a friend that has spent a lot of time there and who has a sister that lives in Ranchos Palos Verdes Estates, we decided on the Hampton Inn, Hermosa because of it's ideal location. You cannot beat the location if you plan to walk to the beach, Pier Avenue (bars and restaurants), the Strand. I would highly recommend renting bikes from Hermosa Cyclery. They're super nice there and extremely helpful (see separate review). So we stayed for 5 nights at the Hampton Inn, Hermosa, which worked out well for us because the location allowed us to ride our bikes to Redondo and Manhanttan Beaches to hit restaurants and bars. And it's a lovely ride on the Strand. It's also a nice cruise on the residential streets. The hotel is clean and the staff very helpful. We didn't have the best room as our balcony faced the wall of the vet/pet hospital next door. It kind of made our view very dark and dingy. But not much you can do about that. Our room was clean and the hallways were clean, so that was good enough for us. It was really all about the location. There's a Vonn's supermarket right across the street which is super convenient. It's also 24/7.

The only issue that I had was I think with the A/C. We ran it constantly to have air movement. My wife doesn't like to leave the balcony door open because she doesn't want bugs in the room. By the last night I was feeling a little sick. My chest and throat were very sore. We were wondering if there was maybe some mold or mildew in the A/C. But that was my only issue. All in all, a good stay and we'd consider staying there again with a better room.

We did check out the sundeck, it was a good view. However, when we were there the weather was hit or miss and was mainly chilly high 50s/low 60s so no sunbathing. The front-facing rooms have great views, most of the ocean. I'd want one of those rooms. BTW, if you do rent bikes, the hotel does not have a place to lock your bikes up so take them to your room or do what we did and lock them to the drain pipe outside the hotel's garage door.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the street. The others have a view of the back wall of the vet/pet hospital.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ardmoreflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermosa Beach
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
159 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
860 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Redondo Beach
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
362 reviews
1.3 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
129 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hermosa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach

Address: 1530 Pacific Coast Hwy, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254-3239
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Hermosa Beach
Price Range: $193 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Hermosa Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach Hotel Hermosa Beach
Hampton Inn Hermosa Beach
Hermosa Beach Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing